We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food with a good view of the ocean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Boia Bar

Restaurante Boia Bar
Rua Dos Pescadores 101 | 8650-199, Salema, Portugal
282 695 382
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 14 Restaurants in Salema
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Walsall
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food with a good view of the ocean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We ate here twice during our stay and enjoyed both meals equally. Slice was a little slow at times, but the restaurant was busy and we were not in a rush to go anywhere, so it didn't bother us.

The quality of the food was excellent, all dishes were cooked really well with fresh ingredients. I had seabass from the fresh fish menu which was cooked beautifully. My husband had piri piri chicken and thought that it was the best he had tried. On the second visit we chose chicken and pork dishes which were again cooked really well.

The restaurant is well situated with a view of the ocean and we enjoyed eating here because of the quality of the food and the excellent location.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    53
    23
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Best tuna steak .. ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Arrived without a reservation (not recommended in peak season in this part of the Algarve) but squeezed in on the balcony. Friendly and helpful service although as others have said not the fastest. Only had main course and the tuna was divine. Definitely the best fish i have ever eaten. Worth a visit if you are in Salema.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Food with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This small restaurant has a moderate menu - mostly fish and steaks - but the food is always beautifully prepared. Children's menu available. Request a table outside on the sheltered balcony, and look out over the beach and little fishing boats as the sun goes down. Just fab!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect beach side restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I have been visiting the Boia for over ten years now, and it is consistently a pleasant experience.

The location on the beach is picturesque. The staff (the same guys every time I go) are friendly and efficient.

The food is the usual fare expected in a Portuguese restaurant, all very nice.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fillet Portugesa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a gem of a Restraunt, right on the beach with sea views in 3 directions. Was a little uninspired looking at the menu, but mostly because I wanted lobster, but the Calamari starter was melt in the mouth, the fillet Portugesa was Devine, and the Romantica was delicious. Topped off with a nice bottle of reasonably priced Durou Rose, it was a very nice meal for 2 for under €75. Would definitely go again (but may have to eat the same).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Boia Bar also viewed

Salema, Faro District
 
Salema, Faro District
Salema, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante Boia Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Boia Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.