We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some problems, I will not return” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City - Grandview

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City - Grandview to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City - Grandview
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12801 S 71 Hwy, Grandview, MO 64030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grandview
dallas, tx
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Some problems, I will not return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012 via mobile

The pros: the rooms were updated, flat screen tvs, located right on the highway for easy access around town, quiet.
The cons:
1. Bad service - front desk agent was rude and curt, two different agents, during four separate encounters
2. Rooms were not ready upon check-in - no towel
3. Rooms were dirty - strange yellow green blob on wallpaper, see photo
4. TV didn't work - the aforementioned rude front desk agent fixed it for us, but the next morning it was broken again. They fixed it again, and then it broke again. I should mention that we are tech-savvy 20-something's, and that it was not a user error on our part.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    17
    7
    8
    2
See reviews for
23
16
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Though we checked in near midnight, we got a warm and efficient welcome from Dean, the night auditor. We stayed three days. The room was large and the bed exceptionally comfortable. Staff are friendly and accommodating, especially Zanida, who runs the breakfast with the kind of thoughtful service you expect only in great restaurants. The place is clean, all the equipment works in the exercise room, and the cleaning staff are thorough. All in all, an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: Tell them what you want and they'll bend over backwards to accommodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City - Grandview, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Thank you for telling us about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your comments about Zanida and Dean. We will pass these comments on to them. They always like to hear when they are doing a good job. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay.

We appreciate your time. We hope that you will come stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011 via mobile

I stayed here this past week and was greeted by two very pleasant women when I arrived. Check-in was fast and simple as a Priority Club member. I was given a great room that was clean and spacious. The hotel is located right off the highway for easy access. I recommend this hotel as an excellent choice in this area of Kansas City.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City - Grandview, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
Thank you for the great comments about our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We will pass these great comments on to our staff. They always appreciate it when they get to hear when they are doing a good job. We strive as a hotel to be a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay.

Thanks again for your time. We hope to see you again, on future visits to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

I stayed in a jacuzzi king smoking suite. Nice size room and close to the pool, hot tub and other facilities. The front desk staff, along with everyone else was very friendly. Nice breakfast with variety, and it changed from one day to the next, but don't forget to try the cinnamon rolls. The pancake machine was a different touch to the waffle machine. Easy on and off the highway. Would stay there again when we are in town.

Room Tip: First floor is a little noisy by the side door and pool. I don't know if King jacuzzi suites are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City - Grandview, responded to this review, October 23, 2011
Thank you for takinn the time to review our hotel. Your comments are greatly appreciated. We will pass them on to our staff. They always like to hear when they are doing a good job. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean,safe, and comfortable place to stay. We are glad we provided that for you.

Thanks again for your comments. We hope to see you again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed here. We stayed here the same time last year and when we knew we were going back to KC, we made sure that we stayed in the same place. The service was very welcoming and the room was awesome. So spacious and comfortable. The breakfast is wonderful and the dining area is also very spacious. We have season tickets to watch the Chiefs and have determined that Holiday Inn Express is perfect for our weekend getaways.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City - Grandview, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Thank you for your recent review our hotel. We appreciate your comments about our hotel. They will be passed on to your staff. We hope you will stay with us on future visits for the Chiefs Games!!

Just 15 minutes from downtown Kansas City, our easily accessible Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of Grandview-Kansas City offers comfort with a feeling of home. Centrally located within a half-hour of many of the greater Kansas City area's attractions, this hotel is a great place to have your perfect Missouri trip.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you again real soon!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heath, texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

very nice hotel, friendly, good breakfast, very accessable to the highway and the places in grandview we needed to go. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City - Grandview, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
Thanks for your comments about our hotel. We are very pleased you were happy with yoru stay.

Just 15 minutes from downtown Kansas City, our easily accessible Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of Grandview-Kansas City offers comfort with a feeling of home. Centrally located within a half-hour of many of the greater Kansas City area's attractions, this hotel is a great place to have your perfect Missouri trip.

Thanks again for your comments!! We hope to see you again in Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I hadn't realized there was such a very nice difference from the old Holiday Inn to the newer style. When this trip came up our choices were limited for the area and we usually stay at another chain, but the H Inn looked like the best choice. I am so glad we stayed there. The room was very large, that is when I noticed the "& Suites" in the name. It was worth the money to be so comfortable. The breakfast was typical, I love the cinnamon rolls. I didn't notice the Pancake machine on the first day, but tried it on the second day and they were good. The internet signal was strong. The location was good for getting around.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEGHotelsResponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City - Grandview, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Thanks for your mention of our breakfast. We are very happy that you were happy about your stay. We strive to provide great customer service to all our guests.


Wake up to the complimentary hot breakfast bar featuring our famous cinnamon rolls and other hot entrees.

We hope that you will come stay with us again. Thanks again for your comments. Your comments are always welcome and appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City - Grandview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City - Grandview

Address: 12801 S 71 Hwy, Grandview, MO 64030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Grandview
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grandview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City - Grandview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our new Grandview-Kansas City Hotel Offers Grand Access to Kansas City Just 15 minutes from downtown Kansas City, our easily accessible Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of Grandview-Kansas City offers comfort with a feeling of home. Centrally located within a half-hour of many of the greater Kansas City area's attractions, this hotel is a great place to have your perfect Missouri trip. If you're in town for business, you'll find our Grandview hotel is only 10 minutes from the Kansas City Convention Center. We're also conveniently located near many of the area's major businesses, like the corporate headquarters for Hallmark, Sprint, Applebee's and H&R Block. If you need to have a business meeting during your stay, our Grandview hotel offers two meeting rooms with over 1,000 square feet of space. Sports fans appreciate our Grandview hotel's close proximity to Arrowhead and Kauffman stadiums, where they can cheer at a Chiefs football game or see a Royals baseball game. Additionally, Worlds of Fun and Oceans of Fun amusement parks are both 15 miles away. The Sprint Arena and the Kansas City Power and Light District offer other live entertainment options near our Kansas City hotel. Our Kansas City, Missouri hotel features a heated, indoor pool and keeps you connected with our free high-speed Internet access. You are sure to have a comfortable stay at our Grandview hotel outside of Kansas City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City - Grandview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Kansas City - Grandview
Grandview Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kansas City - Grandview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.