We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Spectacular secluded beach front escape plus turtles” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Las Tortugas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Otates
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Playa Las Tortugas
Save
You added Playa Las Tortugas to your Saves list
Las Palmeras No. 13 | Colonia Las Fuentes, Otates, Los Otates 63708, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Spectacular secluded beach front escape plus turtles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

If you have never released baby sea turtles into the ocean then you are missing out. This was an adventure far beyond our wildest dreams or imagination. The sunset release of baby turtles made one feel like a cross between Steve Irwin and Jaques Cousteau. Magraritas optional but recommended.

At night or day one can walk along the beach for hours all the while feeling very safe. The beach is endless and has no vendors.

The grounds are garden of edenesque and there is a beautiful relaxing pool in the middle of the property.

All the homes look and feel like a welathy man's paradise retreat.

Suzanne and Gordon can anwer any questions you might have.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
portland, oregon, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

My husband and I wanted to plan a trip around helping the sea turtles. We got to help release over 1600 baby sea turtles, assist with the mothers and egg collection, and work with the staff of the turtle camp in other ways. It exceeded our expectation!
The luxury of Playa Las Tortugas, and Las Palmas where we stayed, was exceptional. It was beautifully landscaped with so many extras in the casa. The owners were especially gracious in helping accomodate a problem in our schedule back home. The beds were very comfortable. All of the pictures that you find on their website actually do tell the truth of the whole experience. We were pleased that we paid for meals to be prepared for us. The quality of the food was excellent. It was nice to know that the employees are satisfied with their jobs due to the many benefits extended to them, most important of which is steadiness of employment throughout the year for those who meet the qualifications. What a pleasure to enjoy the best of Mexico while feeling good about supporting a very eco conscious and community conscious development as well as working to help the turtles! Oh, if you travel there in the rainy season, as we did, I would recommend a vehicle with higher clearance such as RAV 4 or SUV. Due to the Playa Las Tortugas recommendation, for the first time of our trips to Mexico, we felt good about our car rental experience too through Gecko Car Rental in Bucerias.
There were plenty of activities to keep us thoroughly entertained yet enough help and relaxing settings to leave us renewed and refreshed. The perfect combination of things for an amazing vacation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

I just returned from a 1 week vacation at Playa Las Tortugas and it was great. It is so far off the beaten path that we occasionally wondered how we ever found it. It has all the ammenities of a nice resort without any of the hassles or crowds. What it is not: a party location. It is a least 20 mintues from the nearest village, down a winding dirt road through Mango orchards, Cattle Pastures, and Coconut Groves. I highly reccomend renting a vehicle, though they are willing to provide transportation upon request. We rented through Gecko in Bucerias (Puerto Vallarta outskirts) wish was also a perfect experience and reviewed elsewhere.) There are a number of rental houses available but the smaller ($1500/wk) were amazing. They have open teraza roofs with lounge furniture, grills, and more. Airconditioning in the unit we rented (Puest del Sol or#14) was just in the bedrooms on the ground floor. It was hot and humid on the second floor, but that was find as we had no intent of staying indoors at such a gorgeous location. The gardens outside were amazing and we were only steps from a great pool that although shared, was entirley our for all but the last day. The house was 100 yards from a pristine beach that is miles long and completely ours. Unheard of...even in Mexico. Probably less than 50 yards from the front door was a obscured entrance to the rive as well, and kayaks and canoes can be rented at bargain rates to explore the expansive estuary that surrounds the backside of the property.
They provide daily housekeeping and full laundry service every third day (yes, your clothes). Full cooking (cooked in your kitchen and served on your table) is available but we found that the portions were so huge that we only did it once, but the meals were delicious.
The staff was immensely helpful and extremely friendly. We would go back in a heartbeat.

Lessons learned for next time:
1 Stock up on grocieries in Puerto Vallart prior to driving to PLT. Local provisions are extremely minimal (though the staff will shop for you upon requests.)
2. If you don't want to spend an hour driving to the nearest village (and back) you can swim to the town of Platanitos that is right accross the mouth of the estuary.
3. Bring sunscreen... you can buy it in mexico, but it isn't cheap.
4. 1 week isn't quite long enough.


---Eric

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

I stayed in Casa Luna at Playa Las Tortugas with some girlfriends for a gals getaway. We arrived during a tropical rainstorm which was amazing as we sat and listened to the rain and thunder. Casa Luna has two master air conditioned suites, each with a king size bed, and its own bathroom. Each suite opens up to the green belt so you can walk from the beach and go directly into the bedroom. The kitchen was large and spacious, and extremely well equipped. The balconies from the living area and kitchen opened to spacious decks so we could easily eat outside. There was also plenty of space in the living area to sit, although we spent most of our time in the kitchen/dining area or the rooftop palapa. There is also a collection of DVD’s, CD’s and books that are available for your entertainment. The palapa on the roof was one of the most amazing parts of Casa Luna. There was nothing better than having morning coffee, a meal, or evening cocktails while enjoying the view of the ocean The beach seems to go on for miles and unpopulated. I usually only ran into one or two people on my morning runs. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They even have a meal plan where someone will come and cook for you! Fresh fruit and produce is readily available in the local towns.

I loved the eco friendly Playa Las Tortugas which recycles food scraps into compost. We were also lucky enough to be there during the time period when sea turtles come up on land and lay their eggs. There is a turtle sanctuary staffed by environmentalists who go out every night to dig up the eggs and transport them to the sanctuary where they are reburied into nests, protecting the eggs from poachers. When the baby turtles hatch, the staff then release them to the ocean ensuring a larger population of baby turtles released.

If you are looking for raging nightclubs, Playa Las Tortugas isn’t the place to go. However, if you are looking for an elegant, tropical, quiet get away, it doesn’t get much better! I would absolutely return.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

Pictures may be worth a 1000 words, but they don’t do justice to the real experience at Playa Las Tortugas. Our maiden adventure to Mexico exceeded our expectations. The weather couldn’t have been better and the housing accommodations were perfect. A pristine beach, swimming pool, kayaking, swimming and day trips to explore the neighboring communities kept us busy. On the other hand, the serenity of listening to the ocean while reading a good book provided a wonderful escape from the stress of “normal” life in the states. If there was a disappointment, it was not getting to be part of the turtle camp. We’ll plan a return trip around the nesting or release of the turtles.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint louis
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

We just spent one of the most amazing weeks of our lives with our dearest and oldest friends and our immediate family at PLT. The energy of the land is very powerful and we loved every minute of our stay at PLT.

The spacious and uniquely decorated villas housed our families and friends for four days for our wedding. The villas are well kept and come with a cook! What a treat to have someone cook for us so we could stay to enjoy the land, sea and company. They all have these great roof top views. Although, they still seem to be working out the glitches with housekeeping staff because not all of the villas were cleaned daily. So my recommendation is to stay on top of it and let Gabriel know. They also cooked way to much food for some of the villas.

The beach is lined with coconut trees and is so natural. One of the highlights was watching the strong men climb the coconut trees to harvest coconuts. The warm water welcomes swimmers, turtles, and boogie boarders. Next to the property is an estuary where we enjoyed canoeing and kayaking while watching many species of birds. On the drive there, we traveled through typical mexican villages where the tourists are far and few between. This is cowboy land with lots of ranchers and farmers. The six mile road to the property is lined with cattle, mango and coconut groves. The drive there was long for some of us and a little difficult for the younger ones (getting car sick) but, I thought it was worth it. If you are looking for natural beauty, off the beaten path, this is the place for you. The children (ages 4-18) in our group loved this place. Our friends went horse back riding and claimed it was a dream come true. Beware of herds of cattle, my sister was frightened by a heard while running on the beach but, managed to escape with no harm done. We saw dolphins from our villa porch. I also loved the soft sunsets that put off this gentle pink light.

The staff was very generous and easy to work with. Adriana helped us book our villas and was always there to answer questions. Gabriel helped us with the logistics of the wedding including transportation, salsa dance lessons, setting up tent on beach, two beach front dinners, hiring photographers and videographers, musicians, flowers, and cake. He went into town with us the day before guests arrived to help find all the things we needed for ceremony. He was very attentive to the hundreds of emails that went back and forth for the planning. He worked very hard to serve us, was kind and extremely calm, meeting our continual needs. Martha, our cook, was extremely friendly and a great cook. One person in our group did get sick after the rehearsal dinner and another noticed the chicken wasn't fully cooked for one of the big meals together. Although, no one else got sick. The food for the wedding dinner was okay, the beef was overcooked. I think because they aren't used to catering for big groups. The ambiance and and pride they had in creating our group dinners sort of made up for the few mishaps with the food. And Gabriel, tried very hard to make the dinners special. We loved the tent and how it was decorated.

Be sure to leave extra early for the airport. Part of our group got stuck in military checkpoint and missed their flight back, taking them 24 hours to get back home! There is also a one hour time change between PLT and PV.

If you are looking for a place with raw beauty and a natural setting, I highly recommend PLT. I think it is especially great for family vacation. There aren't alot of other people there, so it seems best to bring your friends and family to enjoy it with. I hope to go back to celebrate our anniversary as much as we can! This is not a typical resort, this is a special land and nature sanctuary with traditonal kind, local people. We hope that all who go there will help to maintain it's beauty and sacredness.

  • Liked — Natural beauty and mix of luxury and bohemian accomdations
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Playa Las Tortugas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Las Tortugas

Address: Las Palmeras No. 13 | Colonia Las Fuentes, Otates, Los Otates 63708, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Los Otates
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Los Otates
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playas Las Tortugas is an enclave of approximately 14 stylish homes that are individually owned and most are rented when the owner is not in residence. They are set in a working coconut plantation and feature all modern conveniences. They are located between the Pacific Ocean on the West, a bird filled fresh water estuary on the North, and the coconut plantation provides seclusion from the rest of the planet - a place to relax and commune with nature - away from the world's tourists!Rental options vary from a pair of roomy duplexes to multi-bedroom villas. Maid service is provided daily and our gardeners tend the grounds six days per week. Meal preparation is optional. All homes have air-conditioned bedrooms and two homes have full house A/C. Groups of homes can be rented for use by groups such as yoga clubs, business groups, and wedding partiesThe palm lined beach extends for more than five miles and there are no other dwellings within miles of the beach. The large community pool is centrally located and comfortable. Kayak and surf board rentals are available from the on-site Property Manager. Free WiFi is provided.Guests enjoy surfing, swimming, hiking,fishing, kayaking, horseback riding,relaxing, and massage. The Playa Las Tortugas property manager arranges any excursions desired, airport transportation, and the like. Small Mexican villages are frequently visited for day trips - especially on market days. These small farm towns have some signature Mexican restaurants and the six oceanfront restaurants at Platinitos can be reached in 20 minutes by kayaking across the estuary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Playa Las Tortugas Hotel Riviera Nayarit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Las Tortugas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.