We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice comfortable Bed and Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Birk's Gasthaus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Birk's Gasthaus to your Saves list
Birk's Gasthaus
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   700 Goethe St., Hermann, MO 65041   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 51 Hermann B&B and Inns
Berrien Springs, MI
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A nice comfortable Bed and Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I need to start this review by saying I had never stayed before at a bed and breakfast so this was definitely on my bucket list! We really enjoyed our 1 night stay! The room was very comfortable and clean, the common areas very nice and convenient and the breakfast was fabulous!!! I could have not asked for a better first experience. The innkeeper was kind, courteous and fun to talk with. Definitely recommend Birk's Gausthaus and based on our stay will consider staying in other bed and breakfast accomodations in the future and again at Birk's if visiting the Hermann area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
23
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Beautiful home with charming rooms. The game room was fun. Breakfast was great. The pastry was delicious! Richard was a wonderful host and we had a great chat over breakfast. We only had one night to get away, but we could have stayed longer in this wonderful B&B!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia MO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The property is in need of repair in the common areas.
Our room was comfortable and clean. I believe it's under new ownership.
It was very expensive, 175.00, and we expected it to be in better condition.
The Breakfast was good but very limited and small portions.
We will try a difference B&B the next time we visit Hermann.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Beautiful old mansion, "in town." The owner, Richard, is delightful, kind and extremely helpful. We were in town for a bachelorette party and he was very accomodating. There were 20 of us total, several of the ladies drove into town early and he accomodated them in preparing our lunch prior to the large group's arrival. His breakfasts were wonderful, and he is a very thoughtful man. I only ate half of my breakfast the second day, as it was a lot of food and very filling. He thought perhaps I didn't like it and offered to cook me something else! The building is under rennovation, but the potential is definitely there. We were not overly concerned as we spent most of our time at the wineries. There is a large living space and dining area which are wonderful for larger groups to congregate. There is a small kitchen where we were able to prepare lunch for everyone, which is nice when you are trying to be financially conservative. The veranda porch was also lovely to sit on and conversate or read and relax. He made multiple trips to the train station for our party, two days in a row. The trolley is awesome and pick-up and drop-off are literally curb side.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Charming old mansion. The owner was very generous and accomodating. He provided excellent advice about the area. I'm on a restrictive allergy diet and he really wanted to make a suitable breakfast for me and it was great.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary, and it was so nice! Richard was great, very informative and helpful with things to do and how to get around. Breakfast was fantastic both mornings and the location is good as well. We very much enjoyed ourselves!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Spent one night at Birk's Gasthaus on 9/29/2012. Lovely, charming place. Our room was gorgeous. Our host, Richard, was very accommodating and served one of the best meals I've ever had at at bed and breakfast. The house is lovely, completely charming, and we felt very much at home. I would thoroughly recommend Birk's Gasthaus. Great location, too, within walking distance of Stone Hill Windery.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a shower and a tub. Our room was on the second floor, and we preferred that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Birk's Gasthaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birk's Gasthaus

Address: 700 Goethe St., Hermann, MO 65041
Location: United States > Missouri > Hermann
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Hermann
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Birk's Gasthaus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birk's Gasthaus is a mansion completed in 1886 for Mr. Herzog. It is furnished in a variety of antiques including brass beds, claw foot tubs and furniture. The mansion is once again used to entertain guests. The B&B has nine rooms, seven with private baths, and serves a full breakfast. Heat and air conditioning are provided by central units. Hospitality and warmth are provided by Dianne and Rick. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Birk's Gasthaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birk's Gasthaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.