We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the tourist track in beautiful Oppede Le Vieux” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belle de Nuit Chambres d'Hotes

Save Saved
You added Belle de Nuit Chambres d'Hotes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Belle de Nuit Chambres d'Hotes
24 route des Petitons-Minguets | Centre vieux village, 84580 O Oppede, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Oppede B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Off the tourist track in beautiful Oppede Le Vieux”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Belle de Nuit is a great little B&B in the tiny, tranquil, historic village of Oppede Le Vieux. It also runs a restaurant for guests and others on demand, a real plus given there's only one other restaurant in the village. Roger and Laurie are the owners, he's a very friendly, entertaining and helpful host with impeccable English and his charming Canadian wife Laurie cooks up great home made breakfasts as well as very good 3 course meals in the restaurant. All rooms were spacious, clean and nicely furnished and decorated with original artworks from Roger and Laurie's collection. We loved our stay there and would go back in a flash. Only regret is we didn't stay longer. No stairs, but didn't worry us at all.

Room Tip: Front rooms are spacious and look over the main (very quiet) street. Our room at the top looked over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had a wonderful set menu of 3 courses at Belle de Nuit in the beautiful old village of Oppede. Laurie is the chef and Roger looks after the diners. He is a gregarious and friendly host with lots of entertaining stories and who speaks perfect English. Each of the courses was fresh and beautifully presented. There were only 5 diners as well as ourselves and it was more like an intimate dinner party. It was a thoroughly enjoyable occasion and one which we hope to repeat when next we visit the Luberon.

Room Tip: Not appicable - only went to restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Oppede le Vieux is a great place to get away from the more touristic towns and crowds. It is small and quiet, and coming back to the village every night makes you feel like you’re part of a small group. I felt like a guest, not a tourist. There are only 40-50 people living there, and a few cats, so the place is very peaceful. It is a good base for exploring the area, we took day trips to Gordes and Roussillon, to St Remy and Le Baux, and to Menerbes, Lacoste, Lourmarim. All were within easy driving distance, we never felt that we had a long day of driving.

Belle de Nuit is an 400 year old historic house, renovated to accommodate 4 rooms and a restaurant. The rooms are simple and clean, without a TV or phone. Somehow, a TV would ruin the ambience! The pictures on the web site are good representation of what you will find. Breakfast was good and a little bit different every day, always with some fruit and bread, or pancakes. But the best part of our stay was meeting Laurie and Roger, who are great hosts and treat all their guests so well. Every morning during breakfast Roger offered tips on places to go, roads to take, and shared stories. It was always fun, I wish we could have stayed more than 3 nights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roussillon, France
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had a lovely evening this week at La Belle 2 Nuit, a dinner for eight of us. A special menu was prepared for our group and we had a great time. The restaurant is small and intimate and layered in history.

There are many great dinning choices in the Luberon but Belle 2 Nuit is now in my top five list.

One should also mention the location of Oppede le Vieux an ancient fortified village now a sleepy hamlet. On a warm springtime evening, enchanting.

Lovely food, lovely atmosphere, lovely people.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I booked for four nights at Belle Nuit last October, for a four night stay in mid-Sept 2013. Nine weeks before our trip, our nineteen year old son was critically brain injured, which required cancellation of our vacation on July 23. Other places we had booked throughout France and Italy returned our deposits due to the tragic nature of our cancellation. Be aware that Laurie is entirely inflexible, and will only reiterate that the deposit is *non-refundable* unless the room is re-booked. Her attitude was "too bad, so sad", her comment being that she was surprised our travel insurance did not cover the cost given that it was our son's injury which had necessitated cancellation. Btw, proof of our son's injury had also been forwarded, since one could easily think we had been making up an outlandish excuse for cancellation. When we *do* make this trip, I will definitely not give our business to Belle Nuit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We spent an enchanting week at Belle de Nuit during the second week of September. One may think that 7 nights is too long in one place, but it was perfect. We had a leisurely breakfast in the beautiful courtyard each day, and then headed out to discover all of the small villages of Provence. Laurie and Roger couldn't have been nicer. Both went out of their way to meet our needs, and were so kind to offer suggestions of things to do. We absolutely loved the village of Oppede le Vieux, and we felt privileged to return to it each night. We hiked up the mountain one morning and we walked around the village one night. There is so much to see in this tiny village. We were so fortunate to stay at the same time as Laurie's mother, sister, and brother-in-law. What lovely people they are! Thank you so much Laurie and Roger for our wonderful first week in France.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in July of 2012 prior to the Olympics for 4 nights. Oppede le Vieux is the most authentic medieval village I've ever visited. It is very peaceful, old, a bit magical. Be SURE to venture up the mountainside and explore the old, mainly uninhabited part of the village! Roger and Laurie were absolutely wonderful hosts. They both speak fluent English and French and were so very accomodating in every way. I got very sick with a virus the second day we stayed here and Roger was kind enough to take the time out of his very busy morning to drive us to a local pharmacy in order to translate for us. Roger and Laurie were always concerned about our needs and well-being. Belle de Nuit is a wonderful base for exploring all the gems of the Luberon. Gordes, Bonnieux, and Rousillion to name only a few - all within a 20-ish minute drive. One day we ventured to Chateaunuef de Pape - north of Avignon, which is quite different geographically from the Luberon, but it only took around 40 minutes to drive there. I would also recommend this as a day trip! In this way we were able to get a taste of that region as well as the Luberon - great variety/diversity. Marseille and Cassis are also a comfortable 1 hour to 1 hour 15 min drive. We flew in and out of Marseille. I would highly recommend eating at the B&B for at least 2-3 dinners. Laurie is a magnificent cook! I will never forget her amazing meals. Well worth the price, and Roger makes the dinner atmosphere wonderfully comfortable and special. Staying at this B&B will really make you appreciate the simplicity of the French life and countryside, and we will always correlate our memories in Provence with staying at Roger and Laurie's wonderful little B&B! Thank you for making it so special for us!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belle de Nuit Chambres d'Hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle de Nuit Chambres d'Hotes

Address: 24 route des Petitons-Minguets | Centre vieux village, 84580 O Oppede, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Luberon > Oppede
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Oppede
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Belle de Nuit Chambres d'Hotes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belle de Nuit Chambres d'Hotes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.