We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fun Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf Shores Restaurant and Grill

Gulf Shores Restaurant and Grill
12528 Olive Blvd, Creve Coeur, Saint Louis, MO 63141-6365
(314) 878-3306
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 47 Restaurants in Creve Coeur
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Oyster Bar
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
SE Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Fun Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

A lil bit of Naw'leans in the city! Great atmosphire,daily food/drink specials & live music... what more could you ask for?!? I found the food to be good & prices resonable. I've heard they have a bit of a crowd so go early afternoon if you don't want to wait,it's a pretty small place! Just go,you'll enjoy it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    42
    10
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were hoping for a great seafood experience, but it didn't happen. I ordered the tilapia with spinach and a garlic cream sauce. The sauce was pasty - on the order of milk gravy but not that good - topped with dried parsley - it looked terrible! The cole slaw was room temperature, so I was very reluctant to eat it, since it was a mayonnaise slaw. Hush puppies were terrible.

My partner ordered a platter including a crab cake, which was mostly filler, jambalaya, andouille sausage and red beans and rice. The jambalaya was good and that's it!

Will not go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A taste of home!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I'm from the Gulf Coast area and the food here is great. I had the gumbo and it was outstanding. The atmosphere is great AND they have blues acts LIVE on the weekends! Good stuff indeed!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect for a cajun fix”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were in search of cajun and seafood and were not the least bit disappointed in Gulf Shores. Tip: go for Sunday brunch for a real taste of New Orleans (or get the authentic cafe dumond beignets).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Service/Excellent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Saturday night outside dining with friends doesn't get any better unless you add excellent Cajun food with excellent service. We ordered the spicy crawfish & okra gumbo as an appetizer which was very spicy. Hence the name, spicy .... It was very good as was the cold beer needed to tame it. Two orders of blackened shrimp alfredo pasta, one order of the same with chicken, one order of shrimp, one order of jambalaya and finally the admirals platter. By the looks of the plates, everyone enjoyed their meals. The only negative thing I heard was that the food was very spicy in some cases. So, if spicy food isn't your thing, order something else because there's plenty to choose from.
Now let's talk about our server, Austin. He did an excellent job keeping everyone happy and was very attentive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulf Shores Restaurant and Grill also viewed

Creve Coeur, Saint Louis
Creve Coeur, Saint Louis
 
Creve Coeur, Saint Louis
 

Been to Gulf Shores Restaurant and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf Shores Restaurant and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.