We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so much...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vintage Restaurant

Vintage Restaurant
1110 Stone Hill Hwy, 1110 Stone Hill Highway, Hermann, MO
1-573-486-3479.
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 26 Restaurants in Hermann
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Vintage Restaurant was restored in 1979 from Stone Hill's original carriage house and horse barn.
Olathe, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not so much...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We had dinner at Vintage Restaurant on 11/23/2011 and were terribly disappointed. I think this was a byproduct of the Oktoberfest craziness. The food came out SCARY FAST making me think it was all pre-plated. The entire meal was lukewarm and the rice undercooked. The chicken was rubbery and bland. The potato pancake and apple sauce were good as a side dish but the rest was not good. We had heard rave reviews about the place from all the locals so I would be willing to try it again if we came outside of a festival weekend. Another couple staying at our B&B said their meal was ok…nothing to brag about but not bad. I believe they had the Sampler and the Pork.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    71
    37
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, OK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sad and tired staff and menu”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We dined at the Vintage Restaurant (inside the Stone Hill Winery) in Hermann, MO late (last seating) on 9 Oct 2011. I'm not sure whether they were using a limited menu due to the larger then normal crowds brought by Octoberfest or their menu is always pretty limited. Either way, there were not many choices (one beef entree, one pork entree, etc.). While our food was not bad in any respect, not one dish was in any way remarkable. The staff performed their jobs acceptably, but without the slightest signs of affection for their work or guests. Imagine the zombie workers of "1984" and you get the picture. The uniforms and decor look like they were last updated decades ago. Nothing was wrong, but I wish we'd tried the Black Walnut Bistro restaurant in downtown Hermann instead. We only looked in the windows of it, but it looked like they're trying to bring some new cuisine to Hermann.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Good Food in a Nice Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

The food is pretty good and so is the service. The setting is quaint. This is where I usually eat when I am in Hermann.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Ridge, Missouri
1 review
“Good Service, Average Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

If you're looking for knock-your-socks-off dining, this isn't going to work. But if you're looking for a decent meal in a charming setting, I think you'll find Vintage just fine. Although the dining room was fairly full, we were seated almost immediately, and our server came to take our orders soon after. We needed a little extra time, and our server was happy to check in a couple of times to see if we were ready. I ordered the Sweinnhaxe, and my wife ordered Schnitzel. Our salads were standard.
The spatzel, which we both selected as one of two sides with our main course, was a bit flavorless and wetter than I like. My wife got the red cabbage; it was a bit milder than usual, although I thought it was okay. My German potato salad was just the right combination of sweet overcoming sour.
My Sweinnhaxe was huge--a full hock of pork--and it was somewhat overcooked. I ate as much as I could, but the meat was a little dry for my taste. My wife's schnitzel was also somewhat dry and under-seasoned. She did like the German sauce that came with it.
Overall, the atmosphere was nice; the restaurant looked as if it might have been a barn once. The decor was fine, and our server was attentive the entire time. We didn't dislike anything, but we might or might not come again in the future.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not bad, I'm just not a fan of true German food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

There wasn't much on the menu for people that don't enjoy true German food. Not a bad place, just don't like that kind of food.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vintage Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Vintage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vintage Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.