We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try's hard but falls short of the mark” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Carriageway Crooks Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wirragulla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carriageway Crooks Park
Save
You added Carriageway Crooks Park to your Saves list
4426 Clarence Town Road, Wirragulla, Dungog, New South Wales 2420, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Wirragulla B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Try's hard but falls short of the mark”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

All the staff are lovely, the rooms feel like they need a really good spring clean , the pillows and bedding and mattress are poor quality , good views, great restaurant. The pool was murky green even though it was winter and too cold to swim it just let's the place down. With a little bit of love this could be great place.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline A, Manager at Carriageway Crooks Park, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us following your stay at Carriageway. I was sorry to learn that your stay with us had areas where you were disappointed. Please be assured that we have carried out a thorough investigation and review on our facilities and bedding as a result of your note on Tripadvisor.

September brought for us the AAA Tourism inspection where our rooms were thoroughly reviewed and we are pleased to have received the maximum star rating for Cleanliness on our rooms. We will continue to treat this aspect of our room turn over process, with upmost vigilance and we make certain that our cleaning processes are in continual review.

Our mattresses were recently chosen for their comfort and quality (being the exact same type as those in a very reputable five star quality brand hotel) and we are currently canvassing guests on this matter after each stay to try and indentify any mattress which is not performing up to expectations.

We are sorry that the pool was not looking as bright and sparkling as it could have been The entire pump system was replaced in October and we think that this impending mechanical breakdown, combined with the difficult winds which brought much debris, may have caused it to not look its best during the early part of September. I am pleased to say that our new maintenance system is working perfectly and that our pool is looking inviting and ready for a summer swim.

Our team feel very passionately about Carriageway Crooks Park and while some of the feedback on your experience is not what we continually strive for, we encourage guests to always approach us if there is something that we can do better or differently to enhance a stay with us. We thank you for your positive comments on our restaurant, vistas and lovely staff and please feel free to identify yourself to us during your next stay so we have the opportunity to talk to you in person about your experience.

Regards
Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Wonderful, brilliant, fantastic and delightful was our stay at Park Carriageway at Dungog in the Hunter Valley. The train carriages were really comfortable, not to mention memorable. I used to ride in these as a child in Sydney when they ran on the Cityrail network. They were in service for some 75 years and their home here is a brilliant salute to their preservation. The service was wonderful, the accommodation comfortable. The life outside peaceful and relaxing. The Restaraunt ( which I have been to on several occasions) five star (this time I had home cooked meal which was just as five star). Woke a few times to peak out the window to see what freight or passanger trains went past during the night. All in all a brilliantly affordable place to stay for everyone. A pool, a budgie pen, some roaming chooks, the other farm animals and my love, all made for a perfect stay. Thank you Park Carriageway

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline A, Manager at Carriageway Crooks Park, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you so much for such glowing feedback and we are thrilled that you had such a nice stay with us in one of our red rattlers. We feel very lucky that these old carriages have rested with us in Dungog and that everyone has the opportunity to enjoy a fun sleep-over in a little bit of railway history. Our team (and the chooks, budgies & farm animals), hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

we stayed in the spa lodge which was very well set out, having all the amenities you would need for a self catered stay. Great view of rolling hills and bushland.
The 6 course meal in a converted train carriage was perfect as were the staff serving our meal. Well done Carriageways.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline A, Manager at Carriageway Crooks Park, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Carriageway Crooks Park. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay and meal with us - it is wonderful to share this with our team. We hope to see you again.
Regards
Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

we ahve recently returned from our third stay at Carriageways inthe past twelve months and it never fails to impress.we have recently stayed in the main house which sleeps 10 in five huge bedrooms and loved having lunches on the verandah and out in the garden whilst trains and cows filles the air with noise,it was a liottle cold to use the pool this time around.The kitchentable is only little but the formal ding room great for a big get together for a family or group of friends as we were.
The Saturday night degustation menu@$49 pp is fantastic value,really delicious and the chef does a great job.The manager ,Jo,is extremely friendly and welcoming with lots of country hospitality and the house was welcoming and very clean on arrival.All staff here are professional and I would highly recommend Carriageway to anyone wanting a small break away

Room Tip: all accomodation from bagnalls cottage if you want budget to 2bedroom cottage to main house are all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline A, Manager at Carriageway Crooks Park, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for leaving such lovely feedback after your recent stay at Carriageway. It was wonderful to hear that you have chosen the Carriageway experience more than once this year and have enjoyed Rattler’s 6 course menu. We look forward to you visiting us again – perhaps it will be warm enough next time for a dip in the pool.

Regards
Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Love staying in the old train carriages at Carriageways, at about $95 we think its great value. They are looking a little tired since our first visit several years ago, but we still love it. Plenty of space. The galley has sufficient gear, but there is only microwave or frypan for cooking. We always use the outdoor fire BBQ, even on a cold night sitting at the big picnic table is a fun way to supp. Meanwhile the livestock graze over the fence and trains trundle by on the mainline. Reckon it would be great with family as in addition to the queen bed in a separate compartment,there are two sets of double bunks. In living area are table and chairs for 6 as well as armchairs and couch. The cathode ray TV could do with an upgrade. Two reverse cycle a/c provide climate control. Bathroom has electric radiator. No luxurious spa but heaps of atmosphere. Short drive into Dungog for supplies or to the Barringtops Nat Park. Jo was great as manager. Only thing missing was the clickety-clack of wheels on rail.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline A, Manager at Carriageway Crooks Park, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback and for such nice comments about your Carriageway experience. After receiving your review, we brought forward the phasing of some upgrades to the carriages (including the change to flat screen digital tv). “Flyer” is our first carriage to have just completed it’s mini make-over and we would be delighted to hear your comments when you visit us next. Happy travels.
Regards
Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We have dined at this restaurant on a number of occasions(at least 5 times) and have always found the food and service to be exceptional. It consists of a set 6 course menu with a complimentary bottle of wine for $49 per head. The menu changes every couple of months, so every time we return there is always something different on the menu.

This restaurant is actually a restored railway carriage and is attached to Carriageway Crooks Park. Whilst we have not stayed there (we live locally) the accommodation always receives excellent reviews.

This is an overall enjoyable restaurant experience with great tasting food, friendly professional service and great atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline A, Manager at Carriageway Crooks Park, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for your lovely feedback.. It is so nice to hear that your experience with our restaurant staff and our food is a positive one – your comments will be gladly passed on to our team and we look forward to having you visit us again soon. Kind regards, Jacqueline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Carriageways last weekend. We had stayed there a few years ago and Jo the manager actually remembered us. She has such a friendly demeanour, she is such an asset to the business. We stayed in one of the spa suites which has everything you could need in it. The meal on Saturday night was scrumptious. It was lovely to wake up to the sound s of the birds and the cows.We have been telling all of our friends about it.We will definately be going back. The dinner bed and breakfast package is such good value.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline A, Manager at Carriageway Crooks Park, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment about Carriageway – it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback to share with our team. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience and are so glad you found it good value. We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carriageway Crooks Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriageway Crooks Park

Address: 4426 Clarence Town Road, Wirragulla, Dungog, New South Wales 2420, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Dungog > Wirragulla
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wirragulla
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique holiday just 7km from Dungog with a variety of accommodation styles to choose from. With on site restaurant, swimming pool, games area and petting zoo, Carriageway offers something for everyone. We can accommodate up to 55 guests in cottages, spa suites, converted carriages and a Grand Homestead. With personalised service and country charm, come and see for yourself, why guests keep returning to Carriageway Crooks Park. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriageway Crooks Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.