We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Jefferson St., Grain Valley, MO 64029-9089   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grain Valley
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Okay for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here on our trip across the country. We arrived close to 10 p.m. in a rainstorm. There is construction going on and so the "original" entrance to the parking lot was closed and we ended up having to get back on the freeway and driving 3 miles to the next exit and turning around. Maybe during the day, the signs would have been easy to see but at night they were near impossible to read, especially in the rain. The pool closed shortly after we arrived, but did appear nice and clean from our view from the lobby. I did use the fitness room, which was old and not well cared for. The treadmill did its job though! Our room was in need of some updating, however it was clean, and served its purpose. The bed was okay...not especially comfortable and not uncomfortable. They did not have extra blankets in the room, which would have been nice. The A/C worked well. They served a hot breakfast in the morning. Everyone in the family found something they enjoyed, and the breakfast area was kept stocked and clean. We were only at the hotel for 9 hours, and it served the purpose of helping us get some needed sleep before continuing on our great American road trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie P, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We do apologize for all the road construction. It will be nice when it is finished.

Our staff strives to make our guest stay pleasant. They work very hard to keep everything clean and in working order. We use all the information you give us to improve our service.

Sincerely,
Carmeletta Parks,CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    23
    7
    8
    1
See reviews for
15
11
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My previous review was a 4 based on several stays in 2012. I regretfully need to reduce my rating to a 3. For the price you pay it's still not a bad place to stay and I plan to continue staying there on future trips. However, the furnishings are starting to get a little long in the tooth, particularly the mattresses. I wrote it off to a bad room the first time or two but I've noticed it in nearly all the rooms I've stayed in in 2013. Again, not terrible yet, just time to think about replacing them. The Wall Street Journal is no longer available in the mornings. Service is still friendly and the air conditioning in my last room worked really well. Bathrooms are a nice size and the water pressure is good compared to a lot of hotels. Rooms are also large and I like the comfortable big chair and sidelamp for reading. Flat panel TVs and the internet is free and reliable. Right now it's a bit difficult to get to because of the highway construction but once you learn to go past the convenience store to turn left and surround the hotel back to the frontage road it's a piece of cake.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor still has smoking rooms and the hall has a strong smoke smell. Can't smell it at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie P, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are in the process of checking on new furniture and hopefully the construction will be over in the near future. When it is finished will be very nice.
We use all the information to help improve our service.

Carmeletta Parks,CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed only one night and found this motel very nice and clean. Staff at the desk very pleasant. Would definitely stay here again any time we are in the area. It was very quiet. Wouldn't mind recommending it to friends. Great for the price.

Room Tip: Would recommend the upper floor as it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie P, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The staff strifes to give our guest the best experience we can. We apology for the construction and have finally gotten MODOT to allow us to put signs up for directions to motel.

Carmeletta Parks,CHA
General Manager
Comfort Inn
Grain Valley, Mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The lobby right when you walk in is a big area, very clean and welcoming. The lady who checked me in was great. You can check out the pool as soon as you walk in too and that area looked clean and nice. The breakfast was typical comfort inn, sleep inn style, you could make your own waffles, they had eggs and sausage, bagels, cereal, etc. The downside is all the restaurants are the next exit down and apparently there is a race track near by which I did not see advertised on the interstate and you cannot see it from the exit or hotel. They were racing on Wednesday which is weird but it was loud and went to 11pm. There was construction around the road by the hotel so you have to drive around through the back. Other then that this is a nice place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie P, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for writing your review on our Comfort Inn in Grain Valley, MO. We read all the reviews and use the information to help improve our service.

We are sorry for the road construction they assure me it is on time to be completed as predicted.

Sincerely,
Carmeletta Parks,CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel was reasonable and the rooms were very nice. The breakfast, however, left a lot to be desired. There were no eggs or breakfast meat or biscuits and gravy so we just wound up having toast. Not what we usually get or expect from a Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie P, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Comfort Inn in Grain Valley, Mo. We do listen to you so that we can improve our service.

Sincerely,
Carmeletta Parks,CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Upon checking in the rep was extremely helpful and friendly. Location made us feel safe. There is road work right outside making it a little difficult to get in. The room was nice and clean and the breakfast was really good.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie P, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Comfort Inn in Grain Valley, Mo. Guest Satisfaction is extremely important to our staff and we strife to reach the highest score of excellent. We use your input to improve our sevice.

Sincerely,
Carmeletta Parks, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I was scheduled to stay two nights but refused to put up with the conditions that long. When I checked in, I reported to the General Manager that the AC was not working and 4 hours later nothing was done to correct. Even after running all night the room was 77 degrees. I killed several ants and of course thought I felt them on me all night afterwards. The furniture is very dated and the carpet is poor. The mattress should have been changed years ago as it was very squishy. The shower had great water pressure and lots of hot water but I was standing in over 3 inches of water by the time I was done with my shower. Don't waste your time trying to get through the maze of construction work to get to this motel. I'll not go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie P, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We do read them and use them to improve in areas we need work in.

I apologize for all the problems you had during your stay at our property. We strife to make our guest stay as pleasant as possible, we fell short with your stay. We hope you will give us another chance to show you your last stay is not our norm.

Again, the complete staff and myself personally apologize for the problems you had on your stay at our property
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grain Valley hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 210 Jefferson St., Grain Valley, MO 64029-9089
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Grain Valley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grain Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Grain Valley
Grain Valley Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.