We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cool on a hot summer day!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mark Twain Cave and Cameron Cave

Mark Twain Cave and Cameron Cave
300 Cave Hollow Road, Hannibal, MO 63401
+1 573-221-1656
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 21 things to do in Hannibal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice and cool on a hot summer day!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Interesting caveren but not as neat as others with formations and those type things. The history of Mark Twain Cave makes it more interesting. The constant 52 degrees was neat. The tour was an hour which makes you feel like your getting your monies worth. Then we went to the winery to top our tour off.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    70
    15
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“TOM SAWYERS CAVE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The cave tour is pretty bland, the cave is pretty boring as caves go. There are no really
spectacular formations, just a lot of history about Tom Sawyer and Huckleberry Finn. The coolest
part is when they turn the lights out. Total darkness, black. Nice and cool on a hot summers day.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice retreat from the summer heat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Nice guided tour and very interesting stories. Do not go if you do not like small spaces. A wonderful 52 degrees !

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Had a Great Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Had a great time at this attraction. Our ten year old loved the cave tour. Our tour guide, Jamie, did an excellent job describing how Mark Twain incorporated the various 'stops' on the cave tour into his Tom Sawyer adventures. It was an easy walking tour and was interesting for both children and adults. I would definitely recommend this tour, its a great value.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Mark Twain Cave was cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My granddaughter loved the Mark Twain Cave. We couldn't do the Cameron Cave because you have to carry a lantern and no electricity and possibly the walking.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mark Twain Cave and Cameron Cave also viewed

 

Been to Mark Twain Cave and Cameron Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mark Twain Cave and Cameron Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.