We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem of a Zoo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Promised Land ZOO

Promised Land ZOO
32297 Hwy 86, Eagle Rock, MO 65641
417-271-3324
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Eagle Rock
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to over 500 rare and endangered animals from all over the world representing 56 species. We have camels, kangaroos, lemurs, buffalo, omnivores, deer and we are home to many rescued large reptiles and tropical birds too! We have just added some cats to our park including Caracals and Servals. There is plenty to see in our 4 mile drive thru and petting zoo with walk thru area too! Come during one of our bottle feeding times and you will get to help our zookeepers bottle feed baby animals! Newly added this past summer we opened a new wing to the Walk Thru to include a Ring-tailed Lemur Exhibit, an American Alligator Poll and the Prarie Dog Town! Open everyday, year-round! Have a bigger family? Promised Land ZOO now offers a special Family Rate that will allow you to bring all the kids you want at a discounted rate (see our website for details). Also look to our website for personal tour, group tour and special party information. Bottle feedings daily.
San Fran
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem of a Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Promised Land Zoo is a pretty surreal place. One minute you're in the middle of the winding hills of the Ozarks, the next minute you find yourself rolling through a herd of zebras with ostriches chasing your car and buffalo eyeing you. The zoo has big cats, monkeys, and all sorts of other animals you wouldn't expect to find in rural southern Missouri. The Promised Land Zoo was a gem of an experience, and something I would recommend to anybody.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    12
    8
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Branson, MO
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best $40 spent in a long time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

What a great experience! I loved, loved, loved every minute of it. I can't believe people complain about the smell in the gift shop- yes, it is noticible if you don't live around animals but they have exhibitions there- bunnies, snakes, iguanas, etc- of course, there will be a little smell. I am also surprised that people complain about animals being behind fence- come on!
Overall, all three of us loved it from start to finish. Seeing the face of my two year old when the animals come up asking for food- priceless. Llamas, deer, emu were pretty persistent! But so much fun!
The only disappointment that I had was the petting zoo- almost empty: goats, miniature horses, 3 llamas. Many animals were taken to the Branson location is what we were told. And since we live in Branson, we will definitely be visiting that zoo soon.
Overall, again, BEST $40 spent in a long time. Great family time. We didn't feel rushed, took tons of pictures, and had a blast! Thank you for such great opportunity! We will be back!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkadelphia AR
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Pricey but Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Promised Land Zoo was pricey but fun. The kids had a bucket of food for the animals, and they literally run up to the car to be fed. We were very amused by the llamas which behaved like highway robbers. When we tried to drive on after feeding them, the largest one would stand in front of the car and glare at us while the other two looked plaintively through the side windows! There is also a petting zoo there with baby goats, alpacas, and miniature horses. The kids loved this place.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Bellow average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Your are able to have the deer walk up to haveyou but all other is behind a fence and you drive around the fences. Petting zoo you must reach over fences. Little expensive for what you get.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Promised Land Z, Owner at Promised Land ZOO, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Bryan, we are sorry to hear that you thought your visit was below average. We strive to keep all our visitors happy when they visit our parks. This week we are a bit short of petting zoo animals at the Eagle Rock location due to our grand opening of our sister park in Branson. At USDA regulated facilities like ours, we are required that all animals be behind a fence, people are no longer to get in with the animals like they used to, so we do adhere to that regulation.

We hope that you will give us a chance in the future or take a short drive to Branson and visit our other park. And we will beef-up the petting zoo in the coming weeks. Please enjoy the rest of your vacation and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic fun in MO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This place was so much fun! There were so many animals to see and such a beautiful peaceful place to visit. From the bison, to the emus and zebras, the zoo has quite a variety of animals, all with their own personalities too. And in the petting zoo you get to see such adorable animals which you probably wouldn't get to see anywhere else in the area. I highly recommend making the trip to see such a unique place in the Ozarks.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Promised Land ZOO also viewed

 

Been to Promised Land ZOO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Promised Land ZOO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.