We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the way BUT excellent BBQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Shanty Barbeque and Roadside Cafe

Red Shanty Barbeque and Roadside Cafe
2201 Highway 13, Higginsville, MO
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Higginsville
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
South San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Out of the way BUT excellent BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Portions can be split everything is big. Great deserts! If you aren't careful you'll pass this place. It's a liquor store plus restaurant. Restaurant is to the right of the inside its made from used barn wood it's very rustic. They make their own chips with 3 different seasonings. If you don't care for BBQ they have a selection of good salads.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    11
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not so special BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We went to the Red Shanty after reading a review of it in the Rural Missouri magazine. Cute place, but nothing special about the food. In fact, I much prefer Famous Dave's BBQ or Kehde's over the Red Shanty. The smoked meat didn't have much of a smoke taste and the coleslaw was pretty bland. Given the prices, the food could be better. The homemade potato chips were good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrensburg, Missouri
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“By Chance on Sunday and Monday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Wish I could rate this place accurately but we went on a Sunday when they are open only by chance. If I would have known that I would have called before making the drive from Warrensburg. I probably won't make the trip again just to eat but if I am in the neighborhood I might stop in.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayview, Missouri
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Update to previous review-Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We went back to the Red Shanty one day. We were there around 1 PM and were 1 of 2 tables at the time. Our food was served a little cooler than preferred and the potato chips were overcooked and tasted horrible.
The disappointing thing is now an automatic gratuity is included on your bill if you have a party of FIVE or more! I can understand an automatic gratuity if you have 8 in your party, but 5? That is really not cool. And for the fact we were one of 2 tables at the time, we were not taking up our server's time at all, so it was quite ridiculous. We asked our server when this started and she wouldn't give us a firm answer. Maybe she didn't know, but still, this is very frustrating.
Also-you should know if you use a credit card, you get charged a convenience fee. They will also charge you extra if you get a meal to go. This nickel and dime-ing stuff is ridiculous. We will not be coming back to the Shanty anytime soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good Fun, Funk, and Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We found this place last week, and we're going back this weekend with friends. What's that tell you? The atmosphere and desserts alone make it worth the trip. Pretty good BBQ but the menu has a LOT of offerings for a little roadside spot, so we've got to go back and try some other options, right? Just thinking about the Red Shanty makes me smile!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Shanty Barbeque and Roadside Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Red Shanty Barbeque and Roadside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Shanty Barbeque and Roadside Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.