We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domaine des Avenieres

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Domaine des Avenieres to your Saves list
Domaine des Avenieres
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1060, Rue du Chateau | Lieu-dit La Chenaz, 74350 Cruseilles, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cruseilles
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My partner and I stayed for 4 nights at Chateau des Avenieres in December 2011. It has been 2 years but not a month go by so we dont remember the room, the meal, the atmosphere, the kind staff and the beautiful bar of the Chateau !!
To start with, we have stayred in one of the most memorable rooms I have ever been to - it had a free standing bath and steps leading to a little lounge upstairs with its own terrace overlooking the Alps - can you imagine having a glass of bubbles after your bath standing literally on top of the world?
On the first night we have arrived rather late and decided to eat at the hotel restaurant - it was delicious !!!! And the wine list was as long and as fascinating as a good book! Loved the room as well. But when we went for the cheese ... I have never seen a better cheese trolley. I promise. And trust me, I have travelled to a hell of a lot of countries, but still, best cheese trolley. In fact, the meal was so good, we booked ourselves for a gourmet New Years Dinner. And we were not disappointed! Foie gras was delicious!
The same night after dinner we stayed up at the bar until quite late, where a lovely bartender was talking to us about all the whiskey, making suggestions and letting us try things.

The next morning the snowfall was tremendous and we could not go down the mountain to ski, so the receptionist made a call and brought us a couple of sledges. We had a wonderful day sledging sledging around and visiting the little spa at the hotel, playing chess and drinking wine.

I am barely a tripadvisor contributor, but I could not recommend this place enough !!! Trust me, it is an amazing romantic, beautiful and friendly Chateau. Do not know about summer, but winter looks magical.

Thank you for making it so special !

D

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    18
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
7
65
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Flobecq, Belgium
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel has a very nice atmosphere and charming cosy rooms.
The view from our room was stunning.
You can see the Mont-Blanc and the Annecy lake.
The restaurant has a british colonial style.
The food was very good, but due to a party the choice on the menu was limited.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina M, Chargée de clientèle at Domaine des Avenieres, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Ofabre,
Thank you very much for your lovely comment and for taking the time to share your experience at the Domaine des Avenières on Tripadvisor. All the staff is glad you had a nice time with us and we are delighted to learn you have enjoyed your dinner in our restaurant even if we had a limited menu due to a special event organized at the castle this night.
Once again thank you for your feedback, and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I went there with my husband and a part of our family for three nights.
The place is just magical: you've got a stunning view on the valley and the "castle" is very well maintained (do not miss the chapel, extraordinary).
There's no swimming-pool but a big pond and a gym within the castle (small) with a hammam/Turkish bath (small, again).
The room we booked was the Observatoire. I've got to say that I was a little disappointed by it: the view from the roof terrasse is fantastic, you feel like the "king of the world" there (I loved to take my breakfast there) but I would not advice it to people with difficulties to move themselves. In fact, when you enter the room, you start with an about 10 steps staircase. Then, the room itself is quite small: you've got a bed part (but there's a small table and two armchairs in front of it) and an inroom bathroom on your left, separated by a beam on the floor (which you keep stepping over all the time) and only a window there (not any on the other side). You have to be careful with the bath if you only want a shower (not to put water everywhere). Unfortunately for us, it was hot that week and you have no air conditionning (under a roof...pff..We had to leave the terrasse door and the bathroom window opened to get some fresh air). To get to the great terrasse, you've got again a narrow spiral staircase (with your breakfast tray, it's a difficult gymnastic!). As it is probably difficult to get water so high (it is, in fact), it comes and gets away thanks to pumps, which is a little noisy...and not practical: on the last night, we had a dreadful storm and the power cut (I was terrified!). Thus the pumps did not work any longer! Practical in the morning!
Well, all that makes souvenirs, after all. And the mattress is good, by the bye. Plus: it is very quiet and clean. Yet, I visited other rooms and I would rather advise you the Louisiane one.

the restaurant: we tested it. We took the chef suggestions (you don't choose, he chooses for you). Good but not outstanding, honestly. What I really liked was the aperitif we had another day under the big tent they put next to the castle: lovely and good atmosphere that night!

some small details: the staff is very nice in general but some (a very few) are very strange: the woman who greeted us on the first night: she brought us to our room and asked my husband to carry the luggage. I can understand that she couldn't do it herself (big heavy suitcases) but she could have asked someone for that. It's a detail but I think it doesn't match the standards of the place (it is in fact quite expensive).
Another example with the "chef de rang" (? I think he was): between third dish and dessert, some of us went out to smoke or take some fresh air in front of the restaurant, followed by other people in the restaurant. The man said: it's not possible to go by this door and...he locked the door! Impossible to get in again, even by another door (even for the poor waitress who was also out!)...We had to walk round the castle to get to the main entrance door! Incredible!

Yet, I will come again to this place if I get the occasion.

Room Tip: bow window ones in the castle (louisiane looks the best)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina M, Chargée de clientèle at Domaine des Avenieres, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear isabrit05,
We than you thank you very much for staying at the Domaine des Avenières on your recent visit and for taking the time to put this complete feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in general in our Mansion.
We have however duly noted that you seems to prefer classical Hôtel’s rooms and the Observatory room was to …
As you have noticed at the Castle accommodate 12 rooms which are all different. The Observatory room is a real cocoon liked by lovers, the room is vertically build around the staircase leading to the panoramic terrace. We do not have air conditioning in our rooms, we try to fall within sustainable approach and we consider that it’s better to open a window at night and breathe the fresh mountain air than an indoor recycling air. We are 1060 meters above the sea and our night are quite cold even in summer that’s our natural air conditioning.
The moment you like under our big tent in our gardens was our “Apéros Gourmand” organised every Sundays evenings, as you truly say there is always a good and casual atmosphere for this event.
Regarding your comment about our staff, we have a family atmosphere at the hotel we don’t want to be another anonymous “palace”. We do not have porters or bellboys, our Receptionist women are able to handle every situation and the lift help for heavy luggage.
Regarding our comment about the restaurant when the guest are sitting for dinner in our “Grand Salon” dining room we close the door leading to the terrace in order to avoid draft and let the clients eat peacefully. But of courses our staff have to check if there is someone outside, our head waiter has reviewed this point with our service staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginevra
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

A kind of disappointing experience at the restaurant of the Chateau.
First impression is really breathtaking: the place and surroundings are really beautiful and the terrace offers a nice view on the valley and a little byte of Annecy's lake.
The service is very nice and professional, exactly what you expect from a place of this category. Special mention to the Italian sommelier: the right attitude and the good suggestions.
Now, let's talk about the negative side of our experience:
- timing of the lunch: we arrived at 12.40...we were two and finished at 15! for two starters, two main dishes and 1 dessert, no coffee, I think it's a bit too much. Ok, food presentation is wonderful, but it doesn't justify the time you have to wait.
- food: good, but nothing really special. The menu doesn't offer a large choice - probably due to the fact that with such detailed presentation with too many dishes they would get crazy. I had the Red Fish and it was nothing special, just good.
- food (2): as I said, an incredible presentation. The chef deserve a prize for the decoration, really...but the taste....well, there are things that are completely tasteless. I got the Peaches with white chocolate and something else. Well, it didn't leave any special feeling...any feeling at all.

So, at the end the balance is: are you looking for a great scenography to impress a client or a mother-in-law? that's the place. Are you looking for an amazing food experience? I am not convinced. Few weeks ago we were at La Ferme de l'Hopital more or less same Michelin category. There is no competition: you pay a lot in terms of landscape but at least you leave with your mouth fully satisfied.
Finally, again, too slow service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tean, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here for our first wedding anniversary and the hotel is set in a beautiful back drop of mountains, woodland and the lake in the valley. On arrival we were told that we had received a complimentary upgrade to an "excellence room" which was a nice touch. The room was spacious with a separate seating area and whirlpool bathroom and as we were on the top floor the views were brilliant. We had dinner in the restaurant which is pricey but it is well advertised on the website and we had budgeted accordingly, the set menu choices was small but varied and the food was excellent when arrived, the table service throughout was also good.

The hotel wasnt full when we stayed but this added to the quiet surroundings from the day, unfortunately I am a light sleeper and could hear people walking and talking next door, not too loud but enough to effect my sleep in what was otherwise a comfy bed. Breakfast the next morning value wise is what you would expect staying in a hotel, good quality at a high but acceptable price. All in all I would recommend the Domaine des Avenieres it's a premium hotel in a premium location but wouldn't stay more than a couple of nights at a time.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

If you stay in this Domaine, I would advise to try the Chambre Sonates . It was perfectly quiet and the view is just spectacular. It has a nice indoor patio allowing sunbathing in your room while you can enjoy the view on the mountains. The place is also ideal for walks on the hills. There is also possibility to have a massage and it was indeed a relaxing moment. Compared to the rest of our stay, lunch was disappointing and I would agree with other reports of low value. The Chef is trying to sell its truffle by having it on display in the middle of the restaurant. They even bring the truffle to the table so you can smell it. Strange, because you don’t really smell anything and it reminded me of those frozen truffle coming from Asia mixed with real French Truffle in some markets. The desert did not match the description; the Pâtissier seemed to be off that day. Conclusions: stop for a nice romantic stay in Chambre Sonate, enjoy nature but stay away from the restaurant: only the prices are ‘gastronomical’.

Room Tip: Try Chambre Sonates
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina M, Chargée de Clientèle at Domaine des Avenieres, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear CBR1000RR,

We than you thank you very much for staying at the Domaine des Avenières on your recent visit and for taking the time to put your feedback on Tripadvisor
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in the room “Sonate” and appreciated the quality of our services.
We have however duly noted that you have been disappointed by your experience at the Restaurant. Please rest assured that our Chief mold only fresh and high quality products. Our suppliers are local for the most part and we produce our vegetables in our organic kitchen garden. Regarding Truffes display in our restaurant’s room, this one are coming from the village of Rougiers in Var department (France Southeast).
We are sorry to learn that your desert did not match with its description, we have a very creative pastries’ Chief and his deserts are usually very well-liked by our clients.
We hope you will stop again at the Domaine des Avenières for a romantic stay to have the opportunity to give you a much better image of our Gastronomic Restaurant.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Spent some time there part of a family holiday, and was genuiy impressed by almost everything.

Rooms: they vary as each has a given theme (think african, indian, french monarchy, etc.). Sometimes a bit tacky, but always a good change from standard hotel rooms. Overall they provide good amenities. Some of us were in the annex, "maison des ecureuils". The more modern rooms there are also quite nice.

Location / setting: the hotel is set in a quiet village, near Annecy. It is an old mansion that ha been transformed ans has a lot of charm. The views from the terrasse are simply stunning. Definitely worth having breakfast or a drink outside during daylight to fully enjoy the peaceful surroundings.

Service: everybody was very helpful and professional, particularly at the front desk where you receive a truly personalized service.

Food: had apero gourmand and breakfast an both were first class. Service for the apero could have been a bit better / faster, especially towards the end, but nothin dramatic.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Domaine des Avenieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine des Avenieres

Address: 1060, Rue du Chateau | Lieu-dit La Chenaz, 74350 Cruseilles, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Cruseilles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cruseilles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine des Avenieres 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Domaine des Avenieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domaine des Avenieres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.