We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst restaurant experience ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge De Grilly

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Auberge De Grilly
34 route de l'Eglise, 01220 Grilly, France
+33 (0)4 50 20 25 14
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 restaurants in Grilly
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Prevessin Moens, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The worst restaurant experience ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We entered this place rather late and asked if we could be seated without a reservation, the woman assured us it was fine to dine. She was very welcoming and friendly. The menu had three choices for the day, a beef, chicken and a fish. Our daughter is vegan so we asked if she could have a salad, the waitress said no but she could make her pasta with olive oil and broccoli. We thought it was fine, ordered our wine and waited. A minute later she came out and said no pasta, rice, we said fine. A few minutes later the chef came out of the kitchen and starting yelling at us, saying he did not wake up at 8:30 to cook pasta at 1:30...he said this is a restaurant that serves beef, chicken, and fish, not pasta. Meanwhile we were thinking, yell at your waitress, not us, she suggested it. My daughter, the vegan living in France, is ALWAYS prepared to not eat and wait until she goes home. We paid for our wine and walked out. We shouldnt have paid for the wine, but we are nicer than the chef. We will NEVER go back and I will tell everyone I know about how incredible rude that man was.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    4
    4
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

If you like fish, and an intimate environment, this is the auberge for you.

We have been there twice and are due to go back a third time to treat someone for their birthday - that's what we think of the place. A treat.

Not pretentious, small, a few menus of the day, but they do it right. Quiet atmosphere, fire in the winter, outdoor eating in a nice area in the summer.

Fingers crossed that they stay and friendly and nice, and the food is as exquisite. Affordable, good value for money.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Average food, not very nice service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We dined at the Auberge with some friends, be advised that you have to take a menu, should you for any medical reason or personal choice ask for "just" one dish, this will be a problem. Servings are generous, but food is quite salty. The terrace seems nice but was closed in April in the evening. Overall there are nicer places to visit for a casual evening.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great place to indulge your dear selves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Auberge de Grilly is my favorite casual dining place, as it is there that I can treat myself with great dishes featuring French cuisine without spending my family's weekly budget. The restaurant offers only 3 or 4 choices of menus from about 24 to 40 euros each which makes it highly affordable but really delicious. Great for dining in couple, but less adapted for kids. The atmosphere is cosy and relaxing. Great quality-price relation.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge De Grilly also viewed

 
Divonne-les-Bains, Ain
Divonne-les-Bains, Ain
 

Been to Auberge De Grilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge De Grilly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.