We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Airport West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Airport West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Airport West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3400 Rider Trail South, Earth City, MO 63045   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Earth City
Greenville, MS
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Hotel was great, I stayed there two days. The only problem I had was a mistake made by one of the clerks. I had place the privacy sign outside my door so when the cleaning person saw it instructions was placed under the door to call the front desk when I wanted the room serviced. When I got ready to leave for the day at about 1030 I called the front desk and told the clerk I was leaving for the day and the room could be serviced. When I returned that night at about 10 I was my key card wouldn't work and when I went to the front desk to get that fixed I was told the clerk earlier had checked me out of the room. Luckily my luggage and other items was still in the room and the night clerk checked me back into the room. But each time I'm in the Saint Louis Area I'm going to stay here

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    28
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
9
1
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

The night clerk was nice was late arriving due to work and other delays room was still available. The bed was high and very comfortable bottle water and snacks in the room tv stations that I like to watch the remote may need to be replace or the battiers now my major problem was no bathtub only a shower and i wanted a soak down bath other than that it was great

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at this location as the result of an online discount offer. Probably wouldn't have chose it otherwise and we were a little concerned at how far away it was from our destination of Missouri Baptist Univ but as things turned out, it was a good choice. Reportedly, the hotel recently went through a very major renovation - it's quite new and clean feeling.

We arrived at 1130pm and were picked up by the hotel shuttle driver. Great guy, very accommodating and he even took us back out to White Castle after we'd gotten checked in. (Note... ALWAYS use the drive-thru at the local White Castle - it's NOT a good neighborhood!!!).

The hotel is located in a commercial area but not a "bad" area at all. It's literally a few miles from the Verizon Amphitheatre and we even caught a concert while we were there.

The front desk staff was very accommodating and the room was fine. Clean, comfortable and definitely priced right from our online deal. Not sure what the regular rate was, but our deal was unbeatable!

They have a decent restaurant on site, a very small business center and good parking.

Over-all, a good experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Airport West, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear lernerfive,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so I was very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centralia, Missouri
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Staying at this hotel for one night and I am glad it isn't any longer. I've been here for an hour honestly and I'm ready to leave. I'm in the business center and am sweating because the temperature is very poorly regulated. My room is beautiful upon first glance but it has two cleaning rags on the bedside table and a half eaten Jimmy John's sandwich in the mini fridge, which tells me the housekeeping staff was not very thorough. I also have to go through the housekeeping quarters to access the stairs if I don't want to use the elevator. I'm really not too impressed with this one and intend on letting the staff know.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Airport West, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear McDowellM,

Thank you for the review of our hotel. We just want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations on this particular day. I have taken note of your valuable comments and we will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Nebraska
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed at this hotel this week for some Cardinal games in STL. Booked through Hotwire and it's always a crap shoot what you'll get for a room. Mike at the front desk Sunday night set us up with a double room at our request. Mike and the other staff at the front desk were always helpful and accommodating. The indoor pool was at a comfortable temperature and refreshing.

The only negatives are trying to figure out how to manouever into the hotel from I-70 initially and that our keys had to be reset 3 times during our stay. Otherwise this hotel is a great bargain and I would stay here again on future trips to STL.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I cannot thank all of the staff who helped when me when my flight was canceled. From the shuttle driver to the front desk staff, everyone showed concern and really helped me out. The hotel is recently remodeled and the bed was extremely comfortable. The indoor pool really helped calm my frayed nerves. The next morning, the front desk staff continued to provide assistance - this is 5 star service in my book!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

It was clear to me that the hotel staff was disinterested in doing their jobs from the moment I walked in. The desk clerk was unhelpful. The next day when I returned to the room at 4:45 PM the room had not been cleaned. When I called down to ask that it be cleaned, the clerk's first response was to offer to bring up towels instead of cleaning the room. I replied no, that I wanted my room cleaned, and mentioned that there was a housekeeping person on my floor. She then asked if I had talked to her, and I resisted to urge to ask isn't that your job, and said no, asking her to have someone clean the room. The room was cleaned the next four days, but usually incompletely. The restaurant, Malone's, is not worth going to. I had an OK breakfast the first morning, followed by terrible service and a botched order the second day. My dinner on the first night was unpalatable, the low point being a bowl of green beans with a couple of pieces of bacon that had been microwaved into grayness.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Airport West, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear nukeprof,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.

I humbly extend an apology for the dissatisfaction you had with our houesekeeping services and for the poor customer service you received. This is definitely not reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves with and we deeply regret the troubles you have encountered.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Airport West

Address: 3400 Rider Trail South, Earth City, MO 63045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Earth City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Earth City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Airport West 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Airport West is located in the heart of Earth City just minutes from St. Louis International Airport - Lambert Field.We offer complimentary shuttle transportation within a 5-mile radius of the hotel 24 hours a day, and we're only 20-30 minutes from all major attractions in St. Louis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Louis Airport West Hotel Bridgeton
Holiday Inn Bridgeton
Bridgeton Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.