We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Lambert

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chenas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau Lambert
Save
You added Chateau Lambert to your Saves list
Les Michelons, 69840 Chenas, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Chenas B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Amazing Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Where do you start?
This was an amazing and unforgettable three day break. We ate the most amazing food, drank some fantastic wine and got to experience the real rural France!
We hired a car and drove from Geneva which took 1hour 45 minutes, very easy to find. We had a fantastic room and felt welcome from the second we arrived. Nicolas was an excellent host and manager.
The food was 5 stars and the wine was addictive - we managed to drink plenty and drink until the early hours of the morning on the first night!!!
We didn't want to leave and will be making a return trip next year!
Thank you to all the staff for making this an amazing trip! :)

J&Y x

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    11
    10
    14
    14
See reviews for
8
57
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

With a reduced price by groupon we could stay for 3 nights at the Chateau Lambert.
This place is located in a wonderfull region. The chateau has a great atmosphere. The rooms are very spacious and clean, the staff is very helpfull the food is prepared by a great and tallented guy!
The owner (Siegfreid) is very friendly and arranged a candle light diner in the chapel of the castle for our last night!

The domain has a great view over the village and the valley. The swimming pool in the middle of the garden is the perfect way to relax, with a glas of red wine bottled in the Chateau!!

Only good memories of a trip that we will never forget!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desireebeauharnais
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

Chateau Lambert is an unforgettable place on a hill above the Soane River. You will remember this Chateau forever. I think of my stay there so often. The owner is welcoming and warm, yet gives you complete privacy.

The rooms have gorgeous French furniture and bedcovers. It is an authentic Chateau and you experience living the life that has been lived there through the centuries. Marvelous!

It is a gorgeous place nestled in the vinyards of Beaujolais. It is only minutes from many wine tasting rooms with the best wines in the world. Wonderful little restaurants are near...and they serve the freshest escargots and frog legs along with other fabulous dishes.

Ponds of swans abound. Oh, you musn't miss this!

  • Liked — The gorgeous setting
  • Disliked — All was wonderful.
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2006

This chateau was built in 1690, just when Shakespeare was entering his salad days across the Channel. It is quiet. It is comfortable. It is situated in beautiful country. The proprietor is well suited for his job, being pleasant and accommodating without being in the least officious. The table d'hote supper was esp. enjoyable for the friendly and engaging conversation around the table. This was my 20th or so trip to Europe and I count this place among the most pleasant I have ever stayed. It is not air conditioned, it is not modern, there is no WiFi, but I take the time to write this review because I was impressed to be in a house over 300 years old and find it in so pleasant a niche of its history.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2005

my italian fiance and i stayed at chateau lambert last april and it was magical.
we reserved la grande suite and arranged to have our dinner in the suite. during the day, while we were out touring the route de vins, our host marty had set up our suite (bigger than many apartments in milan!) for the occasion. upon our arrival in the evening we found the fireplace roaring, the table beautifully set and the candles lit. marty was a gracious host and the food was delicious.
the village of chenas itself is a great starting point for touring the beaujolais area and the lovely burgundy countryside.
we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, Gloucestershire
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2005

We have just returned from a trip around France and Italy and our overnight stay in Chenas, at Chateau Lambert far outshone the other places we stayed in.

On arrival, we had a very warm welcome by Marty, the owner who showed us to our room (chambre D'alcove). Extremely spacious, huge bed, wonderful veiws out over the vinyards and the whole room is beautifully decorated in a typically french chateau style (all of the sumptous soft furnishings made by Marty himself). Excellent power shower too. As we were the first guests to arrive, we asked if we could have a look at the other rooms - all of which are unique, large and have their own individual character. Although Marty does do evening meals, for the one evening we stayed, he was not able to accommodate us as he was preparing for a small wedding the next day. However, he reccommended 6 other restaurants (2 within walking distance) and made a reseration for us at Chez La Rose at Julienas 2 miles away. Fantastic meal and great local wine of course!

The next morning we walked down the stairs to the huge kitchen where the enourmouse table in the middle of the room was adorned with croissants, fresh bread, jam, fruit and all candlelit. Very romantic! We had such a lovely peaceful stay here and left with some bottles of the wine they produce from the vines on the estate.

If you want a very special place to stay, at outstanding value for money - I would reccommend Chateaux Lambert without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Lambert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Lambert

Address: Les Michelons, 69840 Chenas, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Chenas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Lambert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.