We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yeranda at Barrington Tops

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Main Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yeranda at Barrington Tops
Save
You added Yeranda at Barrington Tops to your Saves list
117 Skimming's Gap Road, Main Creek, Dungog, New South Wales 2420, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We first stayed here 15 years ago and our last visit was October 2011, with many holidays here in between. Yeranda is so perfect you really don't want to share it with anyone else in case it gets too popular! The 3 cottages set in the bush adjacent to the Chichester State forest are all private and secluded. Eloura, the largest, has mains electricity and aircon which is handy in the summer. So does the larger homestead Noonameena which is down the road amongst rural holdings, but set way back on the property for peace and quiet, it even has its own creek to explore! All of the cabins are equipped with everything you need to enjoy your stay including plenty of firewood for both indoor and outdoor fires! Ros bakes a fabulous loaf of fresh bread and is also a mad keen photographer and is willing to take you to some of her favourite spots to capture nature on film. Spend a few days and come back feeling totally rejuvinated! Or get married there, nothing is too much trouble for Ros and Kev.

Room Tip: Go to their website and pick the cottage that suits your group, something for everyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeranda, Owner at Yeranda at Barrington Tops, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Reflecting on your visits to Yeranda is a trip in time!!! From when your sons were just very young to seeing them mature to fine young men with great futures ahead...this is part of the pleasure of welcoming guests back time and time again. Not only are you "customers" but very soon become friends! We thank you and your family for your support and look forward to welcoming you all back many times more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
53
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Yeranda is the perfect place to relax and unwind. We take our books and relax in the tranquil surroundings, admiring all the wildlife in the process, showering under the stars and cooking on the fire. At night cosy up in front of the inside log fire then sleep in the total quiet. Next day get up and do it all over again. Perfect serenity. And to know that Ros & Kev are only minutes away and go above and beyond for their guests. Thoroughly recommend Yeranda!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeranda, Owner at Yeranda at Barrington Tops, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We always look forward to catching up with you both when you make contact and book another stay at Yeranda! Our special thanks for being part of the history of this special place...yet another couple who return time and time again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

A wonderful surprise in every way. Yeranda gave us the honeymoon we had never planned. Kalimna was spotless and spacious with a veranda overlooking a birdbath that provided the best birdwatching in the area. The outdoor shower wasn't rustic, it was luxury.. and the loo with a view (suitably private on one side) overlooked a billabong full of lotus. Day 1 we were visited by a red-necked wallaby and subsequently by his family. Ros and Kevin were wonderful hosts - easygoing and happy to help in any way they could....Ros also bakes a great loaf of bread. There is no mainline electricity though plenty of solar power and gas to provide hot water and power the cottage. Kevin, provided us with a portable battery to power up our mobiles etc for our days out which included swimming at Fingal Bay and walking in the rainforest. Most special, was the complete privacy we enjoyed. No-one overlooked us and we overlooked no-one. A perfect retreat to let the world fall away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeranda, Owner at Yeranda at Barrington Tops, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We hope you are now enjoying a summer season in UK whilst we experiences our wintery conditions here in the foothills of the Barrington Tops! We so enjoyed chatting to you during your stay and hope you might come back some day to further explore our lovely area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Yeranda (www.yeranda.com.au) is the most wonderful bushland retreat. We have stayed here at least once a year since about 1997. The cottages built with love and respect by Ros and Kevin are ideal for the setting and experience. This is a unique place where you can relax by a fire, bush walk on the property or in nearby parks, have fun time with friends in one of 3 cottages on the property or in the bigger Noonameena cottage down on the dairy flats. For those who relish an escape from the hustle and bustle of city life, this is for you. The cottages have hot outdoor showers which are wonderful in summer or winter, day or night. The additional 'loo with view' provides a view to the bushland through the front glass window. The bird and animal life makes this a nature lovers paradise. This is all topped off with the care and attention that Ros and Kev provide for their guests. Can't wait to be back!

Room Tip: For couples Kalimna or Pindari are fantastic for the weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeranda, Owner at Yeranda at Barrington Tops, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
This Yeranda guests is our record holder...in a few weeks time she will visit for what I think is the 32nd time ...that speaks for itself I should think. In our small tourism business the guests do not get any better than that! Many thanks and I guess we do consider you a "share holder"!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We've stayed at Yeranda many times over the last ten or so years. It's a fantastic, unique and inspiring place. Kev and Ros have gone to so much trouble to make the cottages special. Kev and Ros are delightful and so friendly. Nothing is too much trouble for them, and they both have a wonderful knowledge of the area and the local flora and fauna. We stay at the cottage called Kalimna which is amazing. Just can't recommend this place highly enough. Love it, love it, love it!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeranda, Owner at Yeranda at Barrington Tops, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We look forward to when you can fit your next visit into your busy retirement life! Hope to see you soon and we do thank you for the many visits already made to our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yeranda at Barrington Tops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yeranda at Barrington Tops

Address: 117 Skimming's Gap Road, Main Creek, Dungog, New South Wales 2420, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Dungog > Main Creek
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Main Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yeranda is an eco retreat 17 kms north of Dungog in the foothills of the Barrington Tops. Three rock and timber cottages, each separate from each other and the owner's home, offer total privacy and seclusion. Two are suitable for limited mobility guests with Kalimna and Pindari operating on solar lighting and gas appliances whilst Elouera is connected to 240 volt power. Bush walks and bird watching throughout the property make for a nature lover's paradise. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yeranda at Barrington Tops, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.