We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal
4000 Market St., Hannibal, MO 63401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Hannibal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice for Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last night as we needed to make a stop between Nashville, TN and Pierre, SD. The price was great. My husband asked about local Chinese restaurants and we were directed to a quaint Chinese buffet in town. The front desk guy was very helpful in that regard.

The room was clean and spacious. The only thing was that we could hear the gentleman next to us coughing a few times. But it didn't keep us up.

The free breakfast was adequate. However, there were a lot of people. They do need a little more space for everyone to eat downstairs.

Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out the review, we appreciate the feedback, it helps us know where we need to improve. In the near future we will be opening up our new meeting room, when this is complete we will be extending the breakfast bar area. So please try us again in the future, to see all the new improvments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    33
    29
    13
    4
See reviews for
38
30
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I traveled here for work in August and September 2013. This review combines my experience of the two trips.

This is a clean, comfortable, and quiet location. I feel that I it was worth the amount I paid for it and it offered the most important thing for me - a good night's sleep. However, let me add more for your consideration.

Pros

The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. I can't emphasize this enough; they were really quite helpful and friendly.

The beds were comfortable and the rooms very functional. I didn't feel like I was at a restort per se, but didn't feel like I was being forced at a motel, either.

The coffee, microwave, and fridge were nice to have.

The free, continental breakfast was fairly good and well stocked.

Cons

The location doesn't offer much closeby for dinner or other items.....it's pretty much isolated. Though, there IS a Dollar General within walking distance.

Not many outlets to use, at least conveniently.

The hotel is RIGHT up against a neighborhood. There were a couple times some neighbors thought it necessary to blare their tunes out of their apparently expensive car sound systems. I, however, didn't much appreciate it much as it was happening after midnight.

One of my co-workers was required to stay in a smoking room as there were no more non smoking rooms available. Gross, right? The staff DID give him Fabreeze, but still......

The code for the internet (which is free, add that to the pro area) has to change almost everyday. Apparenlty, the neighborhood peeps get the code somehow so this is how the hotel handles it. I DO appreciate that so my experience is not SLOW......but it is a bit of a hassle when you try to log on to work at 3am and can't find the new code. Just a heads up, get it each time you come back for the day/night.

Overall, I will stay here again and the Pros outweigh the Cons.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the hotel, away from the neighborhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out the review. We appreciate the feedback, they always help to improve the guest experience. We apologize for any inconvience the password changed caused you, it changes twice a week Mondays and Thursdays. Just wanted to let you know so it won't inconvience you the next time you stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future, and will be awaiting your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

An exceptional Holiday Inn experience because of the quality of the staff at this location.

The rooms are standard, Holiday Inn high quality so are completely comfortable.

Staff is exceptional from warm greeting to the delivery of perfect services.

Definitely a return visit down the road just to enjoy the fine people of Hannibal, Missouri.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter what room you take because the staff at this location will make you welcome an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel staff and hotel. We strive for customer service and are so happy you noticed how much that means to our hotel. We will be waiting for your arrival when you return to see us here in Hannibal, Mo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Charles
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We hadn't stayed at a Holiday Inn in years since I am a platinum member of another hotel chain. We especially liked the staff at this hotel. They were enthusiastic about the festival in town and the restaurant they recommended for dinner. Our room was clean. Breakfast was very good. We would stay here again if we are in Hannibal.

Room Tip: We had a suite since we did not reserve the room far enough in advance to get any other room for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your friendly comments about our hotel and our staff. We hope to see you in the future again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Very impressed upon entering the hotel. The man working the front desk that day was the nicest most helpful man, wish I could remember his name, but he was a bigger man. For some reason I was upgraded to a King Room Suite non smoking which was fine, but I had wanted one on the ground floor, but ended up on the 3rd floor, very small elevator!! (could of had the ground floor, but no refrigerator, which I wanted) I was asked to join the rewards club and would get X amount off each night if I did, foolish not too!! Our room was nice and big, but the bathroom was on the small side, although the lighting in the bathroom was the best we have had, one could actually see to put makeup on and for hubby to shave with ease!!
The big drawback, no restaurants nearby. The clerk suggested Drakes, which was hard to find, we had to stop and ask.
One time when we came back to our room the smell of cigarette smoke was extremely strong as we got off the elevator, I noticed a couple rooms near the elevator were smoking rooms. I am allergic to smoke, so this was quite uncomfortable for me, as the smell went all the way down the hall. I think the smoking rooms should all be in one area away from the elevators. Don't know how many this hotel has. I don't know if all Express Inns allow smoking, if so I probably won't stay in one again just for that fact.
The noise of the highway was annoying, and the best part is I had my noise machine running. Even though the hotel isn't right next to the highway, you still can hear it.
I don't know why but on our second day when we got back to our room, our room keys would not work, so I had to make a special trip down to the front desk, a different clerk was on duty, and he wasn't as friendly as the first man. Just saying!
The first morning we got to the breakfast room after 8, and could not find a place to sit, as there are not enough tables in there at all, the room is rather small, you access the pool and fitness room via the breakfast room!! A nice couple hurried and finished their breakfast, so we could get their table.
We thought they had a very good breakfast selection and there was a woman making sure everything was filled. The second morning we got down there at 7 and we had our choice this time where to sit!!
Oh yes, one evening after returning from supper, there was a plate of the most delicious warm cookies sitting on the front desk!
I am giving an average for sleep quality as of the noise from the highway!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the back side, won't be as noisy as the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond to this review. We thank you for your kind comments about our staff. We would also like to let you know that most Holiday Inn's all have total non-smoking floors, including here in Hannibal. If you ever try to stay with us again just let us know and we will be glad to place you on that floor so it does not bother your allergies.
We are currently working to improve our breakfast bar seating, by this time next year all work will be complete. Thanks again and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Frances, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Hotel is in the middle of no where. Nothing around it for food, walking etc. Our room was warm and when we tried to open the window flies came into the room in abundance. They were between the glass and the screen. The heater/AC was noisy. Walls are paper thin and we could hear a lot of "sounds" from the room next door that we would rather not have heard! On top of everything else the smell of cigarette smoke in the room and in the halls is disgusting. This hotel is certainly not the typical HIE and we are not sure how it qualified to get the name. On a positive note the room was clean and the beds comfortable.

Room Tip: Not sure how you would choose a good room here. Do not open your windows in the fall and if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for responding to the review we are sad to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We apologize for the inconvience, and hope you will try us again in the future. We are currently taking steps to improve our hotel, and are striving to become a great hotel guest can love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrensburg, Missouri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Even though I was traveling on a discounted rate for work the hotel still gave me a very nice king room on the third floor that was nicely decorated and furnished. The front desk staff seemed like they were still doing some training, but they were very good about communicating with me as I was checking in and working to get everything done as quickly as possible.

While I didn't have a chance to fully enjoy breakfast because I was rushing out, the breakfast area looked very nice and clean, and the separate room they had set aside for the business center was a plus.

I'm returning in November, and I will definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: This hotel is set back a little from the main road. Even though I was on the front of the hotel I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for the friendly comments about our facility. We are pleased to hear you will be staying with us again in the future. We hope to continue to be a hotel you are pleased to stay with, and will be awaiting your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal

Address: 4000 Market St., Hannibal, MO 63401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Hannibal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Hannibal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites located near Highway 61 in America's Hometown, Hannibal, Missouri. Conveniently located near General Mills, Buckhorn, Enduro, and all other factories located in industrial area. We feature 74 rooms, including 16 kitchenette suites, and 4 Jacuzzi suites. The Holiday Inn Express also offers a heated indoor swimming pool, hot tub, fitness center, laundry facility, business center, free wireless high-speed Internet in all rooms, meeting room, and free extended Continental breakfast. We also offer the in room amenities as follows, hair dryers, iron with a full size board, coffee pots in every room, and free HBO and Cinemax. There are many restaurants, and shopping areas located near the Holiday Inn Express. We are also only located about 3 miles from the historic downtown area. The downtown area includes the Mark Twain Home, Museum, and other Mark Twain attractions. Hannibal also has a spot the kids would enjoy called Sawyer s Creek, which is located right across the street from the Mark Twain Cave, and Cameron Cave. Our friendly staff is here 24 hours a day to welcome you to Mark Twain's Hometown, and to our hotel the Holiday Inn Express Hannibal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Hannibal
Holiday Inn Hannibal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.