We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - the food was best.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fossheim Turisthotell

Save Saved
You added Fossheim Turisthotell to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fossheim Turisthotell
2688, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Oslo
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
310 helpful votes 310 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - the food was best.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed at Fossheim hotel, Lom in July when spending a weekend mountain hiking in Jotunheimen/Norway. The hotel is situated in the centre of Lom. From Lom you can arrange mountain hiking to the highest point of Norway (Galdhøpiggen) 2469 metres above sealevel.
The hotel offers different kinds of rooms. We stayed in a room located in a building separted from the main hotel building. The room was spacious, but a bit worren. The food at the hotel is very good. The evening buffet had almost evrything you can wish for, using a lot of local traditions and food. The breakfast buffet was very nice as well, and as expected at a Scandinavian hotel. We would very much like to come back. Be sure to visit "Bakeriet i Lom" (Lom bakery) which is famous for its bakery. Open every day.
Be advised that there are several hotels in Lom with the name "Foss" included in the name.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    25
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
12
25
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Lillehammer
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

We were on a trip by car on our way to the norwegian west coast. We figured it would be okay with a brake somewhere around Lom - such a nice place. I had previously heard about the hotels restaurant, so I booked both a room and a table in the restaurant for our stay.

The room costed 1500 NOK for one night. In Norway the prices are a bit higher than other places, but this is a bit over what I usually pay for hotels.

The hotel is situated in the middle of Lom, and it is impossible to miss it.

During our stay the tapwater was gone for a while. This was a little annoying, but it was not the hotels fault because it is the municipality's responsibility to provide the water supply.

The restaurant deserves it's own review, but it is a must when you stay at this hotel to eat dinner in the restaurant!

The room were cosy, with a small LCD-TV that we didn't use. It had WiFi - though a little slow and unstable. The bathrooms were not much. The shower consists of only one glass wall but the lack of one more glass wall results in a very wet bathroom when you're finished.

All in all I would absolutely recommend this hotel, with it's restaurant. Perhaps the best hotel in Lom?

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

We only stayed here for one night whilst touring by car and thought this an excellent place to stay. Although it is near the main road, traffic noise was not bothersome, we had a lovely view up the valley from our room. The interior of the hotel is typical Norwegian wood style. The staff were very helpful and friendly. And the dinner was superb - expensive but just excellent (smoked salmon then crayfish soup then reindeer)Just "up the road" along the Sognefjellet road, there is still masses of snow and beautiful frozen lakes even in June. We even saw a moose cross the road just before entering Lom.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

Stayed a night here in one of the appartments. No complaints there. However breakfast the next morning was the worst I ve ever experienced. It wasnt particularly busy and there was still a half an hour of breakfast time to go. There was no warm food and minimal cold buffet. People were queing up for food. Staff didnt seem particularly interested in getting food from the kitchen. Sour faces on them when repeatedly asked to fetch food.
Would absolutely recommend you give this place a miss.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lom Municipality hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Fossheim in September for 5 nights. We were on a modest budget so we opted for the annex double rooms for 4 nights ( see photo. The annex is also called "America" by the owners due to being constructed for the US tourist types in 1965). These were still quite expensive, even by Norwegian standards, considering the standard of the room: over 1000NOK per night.

Let's start with the good aspects of the annex room:
* the size was very good, plenty of space, and it contained a small sofa and table as well as the usual bedroom furniture.
* there was a television and the shower was brilliant: really hot and powerful!
* very clean standard and well maintained over our 4 days there
* plenty of power sockets all over the room
* gorgeous views over the valley (see photo).

However there were a number of bad aspects:
* the decor was basic, with unvarnished wood panelling and a rather grotty old carpet, and badly fitting lamp shades.
* paint peeling or badly done around the windows. Broken curtain-holder.
* no kettle or fridge.
* the room is about 15 feet from the main road so it can be noisy!
* three out of four window latches were broken...!! However the windows could be kept shut with a bit of fiddling.
* ventilation fan in bathroom was missing, now just a hole in the ceiling.
* the traditional "twin or double" bed problem - two single beds were pushed together, with separate single sheets and duvets.

On the whole we were not impressed with the annex room considering it cost well over 100 pounds per night! I would give the annex a two-to-three star rating.

On our last night we spent an extra 40 pounds to stay in the main building. The room was absolutely lovely: even better view as it was on the third floor (fourth if you count the ground floor as 1) and a far superior standard of decor. The bathroom in particular was excellent, "wet room" style, and the windows were absolutely huge (see photo). I wish we could have stayed in this room longer! I would give the room a four star rating, if it had a kettle and cost closer to 100 pounds per night I would give it 5 stars!

BREAKFAST: this was the bit I was most impressed with. I know Norway is good at breakfasts (although I am baffled at the complete lack of buttered toast), but this was the best we had during our holiday. Each morning the breakfast buffet consisted of:
Fresh fruit (three types of melon, grapes, plums, apples and oranges),
pancakes (like a thicker version of a French crepe, not like the american style),
at least two types of "jam" (not quite like UK jam, this is more like a thick coulis),
fried eggs and bacon,
hard and soft boiled eggs,
several types of cheese (both pre-sliced and on the block),
salami, ham,
smoked fish in tomato sauce,
crackers (including gluten-free),
tomatoes and cucumber,
several freshly-baked loaves of bread (olive bread, granary loaf, brown and seeded, for example).
There was also tea, coffee, orange juice, apple juice, milk.
This was perfect fuel for a week's mountain walking!

The restaurant in the Fossheim is supposed to be the attraction for visitors: we ate in there twice and it was lovely. Expensive, of course as it is Norway, but they have a good system going there - every night they have one 3-course meal, one three-and-a-half course meal, and one 7-course meal on a set menu. This allows them to produce higher quality food and serve it faster, as they know exactly what they are going to make that night! The portion sizes were perfect for me (and I am usually left feeling hungry at fancy restaurants...).

On our first night we ate the 3-and-a-half-course meal which was 495NOK (just over 50 pounds each). It included a superb fillet of white fish cooked to perfection and served in a crab sauce, a delicious reindeer steak, and finally a chocolate pudding served with plums in saffron syrup and a berry sorbet.
On our last night we ate the same set menu, this time consisting of a divine fillet of salmon in a pungent creamy sauce (I still dream of this!), a steak of ox (yes really), which was tender and served in a red wine sauce, and lastly a cloudberry pudding served alongside creme brulee and another black berry sorbet.
The wine list is excellent, even the cheapest bottle at 300NOK (which to our shame, was what we drank with this fabulous meal) being a very delicious wine indeed.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly over email when I had many questions for them! The restaurant staff were polite and spoke perfect english, but were a bit unhurried at the end of the night - leaving us for 30 minutes after finishing our food, with only two other tables occupied, until we had to go and find one of them in order to pay!

In conclusion:
The Fossheim is a lovely hotel and very well placed in Lom, near Jotunheim National Park, and has fabulous views across the valley. It also provides an awesome breakfast. The restaurant is very good, and considering the general cost of eating in Norway, not badly priced - don't forget that even a McDonalds meal will set you back more than twice what it costs in England! - the food was well prepared, quickly served and the portion sizes were perfect.
The main hotel building rooms are very good, if a bit over-priced, but the annex is definitely one to avoid. If you want a basic room, you will find one much cheaper than this (or, frankly, you could use a tent!).

  • Liked — The breakfast and the beautiful views.
  • Disliked — The standard of rooms was poor considering the cost.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

We stayed in one of the apartments which were very large and with a nice view. The staff was helpful and friendly too. Nice food at the restaurant and beer on tap was cool too.

  • Liked — Size of apartment, ease of access, view
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia Washington
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2008

Fossheim Turisthotell, Lom

We couldn't get reliable information from the guidebooks on what might be available in this area just before the beginning of the season, so took our chances and showed up in Lom hoping to find a suitable accommodation. We were not disappointed! Fossheim Turisthotell, which dates from 1894 is located just off the highway with a gorgeous view of the lake and the nearby 1,000 year old stave church.

We stayed in a charming “hytter” (hut or cabin in Norsk) with a beautiful view overlooking Lom and the lake. It featured a private bath and two spacious rooms, a bedroom with an exceedingly comfortable European double covered with a luxurious fluffy down comforter and a sitting/living room with small kitchenette and bunk beds. We also looked at one of the lodge rooms, but found this room much more to our liking for about the same price. Everything was spotlessly clean.

The food was also wonderful. Dinner in the lodge was excellent with 3 fixed price options.
Breakfast was the typical smorgasbord fare of meats, cheeses, breads, cereals, an egg dish and some truly excellent crepes that were really, really yummy with the huckleberry preserves provided.

We experienced some initial minor difficulties with the hot water (remember it was just prior to their real season) and we found that the internet worked only up until about 9pm when it was perhaps switched off. We can't say enough good things however about owner Svein Garmo and his lovely and exceedingly helpful daughter Heidrun. Together, they made sure our minor problem with the water was promptly taken care of and they were more than fair in making up for our inconvenience.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend it!

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fossheim Turisthotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fossheim Turisthotell

Address: 2688, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Lom Municipality
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Lom Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Fossheim Turisthotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fossheim Turisthotell Hotel Lom Municipality
Fossheim Turisthotell Lom
Fossheim Turisthotell Norway/Oppland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fossheim Turisthotell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.