We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base to explore this magnificent region” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Restanques de Moustiers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Les Restanques de Moustiers to your Saves list
Les Restanques de Moustiers
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route des gorges du Verdon, 04360 Moustiers Sainte-Marie, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
south Wales
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great base to explore this magnificent region”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Very convenient location, easy to find with ample safe parking. Set on the edge of the town, access is much easier than in the town itself. Rooms are large, airy and extremely clean. We had a room at the front of the building on the ground floor. This included a small semi-private patio area, ideal for enjoying a very reasonably priced drink. The staff were, without exception, friendly
and perfectly able to converse in English when necessary, Breakfast, which we took outside, was excellent. Although no other meals were available, this was not a problem as there are a number of restaurants within a relatively short walk or drive. In particular we ate at La Treille Muscate and Ferme St Cecile, both were excellent but reservations are advisable.
There was a very inviting looking swimming pool but we didn't try it out..
Overall, a great find and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    73
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
98
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The hotel is a nice surprise. From outside it looks very simple, but the room is very big and comfortable and so is the bathroom. The location is convenient to Moustiers. The staff was very friendly and helpful with recommendations. The breakfast is nice and for a fair price of 8 euro. So in general the hotel gives a very good value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here before doing a motorcycle ride around the gorge. A lovely modern hotel with parking and fantastic staff. The rooms are large (although a little sparsely decorated) and the bathrooms are modern and clean.

-- 20-something Australian couple.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in April 2013. This modern hotel is within 5-10 minutes walk of the centre of the interesting town of Moustiers St Marie, at the start of the Gorges du Verdon. The rooms are clean and comfortable, with a very good bathroom. The hotel has somewhat of a 'motel' feel about it (cars can be parked right outside ground-floor rooms). Breakfast was in a large light room displaying some of the local ceramics. The owners recommended several local restaurants. We dined at one of them (Ferme St Cecile) and were not disappointed. We stayed at 25 hotels during our recent holiday through France and Italy, and Les Restanques de Moustiers was in the best half-dozen. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are very close to car parking - a bonus in France.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Moustiers-St. Marie is one of the most romantic and beautiful small towns in Provence. This visit was ore second one and hope that will not be the last one. The location is unique - some kilometers from the Verdon Gorge entrance, facing the lake, surrounded with vineyards, lavender, and green huge fields. The hotel is modern, well equipped. Our room facing the garden was big enough and quite. Attended by the owners, is - in comparison with the general poor French service level - enough and well intentioned. They are not specially charming, but they do fulfill any need. Breakfast was good enough also.

Room Tip: Take a garden room. Very nice to seat there when sundown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Hotel Les Restanques De Moustiers is on the outskirts of beautiful Moustiers-Sainte-Marie. The hotel is clean, rooms are large and the breakfast is good. It has a pleasant garden which looks over the rural countryside and has secure motel like parking. It's a short walk into the town centre which is really boutique village France with a great waterfall in the centre of town and a spectacular pilgrim walk to a grotto above the village. This is a great centre for visiting the Gorges du Verdon and doing lots of walking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights in October. The rooms were simple and clean and I would rate it as a perfectly acceptable 3 star. The breakfast for France was very good with fruit, cakes, yoghurt, bread, cheese and meat and juices. The reception staff were very helpful and spoke English. From this hotel it is a few minutes in a car uphill to the local village Moustier St Marie and a few minutes in the car downhill to a very good restaurant Ferme Ste Cecile which I would definitely recommend which we booked from the UK in advance. Moustier Ste Marie is a very pretty little village set almost on a cliff face - there are lovely walks around the village and a stream which comes down from the moutains above the village and cascades down cliffs through the village creating beautiful waterfalls. Above the village you can walk to a view point at the Notre Dame de Beauvoir chapel -about 25 mins walk uphill - lots of steps - but the views are amazing. The Route des Cretes - an amazing single track road on the top of the north edge of the Verdon gorge is easily reached within an hour from this hotel but the time of course depends on how many photo stops you make along the way - this gorge is also referred to as the Grand Canyon of France - easy to see why. The Lac Saint Croix is max 10 mins drive downhill and the village of St Croix is within an hour -again tourist time -but depends on photo stops.We hired a pedalo boat from a hire company based just by the bridge at the lake side down the hill from the hotel and pedalled our way through the gorge for a couple of hours. This hotel was perfect for our needs - we were out sight-seeing all day -there was lots to see and do in the area and we were only in the room to change before going out for dinner and to sleep. Scenery in this area was really amazing. The hotel staff were knowledgeable and helpful about the surrounding area. Because of good value and location we would definitely return to this hotel. Also plenty free parking and free wifi in reception area.

Room Tip: There are ground floor rooms with terraces shaded by vines and first floor rooms with views - but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Restanques de Moustiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Restanques de Moustiers

Address: Route des gorges du Verdon, 04360 Moustiers Sainte-Marie, France
Location: France > Provence > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Moustiers Sainte-Marie
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Restanques de Moustiers 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Les Restanques de Moustiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Restanques de Moustiers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.