We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite winery in Hermann!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adam Puchta & Son Winery

Adam Puchta & Son Winery
Hwy. 19, Hermann, MO
573 486-5596
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 Attractions in Hermann
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Adam Puchta Winery, located off Hwy. 100 on the banks of Frene Creek about 2.5 miles southwest of Hermann, is the oldest family farm winery in Missouri. Its true uniqueness, however, lies in the fact that the same family has continuously owned it since 1855. We are a true farm winery with a peaceful, laidback setting. Many cats live here, and the property has picnic tables on a lovely shaded hillside so you can sit, visit and relax.Tastings are done in a cool old barn where we pair wine with food for a truly enhanced experience.
Blue Springs, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Favorite winery in Hermann!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Love this place, been our favorite winery visit in Hermann for a while now! $5 for the wine tasting. This time, we stayed on the property (house rental). Well worth the money!! It was beautiful and roomy! The family & other workers are wonderful & informative. Had a great time celebrating my niece's 21st birthday!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    40
    21
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We are glad we visited and did not mind having to pay to taste, but in the end we neither stayed very long nor bought anything (we bought wine at three other wineries this weekend.. nothing here). There was nothing wrong with the setting or the wine or the service.. It just didn't grab my attention or interest.

But with the large number of people you get, why did you not have real bathrooms? Going into a port-a-potty on a hot day is stupid and hearing that the staff get real backrooms annoyed me. Fix that, please!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Festus, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Better than Stone Hill but still not that great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Wine tasting experience was really good. They paired most of their wines with food which was really nice. The outdoor area and atmosphere was ok but not great. There were a lot of cats roaming around like other reviews had said but they were not bothersome or an issue.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamPuchtaWinery, Public Relations Manager at Adam Puchta & Son Winery, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your visit. We hope you come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Wine ok, but overall not what the townsfolk made it out to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were told by several people in town that the best wine and tour experience to be had was at Adam Puchta's, but we really like the background on the grapes, the region, the appelation, the year differences, etc. They offer none of that, and don't even differentiate by vintage/year. They pour a lot of samples, but we like more detail on the wines, I guess. We did end up buying a few, so the wine was ok, but I ended up feeling I could have had a similar tasting experience if they were lined up sampling at Sam's Club.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen O, Manager at Adam Puchta & Son Winery, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us. We appreciate our customers comments and are always striving to do better. Our staff is trained on all of our award-winning wines, history and grapes. I'm sorry if our associate disapointed. We hope that the next time you visit Hermann you stop by again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointed visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We do an annual wine & golf weekend and usually finish at Adam Puchta. We were disappointed to now see that they, as well as several other wineries, have started charging for tasting. In year's past we have purchased a case of wine, but this year we only bought a port. I understand that these wineries get inundated with people who bounce from winery to winery taking the free samples and may only buy a bottle to drink on premises, but maybe if you buy so many bottles at the winery then they refund your money that you paid for tasting.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen O, Manager at Adam Puchta & Son Winery, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We are sorry you were disappointed in your visit to our winery. We feel the $5 tasting fee is appropriate since you can try 14 wines with half of the wine samples paired with a specialty cracker or cookie. We feel we offer a tasting experiece rather than just a sampling of wines. We also offer a 10% discount on a single bottle with the purchase of your tasting. We hope you come back for a visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adam Puchta & Son Winery also viewed

 

Been to Adam Puchta & Son Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adam Puchta & Son Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.