We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get better than this zoo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Promised Land ZOO

Promised Land ZOO
32297 Hwy 86, Eagle Rock, MO 65641
417-271-3324
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Eagle Rock
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to over 500 rare and endangered animals from all over the world representing 56 species. We have camels, kangaroos, lemurs, buffalo, omnivores, deer and we are home to many rescued large reptiles and tropical birds too! We have just added some cats to our park including Caracals and Servals. There is plenty to see in our 4 mile drive thru and petting zoo with walk thru area too! Come during one of our bottle feeding times and you will get to help our zookeepers bottle feed baby animals! Newly added this past summer we opened a new wing to the Walk Thru to include a Ring-tailed Lemur Exhibit, an American Alligator Poll and the Prarie Dog Town! Open everyday, year-round! Have a bigger family? Promised Land ZOO now offers a special Family Rate that will allow you to bring all the kids you want at a discounted rate (see our website for details). Also look to our website for personal tour, group tour and special party information. Bottle feedings daily.
Blue Eye, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It doesn't get better than this zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We took a group of 8 family members to Promised Land Zoo last week. It was over-the-top wonderful! Our group ranged in ages 3 to 83 and everyone had a wonderful time. Someone even mentioned she wouldn't be able to take her kids to other zoos because it doesn't get better than this one!
We plan on making more trips back there as they add to their list of animals.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    12
    8
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, MO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Watch out for that llama!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This was great fun! It is a drive thru park where animals come right up to your vehicle. We saw a wide variety of animals and it was a good value for the price. We did an add-on after going through the Branson location. Feed was just over $8 for a large bucket and I would recommend having some because of the llama they call "Detour". This crazy animal is so smart and just stood in front of our car blocking the way until we threw food out the window! He was good for some laughs. My daughter loved it although she got a bit tweaked out by their proximity! Petting zoo signs were not correct and we never did find the "nursery". Great time and nice people. Very large Bible verses posted throughout but not much of a turnoff for this atheist. I would love to come back with my mom!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unexpected surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We totally enjoyed this self tour in our vehicle. I suggest you buy the BIG bag of food, or maybe two.... lol....... it was so fun and funny to feed all the animals... they were quite entertaining.... we laughed and enjoyed this tour, came back and petted the animals.... we were quite surprised.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Since having moved from the upper Midwest and discovering that "safaris" of this sort are oddly common in the MO/AR areas, I can really say this one is just ok compared to the Gentry, AR option. Animals appear to be well cared for, and have ample space which is nice to see, but little variety and, for the neat option of being able to feed them, it gets tricky trying to vault some of the pieces out of your window to the eager animals. We were passing through and it was a good side trip for the kids, but I've gotten picky about my drive-thru zoos, ha.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, MO
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Llamas and ducks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our family with teenagers thoroughly enjoyed our trip through Promised Land Zoo. We have always went through the drive-through animal park on I-44 close to Springfield. This one is very similar where they have a drive-through area with animals and a walk-through petting zoo area. The petting zoo was a little small but had a variety of animals. They do know you are going to feed them and enjoy begging for the food. A keeper came out with some bananas and strawberries and let us feed the lemurs. All of us really enjoyed the interaction. The drive-through area mostly has deer, antelope, steer, zebras, and that type of grazing animals. We enjoyed it and some animals develop a certain personality, for sure. We had a pretty persistent llama that after feeding him, he would walk in front of the car so we would feed him more. From the other reviews, this is the normal behavior for him, but he usually has some cohorts. We didn't see them. We also had a blast with 4 ducks that tracked us down twice to get fed. They saw us from some distance and waddled so fast that we were sure they would fall over. It was hilarious! A little pricey if you have teenagers, but no worse than many other attractions of this type. Our family of four with a big bucket of feed was $70. If you are in the area, you have to try it at least once.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Promised Land ZOO also viewed

 

Been to Promised Land ZOO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Promised Land ZOO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.