We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Rolling Falls” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Falls Shut-in

Rocky Falls Shut-in
Shannon County, Eminence, MO
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Attractions in Eminence
Type: Geologic Formations, Outdoors
Activities: Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A shut-in more similar to a waterfall with a pool at the bottom.
Mountain View, Missouri
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful Rolling Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I went to Rocky Falls again this year. I've gone for years now, generally every year early in the summer. It's a nice drive to the falls. Once you're there you're sort overwhelmed with how beautiful this area is. Formed about 1.5 billion years ago as molten rock flowing to the surface. The rhyolite rock is a harder rock which directed the shape of the falls into its formation only allowed it to move in its cracks rather than erode as it would have softer rock such as limestone.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    4
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arnold, Missouri
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We went down to Eminence, MO over labor day weekend. We go there a couple times a year, but we decided to check out Rocky Falls this time. So glad that we did! It was so pretty and relaxing. People took a trail up to the top of the falls if they wanted to on foot, but I chickened out along with a friend of mine. I heard the rocks are kind of slippery, but the view from the top is cool. They have picnic tables and benches if you want to take a picnic or you can have one on the beach. I don't have any pictures to post right now because I still have all of my great shots on my camera!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bean Creek MO
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Missouri most beautiful water fall... .. .oo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have enjoyed many vacations in the Eminence Missouri area exploring the many big springs, streams, mills etc...
There are not many water falls in the Show-Me state but Rocky Falls should be on yer list of things to checkout in the area.
Be sure and climb the granite boulders for an up close look...

This area offers many photo ops...

See ya down the road... .. .O o- Carl (BC Mayor..=)~

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stopped at the Visitor's Center in Van Buren and she recommended that we go to Rocky Falls. What a nice little swimming area! The falls were beautiful. The area was very clean and the water was calm in the swimming area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Love Rocky Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

It's a beautiful little place where you could spend all day just playing in the water and climbing around. The rocks do get slippery so be careful!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocky Falls Shut-in also viewed

 

Been to Rocky Falls Shut-in? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Falls Shut-in, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.