We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for a group!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montague's Bed and Breakfast, BBQ and Philosopher's Coffeehouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermann
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Montague's Bed and Breakfast, BBQ and Philosopher's Coffeehouse
301 Schiller St., Hermann, MO 65041   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 42 Hermann B&B and Inns
Rockport, Il.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great stay for a group!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a great time at Montague's B&B! It is in an excellent location in Herman. The rooms are set up perfectly for couple's with an area to socialize in at night. Everything in Herman closes down at 5 pm! We drank our wine and visited in the sitting area. The breakfast is fabulous!! Very filling and more than enough to eat! Definately would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southwest MO
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just stayed at Montague's last weekend. $95 per night was a steal compared to other lodging in the area. Friends paid nearly $200 per night for a place that was not (overall) any better. In fact, Montagues beat the competition not only in price, but in location and breakfast. The owner (Louie) was always on-site when I needed him. He is very approachable, friendly and cooks a mean breakfast! I loved his hearty breakfasts comprised primarily of bacon, eggs, and bread in one form or another. Great start for a day of visiting wineries :)

I will admit, the stairs to the 3rd floor are steep, narrow, and winding. (I have a knee injury and had to use caution, so you might want to consider this if you have a serious physical limitation. By using caution, I was able to navigate them without incident.) Remember that this is an old building, so the floors creak a bit and are a somewhat uneven. (For example, there is an old iron provided to prop open the bathroom door if you get the attic room.) But!! This is an independent business and I feel they do their best to satisfy their customers. So, if you're spoiled and insist upon lots of extras and perfect conditions, this may not be the place for you. There are plenty of upscale bed and breakfasts to choose from, ranging from $200 all the way up to the $600 range in the Hermann area. But, if you're like me, and you're on a budget and you have the ability to enjoy the simple pleasures in life (nice people, a comfy bed, a good meal, etc.) then Montague's is the place for you :)

I did not have the privilege of eating at the BBQ restaurant on the ground floor. I do, however, know that he makes everything from scratch (from the potato salad to even the salad dressings, etc.) If his BBQ is anything like his breakfasts, then I am sure the food will satisfy most palates.

The location can't be beat: right on Schiller street in the heart of the historic downtown area. Plenty of on-street parking. Hermann is a quiet town, so I never felt the need to worry about my car overnight.

Another tip: Tin Mill brewery. Great local beer!! :) Also, The Bank. Great upscale drinks!! :)

Room Tip: I prefer the top floor (Attic room) located on the 3rd floor. It is more private than the 2nd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband and I went in October of 09, we were on the 3rd floor, the only ones on the floor at that time, they were renovating what looked to be 2 other rooms on the floor. We loved it! It was 3 flights of narrow stairs, but what would you expect? The weather was awesome, the trees were gorgeous, the people were very friendly. I wanted to move to Hermann! I even went to the Real Estate company there to see how much a B&B would cost! The wineries are great and plentiful, there is also a great park on a huge fill that overlooks the town that we had the perfect picnic on. We did not get to experience the delicious BBQ, it was sold out everyday very early! so get there fast! Making this review nearly 2 years later because we are looking to go back!

Room Tip: if you don't want to walk up 3 flights of stairs, don't book the 3rd floor:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011 via mobile

Stayed in 3rd flr room, stairs were very steep, had a paine of glass knocked out in one of the windows, bathroom was a joke, no hot water in sink, VERY small shower, uncomfortable bed, woke up w/back ache, would NOT stay here again....location and low price is only thing going for this place.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peculiar, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

It was our first trip to Hermann. We each wanted our own bed and wanted to stay where we wouldn't need a car. Montague's was an excellent choice--$95/night per room, each with its own bathroom. The rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable and rustic. The building is very old and the floors creak and the doors don't shut perfectly, but we found it charming. The breakfasts were good, and the BBQ was EXCELLENT. The hourly bell tolling can be unsettling, but that's the only downside I found. It's also one of the few places in town that carries Coke products. We took the train in from Lee's Summit, walked to the B&B, rode the trolley to all the wineries and walked everywhere else. We had a great time, and I would highly recommend this place--best value in Hermann!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. louis
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

We arrived a little after our ETA and Lewis, the owner was getting ready to call us to see where we were at- which I thougt was very considerate. The room was very warm, as it was 98 degrees outside that day & you could tell that the air conditioner (central air) had just been turned on that day. Looked at the themometer- it was 80. We headed down to the also warm restaurant for some great BBQ. Food was very good.
We stayed in the quilt room. while it was clean, the closets were filled with junk and cleaning supplies. The Bathroom had fresh towels and seemed clean. But you could not shut the door & and needed to use a door stop to do so, even then it didnt shut completly. There was a small fridge but with nothing in it, not even ice. No cups or silverware. theres a nice bottle opener if you bring back a bottle of wine, but no glasses.
I think this would be a an even better place if they would just put a tad more work into it.
all & all This is a fine place to stay if you just want a clean, comfortable & affordable place to stay. It was quiet & close to everything.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVerland Park, KS
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

Montague's was a great little bed and breakfast. The place is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Hermann. It was easy walking distance to Hermannhoff, the art galleries, and antique shops. Parking was easy to find very near to the B & B.

The place has lots of character. We statyed in the attic room, which was very large and comfortable. One of my favorite treats is that each room has its own VCR/DVD player and a supply of fairly recent movies to watch. Since most of Hermann closes early, especially on Sunday nights, it was nice to be able to stay in the room and enjoy a movie.

Breakfast was great and something different each day. Since there are only three rooms, you get to meet and become friendly with the other guests. All in all, I would definitely recommend Montague's. Beware that the place is in an old home that hasn't been restored, so there are creaky floors and wobbly stair rails. Also, the entire town is pretty noisy at night. Between trains and a church clock that tolls every hour, it was hard to sleep.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montague's Bed and Breakfast, BBQ and Philosopher's Coffeehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montague's Bed and Breakfast, BBQ and Philosopher's Coffeehouse

Address: 301 Schiller St., Hermann, MO 65041
Location: United States > Missouri > Hermann
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Hermann
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montague's Bed and Breakfast, BBQ and Philosopher's Coffeehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Montague's Bed and Breakfast, BBQ and Philosopher's Coffeehouse to your Saves list