We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermann Hill Vineyard & Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hermann Hill Vineyard & Inn to your Saves list
Hermann Hill Vineyard & Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   711 Wein Street, Hermann, MO 65041   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Earn $50 every night!
Ranked #2 of 48 Hermann B&B and Inns
Independence, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The only thing I regret is that it's taken me a year to write this review :)

Last year my husband and I snagged a Living Social deal for two nights at Hermann Hill for our anniversary. The deal was about half off the regular rate, and I said to myself "No way would I ever pay full price for this!" What can I say, I was raised to be very frugal.

Well, the entire experience exceeded my expectations, and then some.

We were treated to cheese, sausage, bread, and wine upon arrival, and given a personal welcome by Peggy, one of the inkeepers. We had chosen the Chambourcin suite, and it was a dream. A jacuzzi tub, a huge shower, our own private patio with hot tub, not to mention the comfy bed and huge TV. They also deliver cookies and ice cream to your room every night, and there was a selection of beverages available all day.

Breakfast was delicious--custom ordered, delivered to our room, eaten on the patio with mimosas in the cool morning breeze.

The inn is very accommodating--if you are a people person, there are plenty of opportunities to chat. But if you want to be left alone, you rarely have to interact with anyone. You can have breakfast in the dining room or have it delivered to your room. The inn is very private; despite the fact that they were at full occupancy, we only saw another guest once. I loved this--I'm an introvert and I don't want to make small talk with strangers on vacation.

They have two lovely dogs on the property. I'm not a dog person and usually avoid them, but these dogs were so friendly and well behaved that I actually enjoyed them!

I will say that the Chambourcin suite is right below the kitchen, and as a light sleeper, the sounds of breakfast being prepared above did wake me earlier than I would have liked. It was not a big deal, but the innkeepers might consider adding some additional soundproofing.

Anyway, the experience blew us out of the water to the extent that we are returning this year, and we are trying out the Vignoles suite this time. I can't imagine another place I would rather go for some much-needed rest, relaxation, pampering, and couple time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy and Terry H, Owner at Hermann Hill Vineyard & Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your gracious comments. Last year's Living Social deal brought us many new guests who have subsequently re booked and bought many gift certificates for their family and friends. When we built our River bluff cottages with amenities like steam showers and hot tubs in addition to our Jacuzzi tubs the guest response was overwhelmingly positive, so over the past two years we have added steam showers to all of our inn rooms. Again, this has proven extremely popular. Your choice of Vignoles for your next stay will take your Hermann Hill experience to the next level, as that room also has a very large indoor hot tub and linear fireplace in addition to a Sanijet Jacuzzi Tub and steam shower.
We look forward to your next visit and promise to continue to pay attention to the details that you and our other guests have found provide great value in a bed and breakfast experience. Again, Thanks.

Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    12
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
196
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We found Hermann Hill Inn through a web search for 'most romantic' and it was that, and more! From the moment we arrived - the inn's fire blazing, the beautiful views, the ultra-friendly staff - we knew it was just the right place for our getaway. The Vignoles room is absolutely beautiful and super-clean, with every guest friendly amenity you can think of, from binoculars to flashlights to flip-flops and big towels for the hot tub. The bed - absolutely divine. It's somewhat easy to hear from room to room, so don't go with the intention to tell any secrets over a whisper, but once you sink into the impeccable hot tub with the linear gas fireplace and feel the breeze from the open door to your private hot tub room, that just won't matter. GREAT bathroom with a huge tub-for-two and a state-of-the-art steam shower. We're going to go back with no intention of leaving the room! All this and a beautiful hillside view of a village that from the window, it truly does look like a step back in time - church steeples, river, and vineyards. I can't end without mentioning the staff one more time - each staff member was welcoming, professional, friendly, and each went out of their way to make our stay special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy and Terry H, Owner at Hermann Hill Vineyard & Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We are thrilled that you found us under "most romantic" in your web search and appreciate your wonderful comments about your stay in the Vignoles Room at our Vineyard Inn & Spa. Cleanliness is the most important responsibility accepted by our staff and three different people check each Inn Room and River Bluff cottage prior to your arrival. Regarding our staff's attitude, guests tell us that the days are over when the superficial "cruise ship happy happy mentality" was the mainstay in the hospitality industry. Instead, our staff shares a genuine passion to assure each guest's satisfaction with their Hermann Hill stay. Your comments obviously attest to our staff's efforts and we thank you very much for your encouragement.

Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

From check in to check out our experience was excellent. The cottage was equipped with all the luxuries (steam shower, see through fireplace between the living room and bedroom, wrap around sound for both tvs, dvd players in both rooms, a spacious jacuzzi, a hot tub on the porch, a gas grill, and breakfast for two days - waffles, biscuits, orange juice, and soda). There was an option tohave breakfast delivered but we did not use it. Service was professional, quick, and extremely pleasant. Dawn knew all the details of the area and the facility and was a pleasure to work with at checkin. This was not the usual bed and breakfast style of Grandma's home- it was modern, luxurious, well appointed and well worth the price.

Room Tip: Upstairs suites for the cabins, that have an excellent view of the Missouri river, for two people. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy and Terry H, Owner at Hermann Hill Vineyard & Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for posting this great description of your recent cottage stay. Before we started building our River Bluff cottages we stayed at a dozen of the most upscale properties that we could find, looking for the best amenities and designs. Our Inn guests helped us decide what were the most important amenities to include and you've listed most of them. In reading our guest's responses to our questioners and their journal entries it seems like hot tubs, gas grills, and steam showers consistently top the list. It's somewhat seasonal but an increasing number of our cottage guests are opting for breakfast delivery by our chef instead of the standard Hermann Hill breakfast fully cooked entrees stocked in your refrigerator prior to your arrival. The latter standard breakfast remain very popular with guests who leave early on their last day to make it to work. You are of course also correct about the great views from the cottages that affords a view over the Missouri River of both sunrise and sunset.
Thanks again for posting your review. Our staff also really appreciated your compliments about your check in experience.

Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I are neat freaks and this place was impeccable. Room was clean, staff was courteous, and a lot of amenities for the cost. You get cookies and breakfast every night with a welcome basket of cheese, pretzel, fruit, and bread. The basket comes with a glass of wine or beer. My husband and I needed some time away and we really felt comfortable and relaxed at the Inn. We also used the spa; it was great to be only footsteps away from our room after the hot stone massage. We are definitely returning! I recommend Hermann Hill Inn to anyone looking to add a little romance into their relationship. I also enjoyed talking to Terry (the owner) as he has a genuine interest in making sure everyone's visit is as relaxing as he can make it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy and Terry H, Owner at Hermann Hill Vineyard & Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for your kind words that summarize exactly why we are innkeepers. Whenever asked to define in a sentence what Peggy and I are trying to accomplish with Hermann Hill the simple answer is "it's all about couples." That's true whether you are a lodging guest at our Inn or River Bluff Cottages or attending a wedding at our Chapel. We're totally guest focused and are delighted to know that building our new spa is being so well received. We have great massage therapists who really care and many of our guests tell us it's the best massage they have ever had.

Since couples have such incredibly busy schedules these days and time poverty is a major concern we think it's vital to offer as much or as little as they want during their stay at our Vineyard Inn & Spa. My greatest joy as an innkeeper is living at the Inn and being able to talk to wonderful guests like you. Thanks again for your kindness.

Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I don't even know where to start; this place was amazing! We discovered Hermann Hill from a Living Social deal for a couple night stay during the winter time, and we are so glad we did! This was the first time we'd ever visited Hermann, and our experience at Hermann Hill was the icing on the cake that made the entire trip one we will never forget! There are so many little personal touches (such as a personal welcome note with your names on it outside the front door) and SO many amenities! They had delicious soup available when we checked in, offered a basket with bread, cheese, grapes, glasses of wine to be delivered to our room one of the days we were there, included a complimentary basket with a bottle of wine and port raspberry sauce in the room, and of course the homemade breakfasts were delicious! They had several choices of breakfast options and even a choice where to eat them (the dining room, the kitchen with a picturesque view over the vineyard and Hermann, or even delivered to your room). Every night, the owner Terry would bring freshly baked cookies (large heart-shaped, much bigger than we thought when they said 'cookie') with ice creamed topped with their delicious port raspberry sauce. It was heavenly, and we had different flavored cookies each night we were there. Our room (in the basement) had a great fireplace (a very nice, well used feature for our wintertime stay), jacuzzi, and steam shower. Even though we were on the lower level (Vidal room), we could walk out and practically touch the vines of the vineyard (even though they were bear in the winter), and the view was still great! The B&B sits up on a hill overlooking all of Hermann, so you get a great view no matter which suite you stay in. We will definitely be staying here again in the future but will probably plan for a warmer trip so we can fully enjoy the blooming foliage. Thank you for a wonderful 5th Anniversary trip!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy and Terry H, Owner at Hermann Hill Vineyard & Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thanks for spending your 5th Anniversary with us in the Vidal Room at the Inn. You are correct that because we built the Inn on a high hill on the western edge of Hermann all rooms have great views of the town to the east including amazing sunrises. Offering six different breakfast entrees daily has been a huge hit with our guests over the years along with the welcome tray. This is the first year we tried complimentary soup and bread during the winter months and again it was very well received. At the Inn we had the soup available in the kitchen from about 11:00 AM to 6:00 PM. We also added crock pots in all of our River Bluff Cottages so we could have the soup ready for those guests when they arrive. We look forward to your next stay and again thank you for posting your great comments on Trip Adviser.

Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas city
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We returned to Hermann Hill for a one night mini vacation.
Our June experience was so delightful that we returned in February and will again,
with a large group, in May.
We arrived in a snowstorm and the Inn resembled a Christmas card.
In addition to the traditional welcoming tray of warm bread , wine, fruit and cheese, we were offered hot soup from the crock pot in the kitchen.
Which was perfect for a chilly winter's evening.
Everything I wrote about our June stay still stands.
We were in the Seyval Suite this time and the hot tub was so appreciated after a cold day.
If I had to add anything to my last review , it's that Hermann Hill does not skimp.
Everything is First Class.
They go out of their way , from check in to departure , to make your stay a Five Star visit.
The rooms are immaculate and every need is anticipated.
The staff is gracious and welcoming, without being overly intrusive.
That aspect sets Hermann Hill apart from the usual B and B.
The staff understands that guests often need to just " be " , to recover and rejuvenate from
the stresses of everyday life.
The in room breakfast delivery sets the Inn apart from other B and Bs.
In addition to the nightly ice cream and cookies !!
It's such a treat to have the option of a quiet breakfast in your room .
I have to add a caution to the ladies who visit here.
Your husband or special someone may become in awe of the spotless mirrors that adorn the bathrooms.
The Seyval bathroom had a couple of pristine mirrors, including a huge one over the jetted tub.
My husband was fascinated by how the housekeeping staff managed to make all the mirrors appear as if they were brand new.
Truthfully, so was I.
I do not know what cleaning products they use or how they can clean such large mirrors, but, they were all amazingly spotless.
The new Spa Room is open and we will use this next time.
The only negative note to our trip was learning of the passing of the one of the Inn's beloved chocolate Labradors.
Sweet Clark succumbed to a chronic illness and she was obviously missed by the staff and returning guests.
Tail wagging Lewis , though , was in fine form, a friendly Ambassador for the Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy and Terry H, General Manager at Hermann Hill Vineyard & Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
We shared your response with all of our housekeepers and can assure you that they really appreciated your specific compliments about our passion for cleanliness and sparkling mirrors! The complimentary crock pot of hot soup in the Inn's kitchen has been very well received by our guests during the winter months and we plan to continue it next year.
The Seyval suite has received the most renovation of all of our Inn rooms and now boasts a new Sanijet Jacuzzi Tub, steam shower, indoor hot tub, huge infrared sauna, and outdoor fire table.
You can be assured that Lewis will still be making his rounds to your patio and serving at Hermann Hill's main ambassador. Thanks again for your wonderful post.

Leslie,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Hermannhill was a very nice experience. The staff did go above and beyond expectation, we really had a nice time. Food was really more than I expected, I am not a good sleeper and was concerned about other guests, train noise, etc. but slept well. The steam shower was wonderful, I was wanting a hot tub, but now I am addicted to the steam shower. My husband is a cigar smoker and would have enjoyed staying in the room and being able to smoke out on the patio, but we had to go for a drive so he could have a smoke in order to comply with policies. I completely understand the liability and aesthetic issues, but he preferred our recent Big Cedar experience for that reason only, so he could go outside to smoke on the deck at Table Rock Lake. I would definitely go back again in the spring or summer to enjoy the walks, trails, and outdoors to a greater advantage.Overall I was very pleased with our time in Hermann.

Room Tip: I was interested in a hot tub room but got one with a jacuzzi and steam shower, this was a great cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hermann Hill Vineyard & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermann Hill Vineyard & Inn

Address: 711 Wein Street, Hermann, MO 65041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Hermann
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Hermann
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hermann Hill Vineyard & Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Hermann's premium lodging with two unique properties. Hermann Hill Vineyard and Inn offers an upscale bed and breakfast experience. The cottages at Hermann Hill Village include individual hot tubs, six foot round jacuzzi tubs, steam showers, gas grills, and two fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hermann Hill Vineyard & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermann Hill Hotel Hermann
Hermann Hill Vineyard And Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermann Hill Vineyard & Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.