We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immersed in History” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Elms Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Elms Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
The Elms Hotel and Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   401 Regent St., Excelsior Springs, MO 64024   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Immersed in History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

The Elms offers comfort in beautifully restored historic hotel. Our room was a comfortable suite, with a wet bar, mini fridge, living room and dining table, TV, all separate from the spacious bedroom, also with TV, super comfortable bed and soft linens, and bathroom with separate jacuzzi tub, marble subway tile shower and marble basket weave tile floor. Those historic touches are throughout the hotel.

We stayed on the fourth floor and found it quiet at night, but even though it was midweek (with the objective to avoid any scheduled weddings), there was a very large conference at the same time. This made for a noisy and crowded lobby at times and I overheard some guests complaining about noise that kept them awake. So ask for a quiet floor when you book.

Spend some time walking the grounds and enjoying the outdoor pool and grotto. There's a nice fitness center and lap pool too. The spa services are a bit pricey but any of the services gives you a free pass to the grotto, which is amazing. (We were taken on a tour of the spa and grotto promises late evening while no guests were there).

We appreciated that all staff we met were not only friendly and accommodating, but were knowledgable and well trained. The restaurant was okay, but I think they're trying too hard and would do better with a more menu featuring well prepared local and season foods without all the rich sauces.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    111
    34
    6
    6
See reviews for
85
304
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, TN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

For women stayed in a queen suite for a college reunion fun weekend. I was concerned it would be too tight but it was perfect. The sitting room was roomy enough for all of us. It also was handy when one person wanted to get up earlier than everyone else.

We planned to use the great spa there and were able to take showers down there so so sharing the bathroom was not a big issue. The spa is great and the hotel is within walking distance to some small "old timey" shops.

The hotel appears to be used a lot for weddings and special events.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The hotel, spa, and restaurant were all incredible! We had a wonderful massage while staying here and the waters were amazing! Now we know why people hve been coming here for over one hundred years! Great experience!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

They have completely renovated the Spa at The Elms since the last time we had been there, and wow is it fantastic! The Grotto is complimentary with the purchase of a spa service. It is this awesome place where you can relax, go in the hot tub, steam shower, sauna, cold plunge shower...and they have this great salt exfoliation scrub to use. While waiting for our massages, we got to spend some time in the relaxation room that had cozy chairs and blankets and complimentary flavored teas and water. The locker room had all of the things you could need- comfy robes, sandals, shampoo, body wash, combs, razors, etc. Then the relaxation massages that we had were wonderful too. After our massages we were able to go back to The Grotto and relax some more. I highly recommend checking out this spa. I will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Clean comfortable room. Bed was just right after a day of travel. Hotel staff was attentive to requests. Short drive from the airport. Be sure to use the grotto. Lots to do and see in the area. Short drive back to kc but manageable. You have to see this grand hotel.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Excellent spa...staff is attentive and the very nicely redone rooms were a great surprise ......this is what 25 million dollars looks like. We stayed on a Sunday and Monday night and have been impressed with every detail of this newly remodeled resort. The local history is great. The outdoor pool and hot tub area is great. .............We will certainly be back!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, Kansas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We got married at the Elms and had our ceremony under the gazebo and our reception in the grand ballroom. It was a great experience and I would recommend it for anyone looking for a nice, quaint, all in one spot wedding venue

Room Tip: The walls are very thin so you can hear neighbors and people in the hall very easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Elms Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms Hotel and Spa

Address: 401 Regent St., Excelsior Springs, MO 64024
Location: United States > Missouri > Excelsior Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Excelsior Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Elms Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is more than just an escape from the everyday.It’s an ageless journey to a place where life moves alittle slower. And now, our renovated hotel and spabring The Elms into an entirely new age. It’s thesame old charm, newly appointed. So be our guest.Experience this iconic hotel anew, rejuvenate at thespa and explore charming Excelsior Springs. Wethink you’ll find it to your liking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Elms Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elms Hotel Excelsior Springs
Elms Hotel Excelsior Springs
Elm Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elms Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.