We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romance in Salema” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Romantik Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salema
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Romantik Villa
Save
You added Romantik Villa to your Saves list
Salema M5 | Budens, Salema 8650 191, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rates
Ranked #1 of 4 Salema B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Romance in Salema”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We just returned from our trip to Portugal which we loved. We stayed 4 nights at Romantik Villa and loved our time there. Lisa was an amazing host, welcoming, accomodating and very entertaining! The property is gorgeous, rooms are small but the bathroom was large and nicely equipped. Beds are a bit firm for my taste. Breakfast was fabulous and Lisa provided us with wonderful tips for day trips.
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    15
    0
    5
    6
See reviews for
9
70
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

The room was very nice and the grounds were outstanding. We also enjoyed the pool. The room did not have a/c but the weather was not too hot so the fan was adequate. It would not have been enough if it had been really hot. Breakfast was good and as others have described, was at a very fixed time, which worked for us. The location was ok but on a steep hill above the town, so we cheated and drove each way. It can be a challenge to find, even with their sketched map, as it doesn't have a house address. I suggested she add the GPS location to her website which would help a lot of us. Lisa was very helpful with sightseeing recommendations and restaurant suggestions. Overall, a very enjoyable experience and I recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Saleema is a perfectly charming seaside town, easily navigateable by foot, and with wonderful restaurants and spots to get a cool beverage. The villa is an ideal spot to take it all in from. Lisa is a wealth of information who takes pride in her place. Visit Sagres an drive some of the deserted parts of the coast, but no need to go to the beach anywhere than right in town. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The upstairs suite has the best view, but still only sleeps 2, and does not include breakfast. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This place is a big reason Salema should be your Algarve base. Lisa, the owner, made both my partner and me feel very welcomed from our first email inquiry thoughout our stay, and right to the end. As we were leaving, she very sincerely told us how much she appreciates having gay couples visit her, and she asked us to encourage our friends to visit Portugal, Salema, and the Villa Romantika. Of course I will. An early highlight ... When she learned my partner's birthday was the week before, she gave him a nice bottle of Portuguese wine for us to enjoy by pool at sunset overlooking the ocean before dinner.

It's not often you run into an innkeeper (B&B or guest house or otherwise) so committed to the comfort and enjoyment of your stay. She carefully describes how everything in the house, on the grounds and in your room works. She's doing this because she's professional and because she cares and wants you to have no unfortunate surprises.

She also can give you a thorough review of every restaurant and snack bar in town. Of course, you can do what you want. But just know that if you tell her what you're looking for, you should follow her suggestions. She'll be right about where you'll find the freshest fish, the best gourmet meal, etc.

The grounds are meticulously maintained by Lisa and her husband. It really is like a paradise sitting by large well maintained pool overlooking the ocean. The house is a short steep trek from the village....but there's tons of street parking right in front of the house and lots of parking in town, too. We always walked.

Finally, Lisa will also recommend beaches, site seeing, and hikes in town and up the coast. We had a great day's drive visiting remote and beautiful beaches and sites.

Those who have written wonderful reviews about this place and about Lisa get it . . . Lisa is a character: outgoing, high-energy, caring, and truly committed to you having the best possible stay in Salema and the Algarve.

Room Tip: We stayed in room three... closest to the pool and good internet access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We discovered this place through Rick Steves' Travel book. It is a wonderful small B&B conveniently located walking distance from the beach and town. It is a very relaxing, charming place. We stayed for three nights and had such a an enjoyable experience. Lisa, the owner of the place took care of us during our stay. She provided us a nice breakfast each day along with wonderful conversations. Lisa is a remarkable woman with many interesting stories and a real zest for life. She gave us great suggestions on places to visit and eat in the area. We felt so well taken care of during our stay. When I look back at my travels in Portugal, I will always remember Lisa and the wonderful time we had.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed on recommendation by Rick Steves - it was a lovely villa, just a 5-10 minute walk down to the beach and center of Salema. Breakfast is very modest - some cereal and toast. Lisa is a very interesting woman - she is very direct and honest (reminded us of fellow New Yorkers!) - at times we didn't feel comfortable as she is very strict (upon arrival there are lots of instructions - dont put your bag here, dont lose the keys, dont break the screen door, she even tried telling us how to pronounce our last name). Upon getting to know her better over breakfast however, we really grew to like her and appreciate her. It was great really talking to a local and hearing her perspective about the country, politics, etc. We would recommend this place for that reason - it was educational - just follow her rules or you might get in trouble!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Århus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Villa Romantic for four days in May and had a fantastic stay there. The four room villa has a wonderful japanish garden with several places to sit and enjoy the garden or even the ocean in the distance.
The room was ok with freedge and basic equipment to make a cold meal or caffee. The bathroom was spacious and had both shower and bath. I would't call the glimt of the ocean from our  terrasse seawiev. 
The breakfast is with cafe, bread and muslii. All guests eat together at 9:00 - not before not after. Lisa, the hostess, is making an event out of presenting the guests to each other. We enjoyed this arrangement a lot.
But first of all we enjoyed Lisas guidance of the area. We discovered many beaches and places that we never would have found without her.
But Lisa is also a bit of a business woman. We payed 80€  which is a bit expensive for the area out of season. And I would not expect to pay 10€ extra to have a room cleaning or 5€ extra for clean towels (but acctualy we had new towls ome day for free:-) ). I would also expect shampoo in the bathroom.
But the house provided wifi even when it was not stated on the website.
All in all we will highly recommend the place.
Mona and Troels

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Romantik Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Villa

Address: Salema M5 | Budens, Salema 8650 191, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Salema
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Salema
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and small, three room and one suite, bed and breakfast on a wonderful designed garden with large pool with view to the ocean, on one of the hills in Salema. A night view of a full moon from the terrace of the suite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Romantik Villa Salema, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romantik Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.