We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Unknown Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The National Churchill Museum

The National Churchill Museum
501 Westminster Avenue, Fulton, MO 65251-1299 (Formerly Winston Churchill Memorial and Library)
573-592-5369
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Fulton
Type: Libraries, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In 1946 it was at Westminster College that Winston Churchill delivered one of the most significant speeches of his long and illustrious career. That address, formally entitled, The Sinews of Peace, but best known for that evocative phrase, An Iron Curtain has descended across the Continent, effectively marked the beginning of the Cold War and linked, forever, Fulton and Westminster College with Winston Churchill.In the 1960s Westminster College set out to mark what would be the 40th anniversary of Churchill's visit. After due consideration to traditional modes of commemoration, Westminster College settled on the rather more ambitious notion of moving a Christopher Wren designed Church from London. This Church, St. Mary the Virgin Aldermanbury, had stood in London since 1677 when it replaced an earlier structure that had sat on the same site since the 12th century. This magnificent building, badly damaged during the London Blitz, was moved stone by stone to Westminster's campus and rebuilt to Wren's original specifications.Beneath this Church is the National Churchill Museum itself which through the imaginative and innovative use of technology bring to life the story of Winston Churchill and the world he knew. Recently rebuilt form the ground up the new displays and the permanent exhibition, together with host of associated historical and cultural activities that support it was recognized the by the United States Congress as America's permanent tribute to this great man and formally recognized as America's National Churchill Museum.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Unknown Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Being from UK i was shocked at finding this place in Missouri. But i was shooked at how good it was. I think i learned more about Winston Churchill here than i have done at home in the UK

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    15
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, MO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Big Gem in Little City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Outstanding museum in the little city of Fulton, MO. It's a MUST SEE if you're near I-70 and 54 between St. Louis and Kansas City (it's also about 20 minutes north from downtown Jeff City). While the exhibits are mainly about Winston Churchill, there's also quite a bit there about the history of WWII as well. The exhibits are well done using actual footage of Churchill, Hitler, etc. We spent several hours there on a self-guided tour. Be sure to save some time to go upstairs into the church - beautiful! Yes, there's a cost, but well worth it.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stopped here on our way to a recent St. Louis trip. I had also visited here back in the early 1990s with my high school cross country team on our way to the state meet in nearby Jeff City. Very beautiful old church moved all the way from England is the highlight. Good interactive museum tour inside, set chronologically to the major events in Churchill's life and lots of neat interactive displays. Highlight was definitely the archival video of him making the famous Iron Curtain speech back in 1946 when he visited the college. Outside there's a couple of sections of the Berlin Wall complete with graffiti. I couldn't help but wonder what part of the city this particular section stood in. Lots of good picture-taking opportunities and a pretty decent gift shop attached to the museum. A definite stop if you are a history or Churchill buff.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Full of History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Our family lived within a couple of blocks of the campus and church for a few years during my childhood. I used to walk past this structure to and from school, so it is a part of my life. My memories of the Churchill museum were more of paintings displayed and the viewing area was underground between the church and Champ Auditorium. I believe they use this area for storage now. This current setup was a pleasant surprise. It is filled with interesting/interactive historical information. The church is beautiful. You used to be able to look up into the bell tower, too. The Berlin wall display was added after I moved away, so that was cool to be able to see this time. Hearing "Westminster" chimes always brings back childhood memories.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, Delaware
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Allow plenty of time for this treasure.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband is a big Churchill fan. So, this was a MUST SEE on our way to Kansas City. We read almost EVERYTHING in the exhibit (as other people were whizzing by us), until we realized the place was closing in an hour and we hadn't even seen the church upstairs yet. Despite spending 3 hours, we still were not able to see everything. We needed at least another hour and a half. It was everything that we had anticipated. And more. They even had a pianist playing classical music at the organ in the church. My only complaint is that a couple places in the exhibit, there were not clear signs where to go next so we did read some of Churchill's life out of order.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The National Churchill Museum also viewed

 

Been to The National Churchill Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The National Churchill Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.