We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Motel from the PAST !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wagon Wheel Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cuba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wagon Wheel Motel
Save
You added Wagon Wheel Motel to your Saves list
901 E Washington Street, Cuba, MO 65453-1951   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
OPEN YEAR ROUND!!
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cuba
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Finksburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Motel from the PAST !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our stay was June 1st, 2013. We stayed in cottage #2 with an extra-long twin size bed and extra-long full size bed. The room was very nicely decorated and extremely clean. The mattresses were extremely comfortable and each bed had a down comforter and full size pillows. My wife’s parents stayed here in 1947, my wife and her parents stayed in 1960 and my wife stayed in 1973 and now we stayed here. The outside is the same beautiful stone cottages and the grounds are well maintained. Ms. Connie has updated the inside of each cottage with the comfort of travelers in mind. Be sure to check out Ms. Connie’s Shoppe and see the murals in town. NO trip on Route 66 to Cuba, MO would be complete without a stay at The Wagon Wheel. We highly recommend this motel to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    78
    11
    5
    8
See reviews for
43
126
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is a must stay motel if you are doing the route 66 trip. The rooms are small but very nice. Connie the owner has done a great job renovating this place. There is a good restaurant next door. The gift shop is very cool with lots of Route 66 memorabilia. The place is very quiet and restful.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have better internet connections
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were travelling Route 66 and staying at the Wagon Wheel Motel, seemed the obvious thing to do. The room we had was somewhat sparse in furnishings, as I had to use the bedside table to use my laptop. However, the room was clean and the bed comfortable. Connie has obviously done a lot of hard work renovating the complex.
I can also highly recommend the Frisco for an evening meal. Had the biggest salad I have ever eaten there and the staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galt, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Cuba, Missouri is the sweetest town and the Wagon Wheel Motel is the icing on this cake. Wonderful rooms, wonderful ambience and iffy that isn't enough Missouri Dicks BBQ is next door. Wonderful place. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at the Wagon Wheel during our trip on Route 66. Connie took care of us very well. The unit that we had was great. The renovation that was done was great. Next time we take a trip on 66, the Wagon Wheel will be our go to place in Cuba.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We travelled to this idyllic location and were given a very warm welcome. After viewing the rooms we went for 22 with a jacuzzi bath (ideal after a hard day on the road).

The location is perfect for Route66 and the rooms are very nicely laid out. This is an impressive restoration and well worth a visit.

This is a bike friendly motel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here based upon the stellar reviews on TripAdvisor. While the room we had (18) was quiet and clean, it was nowhere near the "must do" experience that many Route 66 visitors have clamied this motel to be.

First, the greeting from Connie, the proprietor, was somewhere between grumpy and indifferent. She wanted me to pay cash for my room, but I refused. She took the credit card. We had dogs with us, and she charged us $10 extra, which was what she quoted over the phone. We got to the room, and we found it to be TINY. As in barely walk around the bed tiny. There was a warning sign that they inventory the linens and if any of them were missing or 'damaged' that we'd be charged. Nice.

The room was very clean, and the motel has obviously been refurbished. The bathroom vanity is in the room and the shower and toilet is in the bathroom. There is NO storage for your clothes other than a hook on the wall. The TV reception was terrible. The free Wi-fi didn't reach our room. The bed was comfortable, and we did have a pleasant night's sleep.

We had dinner next door at the Missouri Hick BBQ and breakfast at Shelly's Route 66 Diner down the street. Both were wonderful. If you MUST stay in the Route 66 genre of old-style motels, this one is clean, albeit NO frills. But other than that...there's not much going on here. I'm sure that the larger rooms are more comfortable. Ours was a bed and a shower--nothing more.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wagon Wheel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wagon Wheel Motel

Address: 901 E Washington Street, Cuba, MO 65453-1951
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Cuba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cuba
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest continuously operating motel onHistoric Rte.66 totally restored. New beds, baths, Wifi, flatscreen tvs, all inthe original charm of a tourist court. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wagon Wheel Hotel Cuba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wagon Wheel Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.