We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Brick Oven

The Brick Oven
207 Center St, Hannibal, MO 63401-3529
573-221-1288
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 56 Restaurants in Hannibal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Families with children, Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Reservations
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My family ate lunch at the Brick Oven during Hannibal's recent folk art expo. We may have set our expectations to high based upon the large crowd and ambience. We tried their bruschetta, ravioli and pizza, as well as samplings from the wine list. Although the wine was excellent, we were quite disappointed by the pizza itself which was pretty bland. The ravioli and bruschetta were better and had real flavor. Staff were admittedly busy, but a bit abrupt with us.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    49
    17
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I did not get to try their entrees, but their pizza is great. wonderful crust, very light. Good, friendly service.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best pizza in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Real brick oven fare with a extensive wine list. Try the garlic appetizer for a real treat. Great food, good service and a pleasure evy time we visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great food- reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

After going on our ghost tour, we were looking for a place to eat later on in the evening and found this place on our way back to the B and B we were staying at. The owner and chef de cuisine waited on us-- he was very friendly and the food was fantastic! I believe his wife may have been cooking that night. We went back the next day for a drink. We didn't have anywhere to put our leftovers so he offered to put them in his cooler and the next day he heated them up for us to enjoy! We would have eaten there again that evening but had a dinner cruise booked. Definetly eat here when in Hannibal-- we wish we could pick it up and bring it home with us.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Nice Local Pizza Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

It was a very hot (go figure!) day when we decided to drop into this pizza joint - and the atmosphere was refreshing. Service was a little slow but the salad was "okay" while the pizza was superb! Nicest restaurant in Hannibal!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brick Oven also viewed

 

Been to The Brick Oven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brick Oven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.