We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Hour or Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bristol Seafood Grill

Bristol Seafood Grill
11801 Olive Boulevard, Creve Coeur, Saint Louis, MO 63141-6717
+1 314-567-0272
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bristol Seafood Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 47 Restaurants in Creve Coeur
Price range: $31 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: New Ballas Road
Description: With an indulgent menu focused on superior quality seafood, Bristol Seafood Grill crafts its dishes with exacting standards & pampers its guests in a comfortable atmosphere. Featuring a generous cellar selection, an oyster bar & creative cuisine, Bristol delivers culinary excellence at a surprising value. Open for weekday lunch, dinner & Sunday Brunch.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Happy Hour or Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I arrived early for a business dinner, so went to the bar for happy hour which lasts until 7pm. It was very crowded reflecting the good prices on the food selections. However after the appointment arrived & we could not carry on a conversation, we moved to the dining room for dinner. The food was tasty, but a bit overpriced. Very good service. It looked like most of the customers in the dining room were professionals, or on expense accounts. If you don't want to overspend....stick to the happy hour.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    60
    22
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conway, Arkansas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A waiter can ruin a great place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I hate to post negative reviews, The Bristol Seafood Grill looks like a great place. and the food was very good. But if you get a tall waiter with an earring (I won't mention his name) and he thinks that he is the greatest waiter on the planet, ask to be seated in another section.
We waited for 30 minutes before he came by to tell us how great his service was going to be.
We were thankful that help staff brought by rolls, water and then eventually our food.
30 minutes after we finally got our food he swooped by again to see if the food was prepared correctly. Then later another help staffer took our plates and we waited another 17 minutes before he swooped in to see if we needed anything else. I always tip, even for bad service.
So I left 10% for his 3 grand appearances. It is hard to say if we will be back, there are so many other great places in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“"A"-level prices, "B"-quality food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Bristol aspires to a modestly upscale ambiance - shorts wouldn't necessary find, but open collar polo shirts would. The menu is impressive in its scope and ambition. The waiter was amiable, attentive and well-informed. The bar end of the establishment was loud on a Friday night, with washed-over into the restaurant end. The food, sadly, was not consistently excellent.

They served warm biscuits before the meal, which were okay but no better than Red Lobster.

One of us ordered a mojito (a bit dry, weak on mint) and the other gave the waiter rein to select a glass of semi-sweet Reisling. The unnamed wine was dry, no more than okay and not worth $9.

Three entrees: Pretzel-crusted trout (excellent!), blackened chicken penne pasta (nice sauce, almost no chicken) and fish and chips (flavorless and left uneaten). The lobster mac and cheese was dry, had almost no cheese and a few chunks of lobster; it's a sad shadow of what we're had at places like the Capitol Grille.

Two desserts: chocolate lava cake (a warmed-over cupcake, dry, crumbly, lava-free - it took a long time to get and we ended up returning it) and creme brulee (only the very center of the custard had been caramelized and even that was thin and rushed).

The meal ran $120 (before tip) for a family of three. If everything was up to the standard set by the trout, it would have been entirely worth the money. As is, we'd be unlikely to return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good seafood in the heart of the midwest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

One doesn't usually rush to fish and seafood restaurants in the midwest. Given the distance to either coast, you don't really expect to find the freshest fin-fare. But Bristol Seafood Grill was a very pleasant surprise.

The restaurant itself is located on a busy main street, not far from I-270, and the decor is dark and clubby - more like a steakhouse than a fish resto. Our server was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful and the wine list was extensive and fairly priced.

We had two appetizers - the lobster rolls and a spicy tuna sushi roll. Neither was particularly outstanding although they weren't terrible either.

On the other hand, the rest of the food - from the scrumptious biscuits, to the lobster bisque, to all of our main courses, was outstanding. If the Copper River sockeye salmon is available, don't miss it. Ditto the seared scallops.

A great option when you're tired of meat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Defiance, Missouri
Top Contributor
439 reviews 439 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Nice Fresh Seafood House in the Triangle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

In the Traingle of 70/40 and the Mo river at Winghaven the Bristol Seafood Grill has a nice ambience, a good menu well sorted out in groupings, conmfortable areas and good service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bristol Seafood Grill also viewed

 
Frontenac, Saint Louis
Creve Coeur, Saint Louis
 

Been to Bristol Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bristol Seafood Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.