We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISAPPOINTING AND OVER PRICED!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Domaine des Avenieres

Save Saved
You added Domaine des Avenieres to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Domaine des Avenieres
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1060, Rue du Chateau | Lieu-dit La Chenaz, 74350 Cruseilles, France   |  
Hotel amenities
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTING AND OVER PRICED!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We were booked for two nights and stayed one. The setting is beautiful and the staff were very helpful, particularly the sommelier, David, and all the front desk personnel.
We booked a “Deluxe Room” with a balcony. The room was small and the balcony was ludicrous…it was approximately 6’ by 6’ with no chairs.
We were there on a Sunday night and were the ONLY people staying at the hotel and dining in the restaurant. We had what was called a dinner in the dining room and the food was mediocre and terribly overpriced; two degustation meals were 110 euros per person!
DON’T BE FOOLED BY THE PHOTOS ON THE WEBSITE, SINCE THE ROOMS (AT LEAST THE ONE WE RECEIVED) AND THE FOOD ARE MEDIOCRE, AT BEST!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domainedesavenieres, Chargée de Clientèle at Domaine des Avenieres, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Mr &Mrs Sistae,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Domaine des Avenieres and for taking the time to post a comment on tripadvisor.
I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your room, that you found small with a ludicrous balcony.
At the castle each room is different and has its own personality that’s why so far as possible we ask for our guests preferences at the booking. They can have a look to each rooms’ atmosphere on our website and make their choice if their room’s choice is available.

The majority of our guests enjoy our Gastronomic Restaurant and we receive daily positive feedback, that’s why we were disconcerted by our comment about your diner.
The cooking of our chef Marc le roux was recognized by the famous Gault & Millau guide as 3 chef’s hat. We regret that you did’t appreciate your diner and we hope that did not besmirch the image of the Domaine des Avenières to your eyes.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you once again and show you a better side of the castle.

Your faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    17
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
55
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The hotel room was disapointing, very small and standard. I stayed in "Amandine" De Luxe room and certanly not worth the price.
Hotel location is very beutiful and peaceful but deluxe room overprice for what it is.
Restaurant is excellent, though, most of the waiters and service did not speak english.

Room Tip: DeLuxe rooms (Amandine) are dissaponting, not worth the price. Very small and standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Chargée de Clientèle at Domaine des Avenieres, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Winiclot,
We would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Domaine des Avenieres and for taking the time to post a comment on tripadvisor.
I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your room, that you found small and conventional.
At the castle each room is different and has its own personality that’s why so far as possible we ask for our guests preferences at the booking. They can have a look to each rooms’ atmosphere on our website and make their choice if their room’s choice is available.

We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your experience at the Restaurant, we are taking good note of your comment about waiters. Our permanent gastronomic restaurant staff speaks English, the team is also composed of trainees , we have taken upon ourselves to train and prepare them to the different situations they would encounter in their professional life. That’s why Alain Julia our Head Waiter organizes frequently Restaurant education in English.

Looking forward to welcoming once again and show you a better side of the Domaine des Avenières.

Your Faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albertville, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Set on the hillside above Cruseilles, between Geneva and Annecy, the chateau (ironically built by a wealthy English lady at the turn of the 20thC) has incredible sweeping views across rolling countryside to the mountains beyond. Beautiful in winter as well as summer. We've stayed here 3 times now on the way from the airport and never been disappointed. The food is a real treat, served in a majestic wood panelled dining room by discrete yet attentive staff. Despite the grandeur of the setting, the overall ambiance is warm and relaxed. The decor in some of the rooms is a bit tacky (try the African room for a giggle), but overall it's well worth the money for a special night or weekend away from it all. There's an outside pool and dining terrace too, but we went in winter.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front on the first or second floor, they've got the fantastic views across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I have been to this hotel 10 or more times, some for dinner, some for cocktails on the garden after a day shopping in Annecy, and a few to spend the night. I have always been impressed with the staff and ambiance of this spectacular hotel. The location is perfect for Annecy, flying in and out of Geneva, a trip to the French Alps etc. The rooms are very interesting and beds comfy, view is unbelievable, food is excellent. This is a perfect Anniversary get away, Birthday weekend or just special occasion beautiful place to come. It is worth every penny to splurge on something super special. Don't miss this fairytale, you could be sleeping Beauty!

Room Tip: Go the extra mile and get a room with the view over the garden and french alps. The Blue Room is won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domainedesavenieres, Attachée Commerciale at Domaine des Avenieres, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your lovely comment, the hotel staff has been delighted to read that you have enjoyed your different stays and experiences at the Domaine des Avenières.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the “Castle” where you always be very welcomed.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed one week before going to Dubai. The property and the views are stunning! you can see the beautiful full of snow mountains from your bed!
The rooms are modern, and you have all you need. We stayed in december when its really cold and the hotel was warm and comfortable.
Service is very good, you feel they want you to feel at home.
Sleep was perfect, not a noise! this is difficult in some hotels especially in France where they call you ten times so they can clean your room. Here they didn't say anything and clean your room in the afternoon.
Breakfast was very good, coffee delicious, bread and jam home made.
There is something magical to this place.

Room Tip: Princess suite! love it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katrinee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We spent one night here i august. This is a small hotel with a lot of history. The staff was very friendly and the rooms are quiet and very comfortable. This is a very good place to relax and enjoy the fresh air. Beautiful view to Annecy. Wonderful garden with a stunning pool. In the summer, when the temperature is too hot in Annecy, this is a good place to stay since it lies on the top of a mountain. A bit far from Annecy, but if you are looking out for a great place to relax, this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

i have now been to the restaurant in this hotel twice in a year...the food was superb with great choice and amazing setting inside the Chateau is lovely but the views outside are breathtaking-so long as the clouds don't come down !it seems the perfect place to take someone especially if you had an engagement in mind or a celebration away-you would have to up your game though to stop them being distracted by the view!...first time wewebnt was for a family lunch as my nephew was over secondly for my sister's birthday-any excuse for lunch there is enough for me!

Room Tip: i didn't stay there but the setting is so amazing, the staff so helpful and the principal rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Domaine des Avenieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine des Avenieres

Address: 1060, Rue du Chateau | Lieu-dit La Chenaz, 74350 Cruseilles, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Cruseilles
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cruseilles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine des Avenieres 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Domaine des Avenieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domaine des Avenieres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.