We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Provnce is all about” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Clair de la Plume

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Clair de la Plume to your Saves list
Le Clair de la Plume
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Place du Mail, 26230 Grignan, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Grignan
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What Provnce is all about”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at this delightful hotel for five nights this August (2013). The service was gracious, the room (Sud) comfortable and spacious, and the meals in the restaurant outstanding! Grignan is such a charming, welcoming little village that we only made two side trips during our stay. Although this was peak season, the streets never seemed crowded and the merchants were warm and welcoming. It has everything - bakeries, a small market, and narrow, stone medieval streets. Don't miss the Tuesday morning farmers market! Also don't miss wine tasting at a local winery (Domaine de Modine) and trying out some of the village cafes. This is our favorite hotel (and village) in Provence by far.

Room Tip: Our room in the wing of the main house was fine, but check out the Yellow room on he second floor of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clairplume, Propriétaire at Le Clair de la Plume, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Customers,
Thank you for your positive review posted on Tripadvisor.
The whole team and I hope the happiness of welcoming you back to Clair de la Plume.
Respectfully,
Jean Luc VALADEAU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    49
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
164
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

An absolutely lovely spot to stay, we'll worth the detour, with a fabulous restaurant to go with it. Attentive service and attention to detail. We only stayed 1 night but I wish we had of stayed 2. Definitely reserve yourself a table in the garden and enjoy dinner by a Michelin starred Chef - excellent food and wine.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clairplume, Propriétaire at Le Clair de la Plume, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Customers,
Thank you for your positive review posted on Tripadvisor.
The whole team and I hope the happiness of welcoming you back to Clair de la Plume.
Respectfully,
Jean Luc VALADEAU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at Le Clair de la Plume for one night on our drive down to the Bouches de Rhone area. Very charming and welcoming. Our first floor room (Anne) was spacious and very nicely furnished in a style in keeping with the age of the property. Good bathroom, separate toilet. Air conditioning was lovely given the very warm weather. Had a very good night's sleep.

We had dinner out in the garden on a lovely warm evening. The food was excellent, as was the service from the friendly waiting staff. Breakfast buffet was adequate.

The hotel is full of character and as has been previously mentioned by other reviewers is very much like staying in a lovely old private home.

Grignan is a pretty town surrounded by lovely countryside and lavender and worth a detour.

Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clairplume, Propriétaire at Le Clair de la Plume, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Customers,
Thank you for your positive review posted on Tripadvisor.
The whole team and I hope the happiness of welcoming you back to Clair de la Plume.
Respectfully,
Jean Luc VALADEAU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

this wonderful hotel gives the whole of provence -beautiful decorated rooms in an old provencial style a very good restaurand lovely decorated and it is located in a beautiful village
it is lovley to come here in the summer when the lavender filds and the sunflower are blooming

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clairplume, Propriétaire at Le Clair de la Plume, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Customers,
Thank you for your positive review posted on Tripadvisor.
The whole team and I hope the happiness of welcoming you back to Clair de la Plume.
Respectfully,
Jean Luc VALADEAU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great hotel: the organic swimming pool was fantastic, like swimming in a river, there are three facilities that are all absolutely charming. The staff is polite and very helpful, the breakfast is outstanding, we also had lovely dinner, etc... we enjoyed very much our getaway in Grignan and would love to be back at Le clair de la Plume

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clairplume, Propriétaire at Le Clair de la Plume, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Customers,
Thank you for your positive review posted on Tripadvisor.
the whole team and I hope the happiness of welcoming you back to Clair de la Plume.
respectfully,
Jean Luc VALADEAU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I went to this lovely hotel on honeymoon and have returned since. We loved the privacy of la Pavillion des Amoureux and the hihgh qulaity of the restaurant when we first came here in 2010 for a one night stay on a road trip though France. Our return in 2011 confirmed what a friendly, peaceful and enjoyable hotel this was. We have recently been to the restaurant in July 2013 for the 80th birthday dinner of my father. Although the tax was confused for the tip (oops) the resaturant under its ntew chef and sommelier has clearly reached even higher standards. We will certaitly return and promise to pay a tip next time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clairplume, Propriétaire at Le Clair de la Plume, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Customers,
Thank you for your positive review posted on Tripadvisor.
The whole team and I hope the happiness of welcoming you back to Clair de la Plume.
Respectfully,
Jean Luc VALADEAU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We took the suite in the private house and took the 2 bedroom suite with our adult children as we were attending a wedding nearby. Good to excellent hotel with a lovely garden patio restaurant where we enjoyed breakfast and lunch during our stay . The front desk staff was friendly and accommodating . Only thing quirky was the entrance to the bath in the suite was through the larger bedroom or else you could enter through the outside balcony !!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clairplume, Propriétaire at Le Clair de la Plume, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your very kind review, shared with the Clair de la Plume Team.

Our 18th Century house has been renewed with respect to the structure and the history of the place. The Suite n°2 is made for family. We preferred to keep the room’s size rather than adding a corridor (that would make rooms narrow).

Our other suites are made with en suite lounge. And all of them have independent air conditioned system, fully equipped en suite bathroom, free Wifi, minibar, satellite LCD television, telephone, original furniture and frames.

We can alternatively propose (in the main house aisle) two rooms nearby each other (with their own private entry) for family members to wishing to get their own bathroom. Do not hesitate to ask for theses room for your next stay.

Looking forward to welcome you again at Le Clair de la Plume,

Warm regards.

Jean Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Clair de la Plume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clair de la Plume

Address: 2 Place du Mail, 26230 Grignan, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Drome > Grignan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Grignan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Clair de la Plume 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Provence, the historical village of Grignan is home to our charming 4-star hotel: cross the gate and enter through our garden. The joy of life is felt in our distinguished rooms offering views onto the garden or fountain. Our private house offers home felt comfort 100 meters away. Le Clair de la Plume, always open, proposes a gastronomic dinners with fresh products of Provence. "Bistro" formula for lunch, and tea room every afternoon. For those warm sunny days, our organic Mediterranean garden offers (200 meters away), not only another outdoor restaurant, but also a natural, chemical free swimming pool. Among this garden, we offer our lovers' pavilion; for those special vacations just for two. Finally, in the village centre, our gift shop offers scents & traditions of Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Clair de la Plume reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Clair de la Plume, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.