We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and peaceful atmosphere, friendly host!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carraig B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballindooley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carraig B&B
Save
You added Carraig B&B to your Saves list
Ballindooley,Headford rd. | Galway, Ballindooley, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Ballindooley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“Quiet and peaceful atmosphere, friendly host!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Carraig B'n'B hostel is close to Galway city center and easily to be reached by car. An alternative stroll from the busstation to the B'n'B leads trough the picturesque neighborhood with a view on an impressive landscape.
We had the pleasure to spend one night in Mary's "Carraig BnB" hostel and enjoy the lovely arranged, very tidy bedroom. The next morning we were welcomed with a genuine Irish breakfast and a wide range of other delicious food.
Mary was absolutely kind to us and gave us a lift to town twice and advice for our day trips.
We really enjoyed our stay at Carraig B'n'B and can highly recommend it to everyone!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    23
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
52
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights with my wife. Room was fine with en suite facilities up to standard. What made this exceptional were the location - just outside the city so getting the benefits of city and countryside as well as easy access to surrounding areas - and the great welcome from Mary who runs the place. We enjoyed very pleasant times in the evenings talking and drinking with her sitting out on the back terrace and learning all about the area. A great place to stay and one to return to.
D&A

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Carraig House is about 10 minutes out of the hustle and bustle of Galway. It was a bit hard to find but a call to Mary, our hostess, confirmed directions. The rooms were clean and the en suite bathroom was fine. Mary is very welcoming and helpful. She gave us a ride to the city so we would not have to worry about parking. We took a taxi back at the end of our evening. She had great suggestions for restaurants and pubs. Breakfast was delicious and each one of the four of us were served the meal we had ordered with her the night before. Her B & B is pleasant and comfy. A stay with Mary is like staying with a favorite cousin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Five of us shared the upstairs room for 3 nights, which was spacious and clean, though very warm (probably more to do with the recent heat wave). Despite the address above, Carraig is not in the centre of Ballindooley, but is much closer to Galway; just a 10 minute drive, which was handy to get a slice of the countryside but still have the amenities. We only had slight niggles with the room, such as the shower head falling off if you had the water too powerful (keeping it turned down though, it was still plenty powerful to wash in) and running out of hot water, but Mary was so lovely that we didn't really care in the end! She even offered us use of the shower in the room opposite and the electric shower downstairs to even out the water (and our bathroom queue) a bit.

The location is lovely, with the closest neighbours being the cows out the back, and Mary is the most accomodating host. She is very passionate about the Connemara area, can give you some good tips for places to see there and will go out of her way to make your stay enjoyable, even offering to run us into town if my driving friend wanted to have a drink on our last night. Breakfast is a mixture of toast, fuit, cereals etc and a full fry as you want it. It kept us full until dinner! Would definitely return if back in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This great property is just a short drive from Gaway and allows one to escape the city noise for a peaceful night sleep. The owner, Mary, was incredibly kind and helpful. She provided great dinner recommendations and was very accommodating to my Grandfather and I's unexpectedly late arrival. The property was very clean and spacious and had a nice sitting area with comfy couches. A good wireless connection allowed us to contact family back in the states without issue.

We were served a nice Irish breakfast, which was very tasty. The stay was very reasonably priced and in my opinion was an excellent value. I would highly recommend this property for the warm service and clean, comfortable accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Having friends who stayed in Galway and stated it was very noisy, we picked this location and we were very glad we did. Mary was a wondeful host with a beautiful B&B just a short ride to Galway. Mary told us about a town named Cong which we visited and found to be a nice small town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Bnb is located a 10 minute drive from Galway - there is a car park just outside the centre where you can leave your car if you want to drive in for the day/afternoon. Nice rooms, TV, haridryer, etc. The breakfast is copious and fantastic ... great soda bread ! Friendly owner, and the quality to price ratio is brilliant. A couple of minor disappointments with noise in the morning when the other guests left and lack of hot water late at night, but nothing major. Also, we phoned a few days before for a Saturday night on a bank holiday weekend and managed to get a room, which was extremely useful !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carraig B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carraig B&B

Address: Ballindooley,Headford rd. | Galway, Ballindooley, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Ballindooley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ballindooley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carraig Bed and Breakfast is the ideal base to start exploring Galway City, Cong, Connemara the Cliffs of MOHER and the Burren. The bed and breakfast is conveniently located just a stones throw from the Galway Race Course and Greyhound Stadium.This charming B&B is situated in a tranquil setting and is located just off the Headford Road (N84) and Tuam Road (N17), just 7 minutes drive from Galway City Centre.Complimentary Tea / Coffee is provided upon your arrival and a Full Irish / Continental Breakfast is available each morning. A WARM WELCOME ALWAYS AWAITS YOU AT CARRAIG B/B. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carraig B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.