We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Museum... About Dogs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of American Kennel Club Museum of the Dog

American Kennel Club Museum of the Dog
1721 S. Mason Road, Des Peres, Saint Louis, MO 63131
314-821-3647
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Des Peres
Attraction details
Des Peres, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“A Museum... About Dogs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nothing really too spectacular about this place, unless you are truly a "Crazy Dog Lady," or just need a break from the sweltering St. Louis heat and humidity.

There are dog paintings. Dog pictures. Dog collars... all on display for your viewing. The only thing missing from this museum are actual dogs, but a quick lap around the surrounding Queeny Park trails will find you running into plenty of dogs and their owners in no time at all.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    9
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Not really worth 5$ @ person. not much to see, we were done in 20 minutes, it's a beautiful portion of the park but it's free to stay outside and wander around. I'd say skip it unless you wanted to see a particular exhibit at a certain time.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worth The Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

If you like dogs at all, this museum is a don't-miss! It is a located in a beautiful building in a beautiful, high-end neighborhood, worth it for the drive alone. The museum is all art: paintings, photographs, and sculptures of dogs. Easily toured in an hour or less, depending on how much time you want to spend. You can take photos without flash, and the artworks was so lovely that I took a LOT of photos! Some nice historical exhibits too. On weekends they have a "featured breed" that you can visit in one of the museum's rooms. Our weekend was Pugs. They were of course, super-friendly dogs and very sweet and fun to pet--a big hit with the kids we saw visiting, too. One of the highlights of our trip!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, North Dakota, United States
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Hours/days of operation need to be posted.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I tried to visit on a Tuesday, only to find that they were not open. The sign stated that they plan on opening Tuesdays in the future but that didn't help me and Mocha any. I do not remember what days they are open as I was disappointed not to be able to take my dog with me on a visit I'd looked forward too. There were others who had the same experience and we discussed other places we could attend.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unique Museum for Dog Lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Learned about this AKC museum from a "Things to Do" list in our hotel on on eof many visits to St Louis. Museum is small enough that 1.5 to 2 hours should give you an enjoyable visit. All works of art have been donated. Fascinating displays on dogs, primarily paintings, but there are some real gems: doghouse, merry-go-round figure, biscuit jar. There is a permanent collection including a poignant display on dogs serving in various wars and one on the St. Louis K-9 corps going back to the 1950’s. The temporary exhibit was on Alaska sled dogs. It cost us $2.50 (senior) pp and we made a donation on the way out because it was such a gem.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Kennel Club Museum of the Dog also viewed

 

Been to American Kennel Club Museum of the Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Kennel Club Museum of the Dog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.