We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heartbreaking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Kryb I Ly

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Kryb I Ly to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Kryb I Ly
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kolding Landevej 160, Taulov 7000, Denmark   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20-30%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Taulov
Oudenaarde, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Heartbreaking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel many times in the last ten years. I always loved the warm atmosphere and the history of the place. Moreover it is close to the motorway and has a decent restaurant.
Unfortunately the last two years I feel the hotel is losing its charm. There is still the lovely lounge with the fire place and the old chairs, but the lounge is the only place where the history and old pride still reflects.
The rooms are getting neglected and do no longer justify the prices charged.
Allthough the staff is still very friendly one can feel the decline has started.
Striking example: when we arrived for breakfast the jar of orange juice was empty. As I do not drink any coffee or tea I kept my eye on the buffet to see when it was filled again. Twenty minutes later we finished our breakfast, nobody of the staff had turned up and now most jars of juices were empty... Is it due to reducing staff, or simply lack of passion and commitment, fact is it is breaking my heart what has become of the place. Since a while I do not dine here anymore, looking at the fallen quality of breakfast a wise choice.
I will always love the historic place, but for my next stay I think I will look out for a different hotel to stay, offering better value for 130 euro/night.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sybille M, Chef  at BEST WESTERN Kryb I Ly, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at BEST WESTERN KRYB I LY.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    24
    14
    12
    1
See reviews for
15
25
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

DO NOT go for package with fixed dinner and more...

Just order the hotel, book the room -The suites are not anormal standard....

No funny please to stay, then stay another lease in the nabyhoud

Find another plce

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Hotel isolated but staff was very friendly and helpful. Large swimming pool available. The Restaurant was Amazing, the breakfast was fantastic. The family room is very well equipped and the bed was very comfortable. Enjoyed a nice glass of white wine in the patio. A car is recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Its hard to disagree with the rest of the reviews on here but personally I really like this hotel. I travel to Denmark on business and stay here when I can. Its a very old hotel and yes, it could do with modernizing but the staff are very helpful and i've always found the rooms clean and tidy. Not the best for things to do but if your looking for a nice hotel with great food. Look no further. Not many hotels in the area are as good as this one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Rooms are dated & in need of upgrading, carpets are dirty. Being so far from anywhere it's easy to go stir crazy (no gym, though there is a pool).
Menu is typically Danish, so difficult for a non dairy eater. No shaving mirror in bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taulov hotels

Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The hotel itself is perfectly fine. Clean and decently sized rooms. The restaurant is also quite good, though pricey. The problems begin at night. Even though most of the hotel is non-smoking, including the wing in which I stayed, they apparently do not enforce this rule at all. Smoke flowed freely into my room from the hallway and there was nothing I could do to keep it out. Additionally, between the loud wedding party one night and the early arrival of the laundry truck at 6am that created the most incredible racket, sleeping is not an easy task. I will not be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria T, Reception at BEST WESTERN Kryb I Ly, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Best Regards
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokkedal, Denmark
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

While the staff was very friendly and helpfull, I really do not apprreciate that a very nice old inn is modenised, taken over by Best Western - and completely kills any charm from the past. Besides of the restaurant and front part, the hotel is very cold and actually just a place to stay if nothing else can be found.

There is a great view from the hotel, but no-one will ever notice this as no rooms has views to something nice. You will have to take a walk along the highly trafficed road to see this..

The food is very Danish traditional meat dishes and is very nice made.

Room Tip: Ask for ont not in the basement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Kryb I Ly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Kryb I Ly

Address: Kolding Landevej 160, Taulov 7000, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Fredericia Municipality > Taulov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Taulov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Kryb I Ly 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy the peace and quiet surroundings at BEST WESTERN Kryb I Ly. The hotel is located in Taulov, between Kolding and Fredericia. Indoor heated pool and all modern facilities is presented in a cozy manor house environment with interiors of hand made carpets, chesterfield and exquisite materials. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the BEST WESTERN Kryb I Ly offers all of the amenities and services to make any guest feel at home. Located in the Fredericia municipality, this Taulov hotel offers convenient access to many outdoor activities including jogging, hiking, hunting and fishing. Each of the 77 well-appointed rooms in this manor-style hotel feature cable television and high-speed Internet access. The hotel offers a complimentary continental breakfast each morning; otherwise guests are welcome to dine at the onsite restaurant. Other hotel amenities include a cocktail lounge, a full-service business center and meeting/banquet facilities accommodating up to 180 people. The BEST WESTERN Kryb I Ly is a short drive from both Legoland Park and the Givskud Zoo, perfect for families. Take a quick day trip to visit the historic cities of Jutland or spend the afternoon shopping in the quaint town of Fredericia or Kolding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Kryb I Ly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Kryb I Ly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.