We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful tour--well worth your time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Endangered Wolf Center

The Endangered Wolf Center
6750, Tyson Valley Rd, Eureka, MO
(636) 938-5900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Attractions in Eureka
Attraction details
Rotonda West, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour--well worth your time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We visited the Endangered Wolf Center on a typically warm St. Louis summer day and enjoyed one of the most informative tours imaginable. Our guide shared so much information about wolves, differences among the species, and the near loss of the Mexican Grey Wolves. One certainly cannot leave the facility without a healthy admiration for the wolves--and the work the Center is doing to not only save them but to encourage human respect for the animals. Throughout the entire tour, and every encounter with staff members, you sensed their respect and concern for the wolves, fox and painted dogs. And their hope to share that with visitors. Admirable.
Seeing the animals in their large, well protected enclosures was absolutely amazing. They truly are majestic creatures.
Call and make an appointment for a tour. It's well worth the short ride from the city to Eureka!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cwmbran, South Wales
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Excellent experience, volunteers were very informative and enthusiastic. Had a presentation first to understand the different types of wolves before seeing them. We also learnt that the film "the grey"is very inaccurate about them attacking humans. Wolves are actually afraid of humans. The enclosures were large and good conditions.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“This place is doing some terrific things!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have visited here on more than one occasion. Kudos to the people that work or volunteer here and are trying to help the endangered wolves. The camps are great for kids, the "wolf howl" is wonderful (yes, we did get to hear the wolves howl!), and the educational programs are a great learning experience. Please give them a try, and make a donation to a great cause while you are there.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

After first seeing the EWC at their September Wolf-Fest, I went here with my son for an evening wolf howl. I wasn't sure if we'd actually get to hear them howl, but we did and it was awesome! This would be a great outing for a scout troop or small group of kids. They do an amazing job caring for these animals, keeping them wild, and educating the public. Their facebook page has lots of info. I appreciate what they are doing with trying to get the LOBO established again in the US Southwest so this species doesn't become extinct. I really enjoyed our visit there and learning more about what they do. Their work is really appreciated by me after seeing the facility. They have many different types of wolves there.

Because they try to limit the amount of "human" exposure the wolves have, you'll want to be sure to call and either make a reservation or confirm their hours. From what I gather, they aren't just freely open to the public all the time. http://www.endangeredwolfcenter.org/home

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Fallon, MO
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Howl Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A totally amazing venue run by equally amazing and dedicated staff. What a gem to have in the St. Louis metro area. To think that the US population of wild Mexican Gray wolves exists because of this organization is totally awesome!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Endangered Wolf Center also viewed

 

Been to The Endangered Wolf Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Endangered Wolf Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.