We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple Charm and Friendly Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension A Mare Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salema
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension A Mare Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Pension A Mare Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Praia de Salema, Salema 8650-194, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Salema B&B and Inns
Topeka KS
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Simple Charm and Friendly Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I loved this little inn. Don't expect ritz -- this is a tiny, seaside town in the western Algarve, not far from Cape Sagres. But do expect friendly locals and a warm welcome at this cozy b&b on a hill overlooking the Atlantic.

A friend and I spent one night, arriving after a pleasant, 3-hour drive from Lisbon. Manager Bettina was a delight, making us feel right at home, and giving us our choice of the available twin rooms. (Needless to say, we went with the greatest view.)

The room was small, but the beds were comfortable, and there was a frig and service for making instant coffee or tea, and yes, wifi. The bathroom was surprisingly large, with a decent-sized shower and abundant hot water.... we were content. We also had free reign of the common area/breakfast room.

Speaking of breakfast, it was great. Bettina provided personal service, and a nice selection of excellent, just-delivered-from-the-bakery bread and croissants, along with jams, honey, fresh fruit, ham, cheese, coffee, tea, milk, and fantastic, fresh-squeezed orange juice -- accompanied by a lofty view of charming Salema and the sea. For the price, this was unbeatable.

Parking was easy, just part way down the hill (easier than it looks in photos). We found the people of Salema to be a delight, and the town is within a short drive of the Cape. It's a great stop during your visit to the Algarve.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    26
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
47
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Located in the quiet villiage of Salema but short drives to Lagos (beautiful/colorful ocean cliffs & rock formations) and other places of interest; stayed 3 nights in Apt B with a nice 1 bedroom (comfortable double bed), kitchenette, livingroom & patio; bring your own food, kitchen & bath supplies; please note - lots of steps; owner resides in England but was visiting for the holidays & was very friendly & helpful; we really enjoyed the ocean views.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, B.C.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was a great place to stay. It is about 2 blocks from the beach. Very quiet and has free parking. Our room was simple but we had a large patio where we spent most of our time and did not really need the room.
The breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: Room # 1, it was very nice to sit under the grape arbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed her at the end of our cycle trip of 7 days. Clean and comfortable rooms, lovely views from the breakfast room, and breakfast was lovely. Our host was very helpful in organising the taxi to Lagos the next day for our group, however it would seem that when we arrived at about 2 pm, we were earlier than expected. There was a mobile phone to use and a contact number, which we used, the host did not seem very happy to have her lunch interrupted and did not make us feel very welcome initially,.( this was the only negative point)- otherwise all good and we would return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We visited Salema last year several times to go to the beach and saw A Mare then and made a quick note. SO this year we stayed for 5 nights in Apartment A, which was great. We had the best view in Salema and breakfast every day looking over the beach was just lovely. Bettina who runs the apartments & b&b was so helpful and friendly.In Salema its self there is probably restaurants and 2 or bars which was plenty to choose from. We will definatley be returning for another stay at A Mare.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had a very pleasant relaxing stay at the A Mare, and Bettina, the owner, was familiar and very helpful. We stayed in apartment B, which appears to not have the view that apartment A does, not as expansive, but it was more private, and it had a clothes line on the little patio for clothes and towels. The room does not have air conditioning, as stated, but it was windy the whole time, so even though it was warm, a breeze kept the room pleasant. The apartment had a kitchen with all the necessary utensils and condiments to cook a small meal, and it was great to eat our breakfast on the patio overlooking the ocean. As the apartment was not available for our whole stay, Bettina kindly moved us to a smaller room with a small patio for the last night, though we had not booked a room with a patio. The room had air conditioning, which without cross ventilation was pleasant. We had a chance to experience the breakfast, which is not included with the apartments. It was a very good breakfast, plenty to eat, and Bettina fixed us fresh squeezed orange juice, which was a real treat!

Room Tip: If you want a surrounding view, and fix your own breakfast, choose Apt. A, but Apt. B offers a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Second time we've stayed here......if you're looking for a simple b&b which is clean, very well looked after and good value.....look no further. Rooms a light,cool and clean and breakfast is lovely. Bettina who runs the place is friendly and very helpful. You're 2 minutes away from the beach with nice views of the beach and salema itself.

Perfect........thanks bettina.....we'll be back!

Room Tip: We've stayed in rooms 4 and 2.....both a lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension A Mare Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension A Mare Bed & Breakfast

Address: Praia de Salema, Salema 8650-194, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Salema
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Salema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly B&B style guest house just 100 meters from a beautiful sandy beach. Free Wi-fi. Traditional fishing village with lots of local restaurants serving the catch of the day, 2 bars (no discos). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pension a Mare Bed And Breakfast
Pension a Mare Hotel Salema
Pension A Mare Bed & Breakfast Salema, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension A Mare Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.