We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stick with the Salads and Flatbread” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brio Tuscan Grille

Brio Tuscan Grille
1601 Lindbergh Blvd (Plaza Frontenac), Frontenac, Saint Louis, MO 63131
(314) 432-4410
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 10 Restaurants in Frontenac
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Stick with the Salads and Flatbread”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Brio is my go-to place for a nice lunch, and I've always had a salad and/or flatbread pizza (which have always been excellent). When I tried Brio for dinner for the first time, I decided to branch out and have a full entree. It paled in comparison-- my overcooked chicken limone was more bitter than tart, and the mashed potatoes were cold and were overpowered with garlic. My husband reported that his salmon was "just ok."
It was very noisy on a Saturday night - to be expected with a full house - but the loud background music made things worse.
I had a similarly disappointing experience with eggs benedict when I once went to Brio for brunch. I suppose I have learned my lesson: Stick with the salads and flatbread.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    60
    20
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Surprise at Steak!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

When one thinks Brio Tuscan Grille pasta comes to mind...but don't underestimate how well they do the Grille! The medium rare steak is just that, and the pork chops are wonderful. And if, like me, you have a difficult time choosing some of the appetizers and desserts they offer wonderful samplers of both.

The atmosphere is refreshing with tall ceilings and warm golden tones. The layout allows, even when crowded, table intimacy. The bar area tends to be dark and often overly crowded though, almost like a completely different restaurant.

Overall, great for dining but unless you are a "regular" bar patron you may want to look elsewhere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Great Food, Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We've been to Brio several times, usually to celebrate someone's birthday. The menu is diverse, the food tastes freshly prepared, and the waitstaff takes good care of the customers. Try the chicken/sweet potato risotto.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“ANother great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Even though this is a chain, I like the atmosphere, the food and service. Very unique but not too expensive.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“good chain restuarant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Brio is very good. It is owned by the same company that owns Bravo restaurants. Its nothing really special for a chain restaurant. They do have an excellent lobster bisque though.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brio Tuscan Grille also viewed

Frontenac, Saint Louis
 
Frontenac, Saint Louis
Frontenac, Saint Louis
 

Been to Brio Tuscan Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brio Tuscan Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.