We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“animal house” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Saint Louis West Six Flags

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Saint Louis West Six Flags to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Saint Louis West Six Flags
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4901 Six Flags Road, PO Box 999, Eureka, MO 63025 (Formerly Ramada Inn at Six Flags)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Eureka
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“animal house”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

checked in with my family hoping for a relaxing night before a fun day at six flags...what I got was so very different.
Checked in later in the evening after dinner and was told I got the last room. It was in the back of the hotel, had a shared balcony/deck with the room nextdoor. The door looked as if it had been kicked a few times. The room was musty and humid. The a/c unit had no wall thermostat and ran constantly rarely giving out any comfortable air. The fixtures looked old and beat up. The bathroom had hair stuck on the walls, on the floor and was generally gross...cleaned in a big hurry at best.
The hall was loud with heavy slamming metal doors and the constant parade to the clunking ice machine. After I put my children to bed the young men in the room next to us came home from the park...loud and probably drunk...one guy went on the deck and had a loud R rated conversation on his cell phone bragging about his in park conquests. His charming roommates locked him out on the deck. He then decided to shout and in the most foul way ask his buddies open the door. My entire family was woken up. Called the desk and was told they would send up security. This is probably a bad sign that a hotel needs a security staff.
The noise simmered down for a moment (while security visited) but quickly started up. 3 hours later I was able to fall asleep.
The breakfast buffet looked cheep and nasty. The restraunt is dark and old...the service is crabby. The pool was beat up and everything smelled like an old ashtray. Any non smoking section is in name only.

This hotel was like a scene out of Animal House. LOW CLASS!

I let the mgr know how my $130 stay was and he gave me a list of excuses and a whopping $30 covering my over priced breakfast.

never never ever again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    61
    38
    17
    14
See reviews for
102
23
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The kids loved the holidome, loved the pool and the atmosphere. Our room had a nice balcony. We had great experiences with the staff. The pool attendant was very kind and even showed our children how to play shuffleboard and the mini golf. The front desk staff was very responsive, from before check in to check out. The shuttle service to Six Flags was fantastic. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

169.99 for a room too small. Nothing exceptional about this hotel. The only upside is the holidome for children (however, the bartender is unhappy with her job, the pool is cold and the hot tub isnt all that hot.) Being closer to six flags is an advantage.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

We stayed here as part of a group, so I had no choice in the matter. This hotel is what I would consider a typical Holiday Inn - battleworn and a little frayed around the edges. Not bad, but certainly not great, either. If you're going to Six Flags with kids, it's really handy and is probably OK. There's a (rather nasty) McDonalds next door and they'll love that. But if you're not going to Six Flags, you'd be better off staying elsewhere. One thing to mention is the hotel restaurant. DO NOT eat there, it is absolutely horrible. We talked with others in our group and they had the same opinion of the restaurant.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Stayed here on Friday and Saturday night. It was a great place to stay. The staff was very friendly. Rooms were spacious and clean and beds comfortable. Our room had an entrance from the inside hallway and outside parking lot. Large pool and wasn't too crowded either. They have a free shuttle which takes you to and from Six Flags or it is close enough you can walk. (this saves you $15 parking at Six Flags. ) You can save a few bucks on Six Flags tickets if you buy them at the hotel.

The only negative I have is the smoking inside the public areas of the hotel. People smoke around the pool and the eating area. Beware if you want a pool view room or if you like to lounge at the pool you may have to suffer the smoke.

There is no free breakfast, but there is a restaurant at the hotel.Their is also a McDonalds next door to hotel and a few other restaurants and a Walmart within 2 miles.

Overall, it is a great hotel and I will definitely stay here again when I return to Six Flags.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wi
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

If you're looking for a no hassle, no problems, comfortable place to stay on a weekend, don't stay here! As it gets towards dusk, during our travels, I start looking for a nice place to spend the night. We pass many motels that we're unsure of and look for what our experience tells us is a no hassle, mid-priced, and comfortable place to spend the night. (Hampton Inns, Americinn, Best Western, Holiday Inn Express) This Holiday Inn was it going westbound on I44 in Mo. last week. The staff at the desk said that they are always extremely busy on the weekends, (even in the off season), but they had a room for us. We were sent to the overeflow building on the property. In the room the heat/air unit was extremely noisy, TV controls difficult to navigate (this TV had to be at least 10 years old), and generally the room was not very clean or inviting. We fought our way through the crowds around the pool area to get to the restaurant where we thought we could at least have a nice dinner. The waite staff was great and we ordered our favorites (mine was a ribeye smothered in mushrooms). But just before our order was ready a group of 6 adults and 6 children walked in and proceeded to re-arrange the dining room tables to suite their needs. This was without even being welcomed by the waite staff. They were loud and the young ones were running around the tables. The staff should have been more prompt with welcoming them and asked them to respect other diners! The food was great but the atmosphere took away from any enjoyment we could have had. Well----you get the picture. Maybe it's an O.K. place during the week. But next time I'd be better off sleeping in the car than here on a Saturday!! Oh yeah -- the High Speed Internet was worse than dial-up. If you could get a connection at all.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

My family and I stayed at the Holiday Inn at Six Flags in Eureka last week. All I can say is Wow! The hotel is so FUN and extremely clean. Rooms are modern and attractive with very comfortable beds. The entire staff was top notch...everyone at the hotel went out of their way to see that all our needs were met. We had such a nice stay. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Saint Louis West Six Flags? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Saint Louis West Six Flags

Address: 4901 Six Flags Road, PO Box 999, Eureka, MO 63025 (Formerly Ramada Inn at Six Flags)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Eureka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Saint Louis West Six Flags 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday-Inn at Six Flags is located a short walk from the main gate of the Six Flags St. Louis amusement park. In addition, the hotel offers an indoor Fun Dome that includes a pool, sauna, whirlpool, exercise area, video game area, putting green and shuffleboard. Walk to Six Flags St. Louis on a connecting sidewalk or enjoy a complimentary air-conditioned shuttle bus to and from the amusement park. Just minutes away is Hidden Valley Ski Resort, Jellystone Park, and Purina Farms. Kids Eat Free at all meals in our Haymarket Restaurant. Drive to any major St. Louis attraction all within 30 minutes, including the Gateway Arch, Anheuser Busch Brewery, St. Louis Zoo, Grants Farm, Cardinal Baseball/Busch Stadium, Rams Football/Edward Jones Dome, and Meramec Caverns. Enjoy an Unparalleled Environment at Holiday Inn Six Flags, constructed by Irish stone masons with handcrafted limestone walls, detailed woodwork and decorative brickwork provide a backdrop of warmth and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Saint Louis West Six Flags reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Saint Louis West 6 Flags
Holiday Inn Saint Louis West Six Flags Hotel Eureka
Holiday Inn Eureka
Eureka Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Saint Louis West Six Flags, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.