We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I-44 Travel in St. Louis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Fenton

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Fenton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Fenton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1848 Bowles Ave, Fenton, MO 63026   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Fenton
Missouri
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“I-44 Travel in St. Louis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This motel is convenient for many areas in the St. Louis metro and southwest area of St. Louis. The staff is very friendly and accomadating. It is not the easiest motel to figure out how to get into. They have a very limited fitness room and I am not impressed that you are on display to everyone in the front desk/lobby area when you are trying to walk off a few pounds. The rooms are very big and spacious and they have over 200 tv channels. The furniture is outdated and starting to come apart in the room I had. A comfortable office type chair would be nice to work at the desk. My biggest disapointment with this motel is the water pressure, it is pitiful trying to take a shower.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nightlite, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fenton, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your candid response to our hotel. Since the time of your comments, we have taken measures to increase water pressure. It is significantly better than it was before. Also, we offer passes to a local gym called Riverchase that offers full athletic facilities. We have left the clear glass to the fitness center for that safety of the guests and responsiveness of our staff.

We look forward to your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    36
    22
    5
    4
See reviews for
36
31
2
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Land of Pleasant Living
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed the night enroute to Phoenix from the east coast. Reviews here and proximity to a friend's house narrowed our choice and we weren't disappointed. Received an upgrade as a Priority Club Platinum member and weren't disappointed. Attentive staff and clean comfortable room. Overall property appearance was fresh and clean. Would stay there again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nightlite, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fenton, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear cz75guy,

Thank you for your recent response to our hotel and especially for being a Platinum member with Holiday Inn Priority Club. I am happy to hear our staff was able to exceed your expectations, for your stay. We always want our guests to enjoy themselves and feel like they are family when they visit including giving our Platinum and Gold members upgrades whenever we can. Please visit again I would like to meet you on the next stay.

Allen and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennon, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Was my first trip to St Louis, but didn't want to stay in the city. The location was excellent. Close to downtown so it was a short trip to the Arch, Botanical Gardens, Zoo and the many parks. We didn't book ahead of time so only room available was on the first floor. The property was so clean & quiet we ended up staying for 3 days. Breakfast was great even had the new pancake maker machine. The staff made it easy to extend our stay. If I visit St Louis again I would stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nightlite, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fenton, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Smcabc,

Thank you for your response and being able to service your family on your trip to St. Louis. I agree with you, St. Louis has some of the greatest sights to see in a metro area. We have the best Zoo in the country, the Arch, St. Louis City Museum, the Science Center, and keep going. I think our hotel is also a great hidden treasure for the area; quiet, clean, and friendly staff.

We hope to see you again on your next trip.

Allen and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, IL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I took our son to STL for a last minute trip the weekend of our anniversary. We were happy that this HIE in Fenton was relatively close to all of the activities we had planned, and we booked the honeymoon suite so that our son had a separate space (living area) to sleep and my husband and I could stay up a bit later in the bedroom or soaking in the jacuzzi tub.

However, our room wasn't ready until 4:00, when it should have been ready at 3:00. We wasted time and went back at 4 and were finally able to check in. We received a call approximately 30 second after we got into the room asking if everything was okay. I said that it seemed to be, yes.

We quickly changed clothes and went to the indoor swimming pool, which was freezing. It also had SO MUCH chlorine in it that we couldn't stay long because it was bothering all of our eyes and noses, and my fingers were cracked and looked like hardened prunes for two days afterwards.

We changed clothes again and went to dinner. By the time we got back, our son was exhausted and we got him settled on the pull out couch for bed. However, the mattress was nothing but springs and *horribly* uncomfortable. We rigged it up with extra blankets from the bedroom so it would be semi-comfortable to sleep in.

At this point, I went to the bathroom for a good soak in the tub. However, it was poorly cleaned, as there were "things" floating in the water. Luckily, we'd brought a bottle of Scrubbing Bubbles and I cleaned the tub myself. This proved futile, though, because the bathroom smelled TERRIBLY of mold. There had obviously been water damage, as I spotted mold in several places and the ceiling and walls had all sorts of patches in them. The smell made me feel physically ill and gave me a terrible headache, so I avoided the bathroom at all costs for the rest of our stay.

It was too late to move to a different room, so we sucked it up and went to bed in a very uncomfortable bed, and a bedroom that was stifilng hot, regardless of the fact that we had the a/c cranked as low as possible.

Breakfast the next morning was disgusting. When we checked out, I handed what I assume was a manager a maintenance slip and told him that the bathroom smelled terribly of mold and that it made me physically ill. He just looked at me with a blank stare. I told him he might want to get it checked out and he said, "Oh, yeah, we will." No apology, no offer to discount our room, nothing.

All-in-all, very disappointing stay and we will NOT be going back to this location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fenton, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Brooke M,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.


Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, IL
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Found this hotel on Orbitz and got a decent rate for the king exec with in room Jacuzzi. Hotel is close to the expressway and well lit. Rooms are standard. Hotel was clean and breakfast was fine. Exactly what I expected for HI express. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nightlite, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fenton, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Techmom64,

Thank you for your response. I am glad that you were able to see our hotel from the highway. You're right, it is well lit around the hotel but we are a little back from the road. It is great that we were able to provide you with the service you expect.

We look forward to seeing you on the next trip.

Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at this property, originally scheduled for 3 nights. Switching the reservation during the stay was seamless, the day staff executed that change perfectly. The room was an executive king, fully clean, good bed/pillows/mattress/linens, nice room. The breakfast bar was good, hot foods, well presented and tidy. The staff were all courteous, every staff member I passed said hi and asked how my stay was going, from the counter folk to the daily cleaning staff. The only issue was the internet connection.... I was in room 310. The wireless connection level was wandering around from 70% to no connection, and sometimes when I had a good wireless connection the bandwith was down to 1 Mps.... at other times it was at 28 Mps... That was the only issue with the property, other than that, I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nightlite, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fenton, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for your recent response to our property. I will share your comments with the staff to let them know that they are "On the Ball" addressing the guests. We will look into the Internet on the 3rd floor. Sorry for the inconvenience. Next time your in town let me know and we'll get you an upgrade for the trouble.

Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Quiet, comfortable, good stay. The desk clerk was especially friendly and helpful. The entrance and exit were a little confusing at first because of a service road, but once you know your way around, it is fine. We had a very nice king suite.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nightlite, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fenton, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for the response. We know the hotel is a little off the main street. It was the intention that putting the hotel back from the highway would keep out the noise. We are working on the signage. I am glad to hear that you liked the suite.

See you soon.

Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Fenton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Fenton

Address: 1848 Bowles Ave, Fenton, MO 63026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Fenton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Fenton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Fenton 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Fenton, the Holiday Inn Express® St. Louis West - Fenton hotel offers excellent services and amenities, including free high-speed, wireless Internet access. Our hotel's location in the St. Louis, MO metro area makes travel to famous St. Louis attractions simple.When searching for Fenton, Missouri hotels with meeting space, remember that our facilities include a 400-square-feet meeting room, as well as a modern Business Center with print and copy services. Numerous businesses from the Fenton Business Park are a stones throw from the hotel. Our location is great for access to St. Clare Health Center, Maryville University and St. Louis University.Nearby Grant's Farms offers visitors a chance to view some of the world's most beautiful animals, and if you're looking for hotels near the St. Louis, MO area, you'll be pleased to know that we are close to several of St. Louis' most famous attractions, including the Gateway Arch, City Museum and Science Center, pleasing both adults and kids. Visitors can also explore the impressive Saint Louis Zoo or create memories with an exciting day at Six Flags St. Louis.Guests who stay in Fenton, Missouri appreciate our hotel's indoor pool and Fitness Center, which make it easy to keep up with workout routines or relax. We also serve a complimentary, hot Express Start breakfast bar each day, so you can start your morning right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Fenton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Fenton Hotel Fenton
Holiday Inn Fenton
Fenton Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Fenton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.