We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost funny” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Executive Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Executive Inn to your Saves list
Executive Inn
1400 Liberty Street, Hwy 67 & Liberty Street, Farmington, MO 63640 (Formerly Days Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Farmington
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Almost funny”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

I would say OK but the person who runs this place is seriously so rude that I can't. Unless you have a good sense of humor about people in the hospitality industry with absolutely no people skills avoid this place at all costs. On the other hand if you find humor in strange places you might get a good laugh if you stay here. 1st of all rate not as advertised on line. Had two little boys with me who wanted to swim and were dissapointed both days when pool didn't open on time. 1st day pool was as hot as a bath tub. We were pruned up in 5 minutes. Second day the guy just felt like not opening the pool as scheduled so we had to go back to our room and wait another hour in our trunks. Tiles were just falling off in the pool and the paint was pealing. Had to keep my 2 year old from eating the paint. Room was musky and I think it was due to there being no exhaust when the shower runs. Mold on the shower curtain. They do get credit for having good water presure though. There were stains of a particular nature (don't want to know what it was), on the comforter. Dead flies in the sheet protector that held a notice on the door. Tiny 19" (at best) TV that you could barely see from the beds. Continental Breakfast was amusing at best. They are militant about getting you out by 11Am or they will try charge you for getting out even a few minutes after check out. I was in such a rush I forgot my phone charger and when I called at first he said he would mail it COD. Then I guess he decided he didn't want to be bothered and began to insist the one he thought may have been mine wasn't. I know it was but why bother. This guy likely would argue with himself in the mirror over a penny. Just nuts. I can't believe the Days Inn franchise would allow their name to be affiliated with this place. If they got rid of this guy or at least got him some therapy or hospitality training it may be tollerable. Not likely to happen as I got tyhe impression he may be related or otherwise closely affiliated with the ownership. ATTITUDE, ATTITUDE!!

  • Liked — nothing realy
  • Disliked — the front desk staff
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    4
    9
    35
See reviews for
21
9
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
denver, co
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

We bought the room on the Internet and were given a smoking room since the desk clerk claimed that was all they had. The room was small, dirty and reeked of smoke. The "breakfast" was laid out on a counter in the corner of the lobby with no place for anyone to sit. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Farmington hotels

Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

1.The vanity light did not work and we were told to leave it on for 10 min. didn't work. someone came and told us it was fixed, it was not. called again a man came and finally got it to come on by removing the front, however, it would not come on in the morning.
2. We asked for a 1 hour late check-out and were told not so nicely that there would be a $10 charge, unreasonable.
3. The room price was not as advertised. There was a charge for $1.62 we were told is added to every room for a safe in the room. We did not ask for or use the safe and when we asked him to remove the charge he told us in no uncertain words that he could not remove the charge. In my opinion this charge should be included in the basic room charge.
4. There was a coffee pot in the room and it did not work. By the time I discovered this problem, I had had my fill with the person at the fromt desk, who, by the way, was the same person I dealt with for all of the above problems. No compensation was offered and no apologies.

  • Liked — Grounds were very well maintained
  • Disliked — Rude Manager
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2008

While I did not suffer near the calamities of prior reviewers (reservation problems, put into a smoking room, fleas, water temps, employee issues), there were minor issues. The carpet was badly frayed, and the room faced Hiway 67, only about 30 feet away, right at street level, so it was very loud. The window was strange, there was one sliding pane in between two fixed panes, so I was unsure how exactly this window was supposed to open...or is it slid this way to close? In any event, it did not close tightly, which was not necessarily a safety or a temperature issue, but did allow for a great deal of noise. Anyone contemplating a stay here would be well-served by asking for a room facing away from the highway.

The setting is serene and beautiful, though. Missouri in general is a beautiful state with very nice citizens, and the employees at Days Inn were no exception. However, the motel is getting run down. I would stay here again, admittedly, if nothing else was available. This is my third stay in about ten years. But there are now more places available (Holiday Inn, Tradition Inn, the venerable Rosener's, Super 8, for example) that are newer, and I would suggest potential lodgers to check those places out first. On a plus, I had no accounting or billing problems, it's just that with alternatives, I probably won't go back to Days Inn unless it's fixed up a bit.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

The room was clean and pretty nice. We were disappointed that it had an outdoor entrance to the room, since we wanted to go swimming in the indoor pool, and did not want to walk outside in the cold. We did go swimming, but it was not heated as advertised on website and was freezing cold. Plus, we had to ask the clerk to turn on the lights in the pool room. The next morning we were also disappointed in the breakfast. There were no donuts as stated in website information, plus they were almost out of everything including milk and we had two small kids with us. The clerk came in briefly to check on the food, but never came back with anymore and it definitely needed to be restocked. The room did have a strange odor, not cigarette smoke, but something weird. But it was clean and large and had many tv channels to watch which the kids really enjoyed. Also, could not understand the man at front desk. Will not stay again though. Disappointed : (

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. peters, MO
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2008

This was the worst hotel stay ever. We reserved 10 rooms because we were attending a family funeral. The rooms were booked under the name . Many of the people in our party were questioned about the number of guests staying in each room. They had never told us a specific number that could be in each room but made us feel like we were doing something wrong. We had between 1 and 6 people in a room and the 1 room with 6 was a family with 4 children under 12. We did not let the kids run around and we closely supervised them while in the pool. This morning we woke up to several rooms having no hot water so we could not take showers prior to going to the funeral. The manager/owners excuse for this was that he had alot of construction workers that take showers and it can't be helped. The topper to all of this was when we received a phone call stating they were going to charge the credit card we used to book the rooms 125.00 as one of the rooms had the hair dryer stolen off the wall and a blanket stolen. We called the person who had stayed in the room, a grandmother in her 50's, and asked about this. She stated that when her son carried her bag to the room he commented on the hole in the wall and wondered why they could not have fixed it. We returned to the hotel after the funeral and attempted to discuss this with the manager/owner. He was very smart with us and things got a little loud. He had me talk to the maintenance man who stated " we are not saying you did this but we did find it after you checked out." The manager/owner stated that usually his workers tell him when something is wrong with a room. We stated that apparently this was one of the unusual times that they didn't tell him about from the guest prior to us. He finally stated they would not charge us but he didn't want us back as he didn't want vandals or thieves staying there. We are deeply offended by this. They did not seem to mind the people fighting on the balcony that kept 2 rooms of our family up most of the night. We have a very large family and will never recommend a Days Inn to any friend or family member. We live all over Missouri and will choose a different hotel chain when we visit relatives or go on vacation. The family member who died had 9 children, 60 grandchildren, 135 great-grandchildren, and 15 great-great- grandchildren, not to mention all the other relatives. Thank you for looking in to this and maybe you can change our minds about the way we feel now. The room number was 109 so you don't get scammed on this.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, MO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2007

I stayed at the motel on a Friday evening and had an excellent experience. The room seemed to be freshly remodeled, quiet and clean. Air conditioner and TV worked great. Wi-Fi was easy to use. I did not eat their breakfast as I had a breakfast meeting at another location. The staff was friendly. It was a bargain through Orbitz..

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — Was happy with everrything.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Executive Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Inn

Address: 1400 Liberty Street, Hwy 67 & Liberty Street, Farmington, MO 63640 (Formerly Days Inn)
Location: United States > Missouri > Farmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Farmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Executive Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Farmington
Farmington Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Executive Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.