We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoidance may be the best policy.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Columbia, MO

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Columbia, MO to your Saves list
Motel 6 Columbia, MO
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3402 I-70 Drive SE, Columbia, MO 65201   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Columbia
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Avoidance may be the best policy.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Searching in March for a big football weekend in September, the Motel 6 East represented our last hope to secure a hotel room in Columbia. There was a reason for that. I booked a room for two nights hoping for the best, but fearing the worst. Reality landed more toward the latter. Management obviously realizes the laws of supply and demand as I paid $109 per night for the room...which was a roughly 100% mark up over regular rates. Let me say first that I'm sure local management is working hard...the front desk folks were kind and helpful. However, that can't make up for the old and tired condition of this motel. Smells galore...and not sure what they were. Carpets such that you really didn't want to walk on them barefoot. Sheets were laundered, I'm sure, but it didn't seem as though they were as they were, like the motel, old and tired. The cooling system worked but made a lot of noise...seemed like it was on its last legs. Shampoo comes in small tearable pouches...hard to open. Shower is dicey at best. Maybe for $49 or so it would be what you would expect...but not for $109. We won't be back.

Room Tip: Not sure there's a "good room" to be had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    29
    8
    9
    15
See reviews for
24
19
20
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband tried 2 different rooms on October 5th and ended up leaving. It's smelled discusting and gave him a headache and sick to his stomach with all the chemicals they used to clean the rooms. The halls were riddled with stains.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Missouri
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This motel exceeded all of our expectations. We also noticed the strong smell of disinfectant but that means they are cleaning thoroughly. As far as the sound of I-70, we were not surprised because of the location of the motel and honestly after about 5:00 PM, there was virtually no noise. Last month we stayed in Columbia at a more "high-end" hotel and our experience at Motel6 was much better and for less money. Our stay was so pleasant, I wonder if maybe some of the negative comments were from the other Motel6 in Columbia. Will stay here whenever we visit Columbia.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about the noise level, just request a room on the front of the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Agree with Brent T.'s review entirely. The hotel had a damp odor that they seem to be masking with a heavy cleaning agent smell. You will need to run the room fan all night to mask the I-70 traffic noise. We had the same issues with the cigarette holes in the blankets, and also had problems with getting the toilet to flush properly. This is a pet friendly motel and I did not feel comfortable walking around in my bare feet as the carpets looked like they needed a good cleaning. Overall the hotel looks new on the outside, but is in need of upgrades on the inside.

The biggest issue we had was with our hotel rate. Upon calling to confirm our initial reservations, we were told that they could not honor our original rate and had to raise it due to the high demand (football weekend). After complaining and speaking to the manager (this is a Franchisee), we were forced to call the national Motel 6 Guest Relations number for them to intervene and resolve the problem. Have never had this happen before and definitely question the management at this motel. Will never stay here again. Recommend the Fairfield Inn on the other side of I-70.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, Missouri
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

At $119 a night, this hotel was simply appalling. We were staying for parents weekend and should have known when all the rooms elsewhere were booked that there was a reason this one wasn't. I slept on a towel and used washcloths on the pillow, The blanket had numerous cigarette burns and one looked like someone had vomited on it. Questionable stains were scattered on the carpet, which totally grossed us out. The strange smell and dampness made it difficult to sleep. No hairdryer, clock, or kleenex were provided and the shower had a miniscule stream. My husband wouldn't let me shower because he just wanted to get out of the room--the thought of what had probably taken place in the room creeped us out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince G, Manager at Motel 6 Columbia, MO, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We apologize that your stay did not meet expectations. We take these accusations very seriously and are investigating the claims. If possible, can you please e-mail us at m64255bo@motel6.com with your confirmation number so we can provide a resolution to this matter? Again, we apologize for this and hope you choose Motel 6 in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights for the Ga-Missouri football game. Price was reasonable and hotel was very clean. Rooms are large and furnishings looked new. No restaurant or breakfast though. There are places to eat nearby, as well as a large grocery store (Patricia's) that stays open late, right next door. Easy to find off of the interstate. Did not hear any traffic noise. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor near the elevator - but heard no noise. They told us that the 3rd floor was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed here in July without a reservation over the weekend while filming the Hiking With Randy web series. To be honest I was very impressed and couldn't believe this was a Motel 6.

The rooms were fairly standard for the Motel 6 chain, but was very clean, quiet, had a microwave and small refrigerator as well as WIFI internet.

At the end of the Hallway were soda and snack machines as well as ice.
This motel has a nice indoor swimming pool (though I did not have time to try it out personally).

Beneficial to me was its laundry machine room, which saved me a lot of hassle, since the majority of the time I was camping while traveling in remote film locations.

The staff were very friendly and the main entrance lounge was attractive.
I stayed over the weekend and paid the typical $55.00 Motel 6 rate.

This is perhaps the nicest motel I have ever stayed in while traveling in the USA for the price.
Had a wonderful sleep here after driving 11 hours from Oklahoma City.

There was a sign indicating a fitness center, but I was unable to locate it. I didn't intend on working out, I simply wanted to see what equipment was available and its size.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Columbia, MO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Columbia, MO

Address: 3402 I-70 Drive SE, Columbia, MO 65201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Columbia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Columbia, MO 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located mid-way between Kansas City and St Louis is Columbia, Missouri - a college town, home to the University of Missouri, Stephens College, and Columbia College. Columbia also enjoys a sizable presence of insurance-based industries and a thriving boutique-centered downtown district. For outdoor enthusiasts, Rock Bridge State Park and the Missouri River are among a number of Boone County natural attractions that offer a variety of activities. Motel 6 - Columbia puts you close to everything you want to see and do in Columbia! Combined with our great location, Motel 6 - Columbia East offers amenities like a luxurious indoor swimming pool, free local telephone calls, convenient elevator service and interior access corridors, suites, and free wireless internet. In addition, our comfortable guest rooms feature traditional southern - style furnishings and are available for smokers and non-smokers, guests with disabilities, and guests traveling with their family pet. Some rooms feature jetted hot tubs, and all guest rooms offer micro-fridges and data ports. Whether you're coming to attend one of Columbia's many college sporting events, conduct business, or visit our many local attractions, you won't find a better lodging value than Motel 6 - Columbia! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Columbia, MO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 East Columbia, Mo Hotel Columbia
Motel 6 Columbia
Motel Six Columbia
Columbia Motel 6
Columbia Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Columbia, MO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.