We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing winery in such a beautiful area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Hill Winery

Stone Hill Winery
Hermann, MO
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Hermann
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Wine tasting
Attraction details
Brookville, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing winery in such a beautiful area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Drove here while on a visit to St. Louis.....it we well worth the drive. This is an an amazing place!!! The tour was wonderful, the tasting room was fun fun fun...and our host was awesome. Had a great time shopping, and the staff was helpful answering questions about the area and the history. I think I must have taken 100 pictures...LOL...I would love to go back and visit again. I would also like to plan on spending some time in the quaint little town of Hermann...it was really interesting.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    97
    20
    14
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Robert, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Samples!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Great tour and at the end the sample room was great with a very generous guide (for the wine tasting that is)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great wine and interesting tour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very pretty setting and some nice wines. Take the tour to learn about the area steep wine history that pre-dates Napa and Sonoma.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview Heights, Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Okay wine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our "tour guide" acted as though she were a last minute substitution and could not answer many of our questions. We tasted many wines and the man who was pouring, was very entertaining. I preferred the wines we tasted at the Hermanhof Winery to Stone Hill. The Hermanhof wines were much smoother. Plus, the man pouring the wine at Hermanhof was much more of a storyteller and twice as entertaning. Go to Hermanhof first for better wine. The tour and tasting at Stone Hill is $2.50; it's $4.00 at Hermanhof-but much taster.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wine Tasteing Room Poor Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have been to Stone Hill many times in the past 30 years. But over the last 3 years the service in the Wine tasteing rooms have been far below standard. The last 3 times I have been there, my wife and I waited in the tasteing room for more than 5 mins without even a greeting from those behind the counter. Not even a hello or just a moment sir I will be with you in a min. In fact one time there were only 4 other people in the room and the idiot behind the counter kept flirting with the young customers without a word to us. I was so angry we both left. That happened more than one time. One the positive side, they do have good wine with a very nice view of the town. If they would just train some employees in the fine art of being polite with better customer service.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Hill Winery also viewed

 

Been to Stone Hill Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Hill Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.