We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenhorn Gasthaus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermann
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alpenhorn Gasthaus
Save
You added Alpenhorn Gasthaus to your Saves list
179 East Highway 100, PO Box 285, Hermann, MO 65041   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Stuff
Ranked #2 of 48 Hermann B&B and Inns
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This B&B is a beautiful old property set in the hills just outside of Hermann, MO. It's an old brick house in a pastoral setting, with sheep and chickens on the property. There is a nice hot tub in back, and if you stay in one of the two guesthouses, it's right outside your door! My wife and I stayed in the larger of the two guesthouses, and it was just right for us - cozy and private. Adrian and Kate are wonderful hosts, and Kate is an amazing chef! Not only was was breakfast wonderful, but the four-course dinner she made was fantastic! I'm sure there are other nice B&B's in Hermann, but we had such a good experience at this one that it will be our first choice next time!

Room Tip: There are two guest houses in the back of the main house, in addition to rooms in the main house. E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
181
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Alpenhorn Gasthuas has been the best B&B experience to date. It is in a beautiful setting, just a mile from Hermann, and the food was incredible.

Each morning, breakfast was delectable. Thick rich French toast with maple butter, or creamed eggs benedict, or and egg, ham, and cheese cup. Sides included homemade smoothies, fruit and fresh squeezed orange juice, and endless coffee. I saw the earlier review that said the portions were small...? This I don't understand...all of our meals were wonderful and rich; we were set for the day. And if, for some reason you are still hungry, just ask for a little more. Tables are arranged for 2's and 4's, so couples have their own private table.

We were lucky enough to be there for the four course dinner, which again, was incredible. Kate is a talented chef and Adrian was a wonderful server. Dinner items are subject to change but this is what we had. The dining room was candlelit. We chose our wine, then the appetizers began (havarti stuffed jalapenos wrapped in bacon), a salad, the main course (salmon or pork loin) and for dessert, a rich, chocolate raspberry tart. This dinner rivals the "high end" restaurants that I've been to in the Va/DC area.

We stayed in Das Landhaus, the farm cottage. It's one room with a small couch/sitting area, queen bed, one full bath, and comfy robes. There are farm animals on the property, so be prepared to say good morning to the sheep, hens, and barn cats. A wonderful place and we'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrensburg, Missouri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

So we stayed just a few days ago for a romantic getaway and it was A-M-A-Z-I-N-G. From the time we arrived and got a full tour of the house and grounds from Adrian, one of the owners, to the very sad time when we had to leave, everything was wonderful. The common area had books, board games, a guitar, and a coffee/hot chocolate stand. The dining room came equipped with a nice selection of beer and wine (just grab a bottle and they add it to your tab), along with wine glasses, corkscrews, etc.

There's a hot tub outside, and you can sign up for a 1-hour "shift" so you can get the tub all to yourself.

There are no TVs (which was nice for a change), but they do have complimentary Wi-Fi and stereos in the room, along with a nice variety of CDs on the second floor landing.

We did the Wine Cellar experience and had a wonderful time. We got to sample 4 types of port and finish off with a glass of our favorite, and were served a tray of chocolate-dipped strawberries and mini chocolate cupcakes. There was another couple with us, but it was still intimate and nice. The best part of the experience was Adrian's knowledge of the ports, as well as the stories he told about how he and his wife started the Alpenhorn.

Breakfast was amazing. We had banana-nut pancakes with maple butters, fruit on the side, berry smoothies, and cheese cup omelets.

I would like to note that the "Terrible" review is somewhat misleading; while the pancakes were not huge, they were very filling. And Adrian stopped by all the tables through the breakfast, asking if we would like an additional serving of anything (which my husband gladly took him up on). We also never had to get our own coffee, water, or food during the breakfast hour.

We are already booked to return in October; the best part would have to be the attention to detail (music, wine glasses, robes and slippers for the hot tub) and the kindness of our host. Unfortunately we didn't get to meet his wife, Kate, but hopefully we will the next time around! Highly recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway!

Room Tip: The King's Room was really nice, had a very large bed, electric fireplace, and 2 comfy chairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardner, Kansas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My Fiance and I travel quite a lot and stay in many hotels and B&Bs. This place is by far one of our top three, if not number 1. We and I truly enjoyed staying in the Das Klein Haus on the property. It was such a comfortable and peaceful stay. We enjoyed the "fire" and the ambiance of the room. The hot tub was a nice retreat at night and we loved looking at the amazing stars that you don't get to see in the city. They even provided robes and flip flops for us to use! Kate and Adrian were wonderful hosts. The breakfast each morning was incredible! You can tell they truly love what they do. We also opted to do the Port and chocolate tasting in the beautiful wine cellar and enjoyed it! Adrian is a great conversationalist and knows his Port. Overall, the attention to detail, the peaceful rest, delicious breakfast, and friendly hosts will definitely bring us back again and again.

Room Tip: The Das Klein Haus is cozy, but the bed is a full. We were concerned at first, but actually enjoyed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here to go to a wedding next door. We stayed in the king's room. Our room was spacious and comfortable, though a little chilly! The estate is beautiful and the owner was very friendly. We really enjoyed ourselves and the breakfast was outstanding.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My fiance and I stayed one night in the larger Landhaus cabin/cottage. The grounds of the B&B were very picturesque, removed a bit from the highway, and provided a relaxing atmosphere. The sheep and chickens onsite added a nice touch. The found the positive reviews regarding the food to be spot-on. While we didn't eat dinner at the Alpenhorn, we did enjoy a wonderful breakfast in the main dinining area (one large table and two smaller tables for couples) complete with a delicious warm apple cider. The night prior, we enjoyed a port & chocolate tasting in the location's own wine cellar lit romantically with (mostly electric) candles. Adrian was a gracious host and entertained us with some of the history of the B&B, personal stories, and explanations of the port we sampled.

There were only two minor issues that I would consider for improvement. First, the hot-water situation (at least in our Landhaus) was not ideal. It took about 10 minutes of running the water for it to heat up. Granted, this was in late December and was a cold day and it was only a minor incovenience. The other minor issue was the door to the bathroom. I'm not a fan of slatted saloon-type doors separating a the main living area and the bathroom - just not quite enough privacy in my opinion. An actual solid door would have been preferable.

Regardless, I would not hesitate a bit to return to the Alpenhorn Gasthaus for a wonderful B&B stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We went here on our one year anniversary, and we might go here every year. The food is delicious, the amenities are so great! Hottub right outside the room, winecellar you can drink in if you want, they even have sheep in the back! The view out the front looks like hills in europe, this place is so neat! We took a cab for just $10 a way to any winery from this location so it was very convenient and easy to get around. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpenhorn Gasthaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhorn Gasthaus

Address: 179 East Highway 100, PO Box 285, Hermann, MO 65041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Hermann
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Hermann
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Missouri Wine Country, discover this romantic retreat in Hermann Missouri. Nestled on a hilltop, two minutes from antique shops, art galleries and wineries. Enjoy European hospitality, gourmet cooking, farm animals, gardens, Swiss chocolates. Perfect for that special occasion getaway. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpenhorn Gasthaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.