We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Rib Eye Steak!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LaBinnah Bistro

LaBinnah Bistro
207 North 5th Street, Hannibal, MO 63401
+1 573-221-8207
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 57 Restaurants in Hannibal
Price range: $9 - $24
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: LaBinnah Bistro caters to those who desire the absolute best in dining. Diners can enjoy the most Delicious entrees, Unique Appetizers and Decadent Desserts in our uninterrupted, unhurried environment.Hannibal's intimate 28 seat dining Bistro, located downtown at 5th and Center streets in historic Hannibal, a 1870 Victorian home. Delicious unique, memorable entrees, from Missouri grown ranch Steaks to delightful Vegetarian await you. Highest quality, ambiance, music and service in the area! You won't be disappointed...in our uninterrupted, unhurried, non-smoking, no deep fat frying environment. High end, casual fine dining. Unbeatable service, untouchable quality in every detail! NOW OPEN 5:00PM to 10PM (Late nite dining, YES!) Call ahead to reserve a table!
Hannibal, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding Rib Eye Steak!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

You may not know it but there's a little place in Hannibal serving a really great steak...it's LaBinnah's. But it's not just a big juicy rib-eye, cooked to perfection, served on a beautiful platter with fresh asparagus and red potatoes... This is a friendly place with relaxing, comfortable atmosphere...great place to go with friends and spend the envening. Try the housemade baklava too. Attentive service and artful decor help LaBinnah deliver a unique and special dining experience and I highly recommend it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arif D, Manager at LaBinnah Bistro, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Wells P.,
We are very glad to hear that we can deliver "a unique and special dining experience" for you and your friends.
Thank you for being a royal guest of ours.
It is always pleasure to have you here.
Arif
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    25
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but unusual charge.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We went to the Bistro, which is in a large home from the early days of Hannibal, and were given good service, and the food was delicious. The problem: I have had a gastric bypass, and can only eat small meals. My wife and I usually split a meal. We ordered the NY strip steak. It came on one plate with fresh green beans, spinach leaves, red potatoes, and the strip was on a large piece of french bread. I was given silverware, napkin, ice water, and a smaller dinner plate. When I got the bill, there was a $5 dollar split charge. I have not complained in the past about a split charge if it included bread, tea or coffee, having the meal brought on 2 plates, etc. I feel a bit gouged for a five dollar charge for silverware, a plate, and a glass of ice water.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arif D, Manager at LaBinnah Bistro, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Kmillerm,

It is nice to hear that you really liked our bistro.

About the split charge; it clearly states on our menu there is a split plate charge for shared entrees. This fee is simply to cover our cost of extra handling, setup, dish-washing, laundering, labor, etc.
However, most of the time I wave the fee if guests order anything more than a glass of water (i.e.glass of wine, salad, dessert, etc).

I am sorry that the fee made you feel a bit "gouged", but I assure you we don't gain a penny from it. It is all to cover our expenses to stay in business.

Thank you for taking your time and writing a review.

Arif
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topeka, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“go, immediately!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The eclectic interior of this old home turned restaurant/bed & breakfast is entertaining to say the least. Everywhere you look it's something to make you smile. But the food, oh. my. goodness. I had the Giovanni chicken and it truly was one of the best things I have ever eaten. The service was wonderful and the proprietor very friendly and engaging. Only drawback, is that the room is small and the tables are really close together. Almost too intimate with other guests.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arif D, Manager at LaBinnah Bistro, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Vicki S.

Thank you for a wonderful review.

Arif
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson West, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Place for Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The food is excellent. The Chicken Gemini was the best chicken entrée I have ever eaten.
Chris, the owner and waiter was very attentive and an excellent waiter. We stayed overnight in Hannibal to eat here and it was certainly worth it. Restaurant is in an old house that has been renovated to a very nice restaurant. Probably need to make reservations since it is a small place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arif D, Manager at LaBinnah Bistro, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Carolyn W.,

I am glad to hear the Gemini Chicken was " the best chicken entrée" you ever had.

Thank you,

Arif
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An absolutely terrific restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Had dinner here recently and everything was superb---delicious and subtle flavors in every dish, outstanding service, excellent atmosphere. A first-rate sophisticated restaurant that is worth a trip to Hannibal! A truly outstanding dining experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arif D, Manager at LaBinnah Bistro, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Shelly F.

Thanks for considering us for your dining destination while you were in Hannibal.

We are very happy to know that we were able to make your trip worthwhile.

Kind regards,

Arif
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LaBinnah Bistro also viewed

 

Been to LaBinnah Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LaBinnah Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.