We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vinchester Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermann
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vinchester Inn
129 E 3rd Street, Hermann, MO 65041   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 42 Hermann B&B and Inns
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I was lucky enough to visit the Vinchester over Memorial Day weekend. The owner Rick took the time to make us feel comfortable, make sure we knew where to go, and was one of the more friendly property managers I have ever come across. Great place, fantastic location, and even better hospitality! Would definetly recommend to anyone (family, couples,, friends) heading to Hermann for the winieries and will be staying here again when I come back. Top Notch!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a nice find this was. Was able to reserve several rooms for our bachlorette weekend getaway. Rick the innkeeper was wonderful- easy to reserve, was willing to let us check in early to drop things off, and was understanding when we came much later instead (wineries first). Rooms were comfortable and clean. One had a cute balcony. Ample parking in back via the Hollyhock alley. A few blocks from Hermannhof, train station, restaurants, local bars, etc. Easy walk there and back. Last but definitely not least- very affordable. Decor was not overdone or "quaint" but it was a wonderful room for people like us who were spending most of our time out and about. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 9, 10, 11 near each other at the corner of the building. For our purposes we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedalia, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Vinchester Inn is a very affordable way to visit Hermann. If you are wanting a clean basic room and do not plan on spending a lot of time in your room this Inn will fit your needs. It is very close to many attractions and only a couple blocks from the train station. Rick the Inn Keeper was great to deal with while booking the room and let us drop our stuff off before check in so we could head out to the wineries. On the down side there was only coffee in the morning and no sign of the Inn Keeper.

Room Tip: Room 1 is the only room with a queen bed. The rest of the rooms have two double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florissant, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We went to Hermann to tour the rectory at the Catholic church, and the wine and cheese trail. The Vinchester is very close to most of the places we wanted to visit. The price is very good. Rick is great to deal with, and the room was clean and quiet. When in Hermann, eat at Lyndees for breakfast, and Simon's for dinner.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the hall, on the top floor, are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

This wAs our third year at the Vinchester. The owner is very accommodating and helpful to get you around the area. We had some difficulty with noisy neighbors this year, but other than that,it was another great stay. The location is excellent and you are within walking distance of all the fall activities. We plan to return next year.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange City, Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was a very reasonably priced motel room (not really a bed & breakfast). The owner was very nice and very helpful in recommending restaurants & area attractions. It doesn't really serve breakfast, but the owner suggested a very good restaurant nearby that was very reasonable. The rooms are basic & clean, but you will probably have to climb steps. The location is great - walking distance to many shops & restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This Inn is more like a motel - so no quaint charm or high-end spa services. But its price is about half that of the B & Bs on the same quiet street - great if you want to save some money and spend it in the wineries and restaurants. Our room was a good size, very clean, with all the basic necessities - 2 beds, table, mini fridge, microwave, tub/shower, small TV. Some rooms have balconies (ask). Small breakfast of juice, coffee, pastries and granola bars. The innkeeper is friendly and very helpful.

Prime location - a bike rental place for the Katy Trail is 1/2 block away, and you're within walking distance of most restaurants, bars and shops. It's on a nice residential street with old buildings all around.

Tip: The Inn has a nice parking lot behind it with access through the alley between 2nd and 3rd Streets. But enter it via Schiller St (and not Market St) if you have a low-clearance car like mine and don't want to scrape the bottom.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vinchester Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinchester Inn

Address: 129 E 3rd Street, Hermann, MO 65041
Location: United States > Missouri > Hermann
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Hermann
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest hotel in Hermann, built in 1995 in the Historic district. Each room includes a small refrigerator, microwave, cable TV, telephone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vinchester Hotel Hermann

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vinchester Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Vinchester Inn to your Saves list