We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Mas D'Arvieux

Save Saved
You added Le Mas D'Arvieux to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Mas D'Arvieux
Route d'Avignon, 13150 Tarascon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Tarascon B&B and Inns
Harrogate
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had a short stay here (2 nights) and enjoyed our stay. We found Carolyn quiet but welcoming, and her friend who helps out very friendly. The mas itself is big! Our room was more than adequate for the 3 of us - and the fact that our 15yr old son was 'hidden' behind the sofa at night gave us all a measure of privacy. We were lucky enough (depending on one's viewpoint, I suppose!) to have a small family of lizards co-habiting with us - we were highly entertained by their antics! The bathroom was huge - but I felt that the floor and bath were terribly slippy and I would have welcomed a slipmat (to be fair I didn't ask for one when we were there so didn't know if they are avaiable on request).

Carolyn runs a 'room serviced on request' service and we didn't use this as we were only there for 2 nights (and she was really busy with changeovers!) but she made it clear that this would be no problem if we wanted this.

The pool was very nice, and we spent the last day of our holiday sunbathing and swimming. We especailly enjoyed the company of Carolyn's 4 delightful chickens - they are real characters, quietly clucking and foraging round the poolside - as we were missing our 3 Girls, they were a great find! We used the kitchen to store lunch, bought at the Boulangerie La Grange Ste Honore in Tarascon and ate by the pool - there are tables, chairs and parasols for this. In passing, if you are here, do pay this boulangerie a visit - great choices and absolutely scrummy patisserie!

We had dinner here one night - good value at €29 each, inclusive of drinks.

There were a couple of downsides - the bed was rock hard, and the bedroom sweltering hot at night, so much so that it was difficult to sleep. Now, I appreciate that it's an old building, but the previous property we stayed at was also old, and they have introduced aircon, which made sleeping a lot easier. The fan in the room stirred up the hot air, but didn't really cool it down.
The second, which was outwith Carolyn's control, was the behaviour of the children who arrived late in the afternoon. I can tolerate shouting and playing - after all,we all like to see children enjoying themselves - but spitting directly into the pool was quite revolting to see, and got me right out quicker than I would have liked. Just a personal viewpoint, but nonetheless, not very nice....

We visited the Pont du Gard (utterly fab - see my other reviews) and had an evening visit to Arles for dinner (reviewed that as well!) and think the area would have borne more investigation. But we were shattered after a heavy 10 days elswhere and this was purely for pre-home r & r. The Mas would be a good base if you are planning a holiday in the region.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Mas d'Arvieux for three days as a base for visiting that part of Southern France. We had a hard time finding it first, as it is located slightly outside of the (terribly boring) town of Tarascon (beware of the restaurants - complete rip-off) and our GPS couldn't find the address. The Mas was set back from the main road, sheltered by trees that whistled in the strong May wind and sporting a beautifully landscaped outdoor eating/pool area. We stayed in the smallest room which involved crossing the corridor to get to our bathroom (rather annoying, would probably not do that again), but had a lovely balcony all to ourselves overlooking the pool. Cute decorations, nice breakfast. It also has a kitchen near the pool for guests to cook or keep food for the road. Altogether a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

If you have a car or a bike, this is the place to go! It is really in the center of Provence, near Avignon, Nimes, S. Remy de Provence, Arles, Pont du Gard, Les Baux, and so on and on. As a luxury B&B, Alex and Carolyn Miller (Both very hard working English people) will be there to assist you in every little whim you might have. They serve a delicious Continental Breakfast and Dinner sometimes. With a GPS (TonTon) whisking all over there area was a breeze, and when you are tired, just push the button home and you are there in 30 minutes, enjoying the pool and tea. Geat!!!

Room Tip: Facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

This B & B is in an excellent location for travelling to many of Provence's incredible sights. The British owners are very pleasant and the rooms are large & spacious - great having tea/coffee making facilities in your bedroom. Breakfast is very good - particular treat having home-made jams and fruit juice from their own trees. Pool & facilities also very good. Only negatives were the hardness of the bed (I like a hard bed but this was like a rock!) and arriving past local factories and opposite the Avignon railway line. However once you're on the property, you're not aware of them at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We had such an amazing stay at Le Mas D'Arvieux. It was high season, so we were SO lucky to find a cancellation on the nights we would be in Tarascon. I would highly recommend this location for cyclist and those who wish to tour the wineries of the region.

Breakfast was amazing poolside and tucked between the olive and pear orchards. I want to go back!!!!!

Laurie and Shannon

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

The hosts exemplify what hospitality is all about. The room was spacious with tea and coffee making facilities, a big bathroom a sofa and a big comfortable bed. The mas is charming and seemed no more than an hour from anywhere in Provence yet rural.The delicious breakfasts served by the pool when possible with jams and olives from their fields gave a really fun start to each day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed for 1 week in two rooms....and enjoyed it thoroughly. Location is perfect for day tripping around Provence (Orange, Avignon, Arles, Nimes, le Pont du Gard, Chateauneuf du Pape, Camarque...and more if you have time). Breakfast is ample (crossants and fresh bread, cheese, fresh fruit, fruit nectar, coffee, tea, hot chocolate), comes with homemade jam (made by owner) and is served poolside. Rooms are made up daily and pool refreshing after a long day of sightseeing. Upon request breakfast was served earlier but usual time is between 9-10. Lots of tourist info available. Handy booklet available in each guest room detailing local markets, restaurants and suggested sights as well as pharmacy, grocery, laundry etc. Rooms are nicely furnished, clean and comfortable. Recommend the two rooms on the second floor overlooking the pool and with terrace. Rooms are also available on ground level. British ex-pat's Carolyn and Alex are welcoming and accommodating and make their own olive oil and jam from trees on the farm. Shared kitchenette is available for guests and came in handy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Mas D'Arvieux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas D'Arvieux

Address: Route d'Avignon, 13150 Tarascon, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Tarascon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tarascon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heated Swimming Pool available from Easter until the end of October ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Le Mas D'Arvieux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mas D'Arvieux Tarascon, Provence, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Mas D'Arvieux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.