We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choise. Beautiful place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Horta da Coutada

Save Saved
You added Horta da Coutada to your Saves list
Horta da Coutada
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Horta da Coutada
Ferragudo / Telheiro, Monsaraz 7200-105, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Monsaraz B&B and Inns
Portugal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great choise. Beautiful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

The host has a natural talent to receive the guests, we feel very well but always with privacy.
Praise the respect for nature, and we can take our pets with us, where they could freely enjoy the fenced exterior space as well as in the house.
Breakfast varied and of quality, with attention to guest. Beautiful decoration, combining the comfort of the typical with functionality of the modern.
Delicious fireplace for cold days, swimming pool and garden for warmer days. Beautiful places and landscapes in the vicinity, excellent destination at any time of year.
And more is not to be said because the surprises should also be good for You!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

We stayed in this place recently for the first time. Really fantactic place and definitelly people. We named this post after the central tent with cushions that welcomes visitors in the center of the complex, really cozy and desert-like :)
We stayed in the "Cromeleque Suite" for three nights and really felt like kings! The room was exquisite, well decorated and nicely warm, also featuring an adjacent balcony with a great view to the surrounding plains.
The breakfast was immense, traditional and really varied, rarely to be seen :) Around this place there are several megalitical sites, and a complete itinerary was prepared for us by Luisa, the manager; she also lend us two bikes in which we travelled nearly 30 km; it was a really funtastic autumn sunny day!

We will certainly be coming back!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lourinha, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

After reading a not very good "zoological" apreciation, I was a little bit worried about the place. But friends had given me excelent referencies, so my husband and I went there anyway, The place could not possibly be the same mentioned in the "zoological" comment! Fantastic pool!!! And no insects, frogs or mice!!! Seven star breakfast (the best I remember). Big, climatised and well decorated rooms. Superbe place! Could not recomend more!!!
I pointed the "zoological" comment to the staff and they said they already knew it and that it had been made by someone who tried to stay and not pay menacing to publish bad publicity in trip sites. It seems they had to pay anyway,,,

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto/Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

It seems a house in the desert. It is new and the plants are recent.
The rooms are beautiful but there are things at bathroom that don´t function. You can find ants and spiders everywhere. The breakfast is good.
The pool could be nice it wasn't full of dead bugs and fliers, dead little frogs and a DEAD MOUSE!!!
It´s a shame for a place so beautiful as Monsaraz!
Rosa and Manuel

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Horta da Coutada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horta da Coutada

Address: Ferragudo / Telheiro, Monsaraz 7200-105, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Monsaraz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Monsaraz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Horta da Coutada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horta da Coutada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.