We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to believe its a chain ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McCormick & Schmick's Seafoods

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
McCormick & Schmick's Seafoods
17 West County Center, Des Peres, Saint Louis, MO 63131
5032263440
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
McCormick & Schmick's Seafoods is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 34 Restaurants in Des Peres
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Manchester & I270
Springfield, Missouri, USA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Hard to believe its a chain ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Spectacular sea food (freshest oysters and magnificent scallops) and a well above average steak, complimented by a selection from the short but very good list of wines by the glass.

It was a great meal, in a meticulously well crafted environment, with to notch service.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    10
    15
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor patio, good food, expensive.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great outdoor patio. Good people watching. Good service. Lobster bisque was excellent. Our other fish selections were fine. A bit pricy, but we knew that going into the experience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“very consistent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

very consistent place to go when you are in the mood for some fresh fish/seafood. you know what to expect when you go here. always good, fresh choices.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Re review”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Poor service, high prices, mediocre food, uncaring management! My friend and I (2 women ) dined at McCormick and Schmicks's last night. This has previously been a favorite for my family and I. Service was minimal..you now have to ask for bread..more than once if you want 2 small rolls. We split an expensive salad because they have no dinner salads and had to do the splitting ourselves and were not even given utensils to do the job. Water was served warm, my dinner was served semi warm...not good for halibut. The fish was small and vegetables minimal...breakfast type unexciting potatoes and a small amount of zucchini and yellow squash. Drinks are overpriced and the same beer was $1.00 more in the restaurant vs bar.

This is a splurge Restaurant. I had a mediocre entree that had to be reheated, half a salad, a beer and a glass of wine and my bill was around $65.00 before tip. When I told the waiter I was unhappy with the whole night he could do nothing and called over an responsive rude manager... They lost a loyal customer ...he did not care. Could have offered something for us to return but he did not. Not an experience I want for a higher priced restaurant! I posted a good review for this restaurant in March 2012.. I take it all back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Mo
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“very mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Excellent, attentive service. Very mediocre food at high prices. Fish was bland and dry. Much better fish at Oceano or Bristol's Cafe

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCormick & Schmick's Seafoods also viewed

Des Peres, Saint Louis
Creve Coeur, Saint Louis
 
Des Peres, Saint Louis
 

Been to McCormick & Schmick's Seafoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McCormick & Schmick's Seafoods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.